We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel but bad service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great hotel but bad service”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

It is a great hotel. Good rooms, location, swimming pool, water slide, tropical gardens, BUT the front desk is very unfriendly. Without explanation charged us different rate. Refused to let us stay extra hour even though it was a snow storm and we need to arrange our transportation ( and we stayed there with two 9 year old kids). Food in the restaurant was overcooked and over salted and the waitress was very slow. Th only friendly and helpful people were cleaning personal. No smiles and no greetings from the front desk

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Aleksandr C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us! Thank you also for your comments with regard to our rooms, location, swimming pool, water slide & tropical gardens. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the facilities and also the friendliness of our Housekeeping staff.
Our apologies for your Font Desk experience. When you make your reservation on-line you mistakenly booked only for one adult. Upon arrival you had 2 Adults and 2 Children which makes a difference on the rate of your guest room if you are booking a package that includes breakfast. This is the explanation for the difference in cost for the room.
Our check-out time is 11 a.m. We were able to extend you to 12 noon at no charge. Anyone has the option of paying to extend that when it is possible to do so. The decision to extend beyond our regular check out is based on occupancy of the hotel check outs vs. check-ins along with dealing with our normal maintenance of the guest rooms.
We hope that you were able to have your restaurant issued solved while on site. All of our staff are able to deal with any food issue should it not be up to standard. We certainly appreciate you staying with us, and we hope in time you will try us again to find that your experience with our Restaurant & Front Desk is not a typical experience at our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    228
    67
    32
    15
See reviews for
491
154
30
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sarnia, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed at Lamplighter Best Western to be near the hospital. Our room was very clean. We had supper in the bar and it was very good. Excellent breakfast at a great price. Staff provided excellent service.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, we are so happy that you enjoyed dinner and breakfast in Shelly’s Tap & Grill, and that you found your room and the service to be satisfactory. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to post this review, and we wish you all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

A nice surprise in the middle of winter to experience their indoor pool area. Its a great place for a family with kids under the age of 12 to go during the winter months for some water fun. My only issue was the fact that they don't have any 'anti-slip' measures on the bottom of the shower/tub and unfortunately my wife slipped and received a nasty black/blue bruise as a result. Lastly, with a large number of kids present during the 'Family Day' weekend, there can be alot of noise in the hallways with them roaming in packs, lots of doors shutting loudly and some running in the hallways. Not good if your young kids go to sleep at 8:30....

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank RetireInFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your winter escape with your children at our hotel and were able to enjoy the Tropical Atrium, Swimming Pool and Water Slide. We are sorry to hear that you had a mishap in the shower/tub. All of our showers and tubs have either a built in tread, or we have added one to any older tubs or showers in the hotel. The room you were in has the built in tread. I’m sorry that it didn’t do its job. We do have bath mats upon request for anyone wanting the extra security so please don’t hesitate to ask in future.
We are happy that overall you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back in future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

rooms were good, restaurant also good but the pool was way too cold! The hot tub was in turn filled with small children with no room to squeeze in. This was a big disappointment for me, my kids are under 5 so not aloud in the hot tub nor would I allow them so our night was not great, they spent about 10 mins in the pool then they were freezing, end of holiday for us, we just packed up and came home, we might try it again but I will call to check pool temp. The hotel should revisit the rule about so many young kids in the hot tub. Also games room was very limited to older children, stools would help shorter kids play air hockey at least.

Room Tip: the laundry machines make a good amount of noise, ask to be away from them
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tina g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. We are so sorry that your holiday was cut short due to the temperature in the pool. Unfortunately these severe temperatures we have been experiencing this winter are making it very difficult to maintain our usual balmy temperature due to the area of the atrium and the fact that the ceiling is made of glass, and as a result the heat is being drawn from the pool. We have been making every effort to maintain a comfortable temperature in the pool and atrium, and are finding that it is just not possible on these unseasonably cold days. We can assure you that as soon as temperatures return to seasonal, our temperatures will be back to normal. Thank you for your suggestion to put a stool in the games room, I will certainly pass that along. We do hope you will try us again and encourage you to call in advance to check on the temperature. I am confident that you and your family will have a great time if you decide to give us another chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walterboro, South Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We spent this weekend at London and stayed at Best Western.
The restaurant was terrible,food took more than one hour and finally when came was awful. We all got sick the same night.
The room was reasonable size and the shower was really small.
It was nice and clean.
The kids enjoyed the pool
I am not sure if we would book again..Price per night around 170 cad, it is expensive compared of what we got...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnyrm17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. I am very sorry that your experience at our restaurant was unsatisfactory, and that you felt overall that our value left something to be desired. I will be sure to pass your comments along to our chef and restaurant manager so that these issues of wait time and quality of food will not happen again. Your experience is not consistent with the high standards of service and quality that we hold ourselves to, and we appreciate your comments as they help us to maintain and even improve our standards. I am happy to hear that you found your room to be clean and that your kids enjoyed the pool. We hope you will give us another chance to show you why we are the hotel of choice in London for a family getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This Hotel is very beautiful, for a 3 star. The atrium is gorgeous. The restaurant is excellent. It is conveniently located in the city. I would suggest mid week getaways if you want to avoid the sports teams and children, the weekend gets very busy.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review! We are delighted that you chose the Lamplighter Inn to take your mini romantic getaway, and very happy that you enjoyed your time at our property! You are correct that we are a popular choice for sports teams and families with children given our amenities including our tropical atrium, award winning swimming pool and waterslide, and we advise people who are looking for a quiet weekend getaway to call the hotel directly to book, and if possible reserve a weekend when we do not have sports teams in house. Thank you again for this great review, and we hope to welcome you back for another romantic getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Idlewyld Inn & Spa
#1 of 41 in London
284 reviews
Central London
Delta Hotels by Marriott London Armouries
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Hampton Inn by Hilton London
Hotel Metro
#4 of 41 in London
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre

Property: Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre
Address: 591 Wellington Rd, London, Ontario N6C 4R3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in London
#3 Romantic Hotel in London
#6 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Lamplighter Inn is unequivocally the finest Hotel and Conference Centre in Southwestern Ontario. Here you will find a complete spectrum of first class accommodations and Conference, Meeting and Banquet facilities.At the heart, is the spectacular atrium, a multi-tiered oasis of natural beauty under a retractable glass canopy. Be transported to a year round tropical paradise where the sun glistens off the sparkling blue waters of the award winning swimming pool.The BEST WESTERN PLUS Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre also sets high standards in room appointments, focusing on flexibility and comfort. Choose from Executive Suites, Traditional bedrooms, or romantic retreats with a double Jacuzzi and cozy gas fireplace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn And Conference Centre Hotel London
Best Western Lamplighter Hotel
Best Western London
London Best Western
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre London, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing