We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“March Break”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Considering it was March break, it was actually quite in our room. Although we did have the top floor. Staff where very nice, food was great. My daughter's did break out in a sever rash from the pool on our last night. So I'm not sure if there was to much chlorine or chemicals or if their pool needs to be cleaned.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 610cherylt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for your review. It is fabulous that you had a pleasant visit during March Break! It is a very busy family time and things can be a little over festive at times, so we are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy some quiet as well as some quality family time. We are sorry that your daughter’s skin reacted to something. Our pool chlorine levels were maintained very well over March Break especially given the volume of swimmers. Our Jacuzzi was emptied daily and refilled fresh again given the volume of users. The pool was closed daily from 12 to 1 PM for cleaning and maintenance during this peak period. Sometimes people can react over time for various reasons. It depends on many factors such as time spent in the pool and time spent in the hot tub. We recommend taking a shower before and after using the pool and hot tub as the dryness of the air combined with prolonged exposure to the water could result in an irritation of the skin. Regardless we hope this symptom didn’t last long.
Thank you again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    605
    234
    68
    32
    16
See reviews for
507
158
30
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Essex, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Clean rms, good staff and we loved the heated indoor pool & waterslide!Water was nice n warm! Arcost the street to hospital,and right on Wellington where everything is ! Decent rates, 10-11pm pool close time, and free parking. Only down side was during check in we werent warned elevator to our wing was down, but only 2floors. Dont think i would go here for COUPLES night,,,loads of kids ! Cleaning staff cleaned hallway walls n doors top to bottom on weekend with magic erasers,,, it was fresh n tidy throughout building :D

Room Tip: We choose a rm without a patio door to access pool atrium area for quiet... because we had 4yr old a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor! We appreciate very much your comments and are very pleased that you enjoyed our facilities and your time with us! We actually just installed an elevator in the West Wing of our Hotel. Until now there has never been one. We hopefully will have final inspection soon and it will be there for all to enjoy. We apologize for the inconvenience but always have Porters who can assist with luggage when required. Weekends and school holidays can be very busy with families at our hotel however Sunday to Thursdays can be a different mix of guests and we have many couples that enjoy this quieter time very much.
Thanks again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again in future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Took grandkids there for march break for a night away and to go swimming, we had a great time,room was great very nice and clean room, pool was great they loved the water slide and food was great large portions of food we where stuffed we will do this again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for choosing the Lamplighter Inn for a getaway with the grandkids! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here and we appreciate you taking the time to write this review! Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you all back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

A fabulous spot to take the kids for a break, the hotel is clean, friendly and the pool area is great. The atrium is breathe taking and very relaxing on a long cold winters day. The kids spent the entire weekind in the pool, even with several large groups staying, the pool is large enough to handle it. The resturant is convenient, friendly and the menu has something for everyone. and is moderately priced with excellent serviing sizes. We have stayed at this hotel several times and we will be visiting this hotel again in the future

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Bigred_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you so much for this review of your time at the Lamplighter Inn! We agree, the warmth and relaxing atmosphere of our tropical atrium is a welcome break from this harsh winter we are having! We are happy to hear that your kids spent so much time in our pool and that you enjoyed your experience at Shelly’s Tap & Grill! Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orillia, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My husband and I decided to try something a little more expensive to take the grandkids to during spring break. We got a great package deal, the room looked onto the pool area, the rooms and pool area were clean. The front desk staff were very informative about pool times, restaurant etc. The pool staff were friendly and well trained in their jobs. The grandchildren had a really good time on this mini vacation.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JO L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you very much for this review of your experience at the Lamplighter Inn! We are so happy that you and your grandkids had a good time on your mini vacation at our hotel! Thank you for mentioning the cleanliness of your room and pool area, we take great pride in our standards of cleanliness in all areas of the hotel. I will certainly be passing along your comments to the front desk, housekeeping and our lifeguards – they will surely appreciate the positive feedback. Thank you once more and we hope to see you and the little ones again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

My wife and kids and I stayed here for a mini-getaway for one night. We'd been here years earlier, and wanted to give it a shot again.

The check-in was smooth and friendly. The rooms were clean and well appointed. The pool area was great.

Our party was torn on the beds. They were memory foam mattresses, no doubt a perk from the management's point of view. My preference would be a pocket coil matrress. I found the foam weird. My wife seemed to like it, though.

The waterslide was a bit rough on the back. Do the people that work here ever give it a ride? The should. Feels like 220 grit sandpaper in a several spots. Seriously... get that looked at.

We had a CAA rate, and for $150 bucks, it can't be beat. We didn't opt for any package deal with meals at the restaurant, but instead ordered pizza from the Dominoes nearby (they delivered right to the room!) and grabbed McDonalds for breakfast... just down the street.

I'd go back to The Lamplighter again. About an hour from our home in Kitchener, ON, I'd always rather take the drive to London than Toronto.

Room Tip: There are rooms that have balconies into the pool area. I can't see how that would have been a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Lamplighter Inn! We are happy to hear that you felt your experience here was good value for the money you paid, and that your room was clean and comfortable. Thank you for letting us know about the waterslide, we will be sure to pass your comment along to our maintenance team.
The comfort of a mattress is definitely a matter of preference – the mattress in your room was the Tempur-Pedic memory foam mattress which you will find throughout the South wing of the hotel. In the North and West wings you will find Simmons Pillow Top mattresses which you may find more comfortable. If you request to be located in one of these wings when you book your next stay with us (and we hope you do!) the front desk will be more than happy to accommodate to the best of their ability. Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Another trip to Victoria Hospital, without the worry of driving and parking. Thank You Lamplighter!
Special Thank You to our wonderful driver, Philipo. Such a kind & professional service you gave us.
Lamplighter was very busy that week during "Spring Break" but they do give 100% everyday to everyone. Restaurant service was excellent as usual and our room was great. Kudos to the staff!

Room Tip: When we need a ground floor to aid mobility problems we are always accomodated by the staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words! I have passed along your thanks to ‘Philipo” and he was ecstatic. It is our pleasure to provide the shuttle service to guests visiting the hospital, anything we can do to make a trip that might otherwise be challenging just that little bit easier. Thank you again for your comments and we wish you all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Idlewyld Inn & Spa
#1 of 41 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Central London
Delta Hotels by Marriott London Armouries
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Hampton Inn by Hilton London
Hotel Metro
#5 of 41 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre

Property: Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre
Address: 591 Wellington Road S., London, Ontario N6C 4R3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in London
#3 Romantic Hotel in London
#6 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Lamplighter Inn is unequivocally the finest Hotel and Conference Centre in Southwestern Ontario. Here you will find a complete spectrum of first class accommodations and Conference, Meeting and Banquet facilities.At the heart, is the spectacular atrium, a multi-tiered oasis of natural beauty under a retractable glass canopy. Be transported to a year round tropical paradise where the sun glistens off the sparkling blue waters of the award winning swimming pool.The BEST WESTERN PLUS Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre also sets high standards in room appointments, focusing on flexibility and comfort. Choose from Executive Suites, Traditional bedrooms, or romantic retreats with a double Jacuzzi and cozy gas fireplace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn And Conference Centre Hotel London
Best Western Lamplighter Hotel
Best Western London
London Best Western
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre London, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing