We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome hotel !!! Should be #1 !!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Awesome hotel !!! Should be #1 !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We recently stayed at the Best Western Lamplighter Inn. What a fabulous facility. It was one of the cleanest hotels I have stayed at - the rooms, the hallways, the atrium area, the common areas - all were immaculate. The rooms were decorated nicely, and had very clean, crisp sheets. But the most impressive was the atrium - it is like a "tropical paradise." The plants and trees are beautiful. The area overlooking the pool is quite relaxing with the sound of the waterfalls, and the koi stream just adds to the ambiance of the entire experience.

Our experience with this hotel began before we even registered. We had a flat tire (no spare) on the highway. Being from the US we had no idea where we were. I phone the hotel and Marshal Talbot, the Guest Services Manager, phoned the CAA for us and when we told him the name on the factory next to the highway where we were located, he found out our exact location to give the tow truck operator - now that's service above and beyond in my book.

The restaurant and lounge on site were also excellent - food and service were great!! Everyone at this hotel went out of their way to be helpful and friendly, and we will definitely be going back.

When we showed our adult children the pictures of the atrium, they expressed the desire to take family weekend there with their children. The pool was fabulous for kids (and adults) with the curly waterslide, and plenty of towels.

Should be rated #1!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thank you so much for your review! We are so happy that you loved our property and that Marshall was able to take good care of you. Your review describes the property exactly as we intend it to be. We appreciate so much you taking the time to write such a great description of your experience and also for pointing out one of our service stars!
We look forward to welcoming you back any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    224
    65
    31
    15
See reviews for
473
150
30
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We recently spent an evening at the Lamplighter. The room was average at best, certainly not worth $200 per night. Not even close. Not dirty per se, but far from spotless either. The room was also somewhat dated. I was there for work and chose to bring my family. In the middle of the night my daughter woke up with a fever. She was vomiting approx every half hour with a very high fever. We called to ask for late checkout and were extended until 12pm. As I was required to work in the morning and my meeting ran late, my wife asked for a 1 hour extension beyond this. The manger refused, which forced my wife, sick daughter and son to wait in the car for my return at 1pm, followed by a 2 hour drive back to the GTA with a very sick child. Busy or not, the hotel could have made arrangements to allow my family some additional comfort while they waited for me to return. They chose not to. Rest assured, if we ever go to London again, we will NOT be staying at the Lamplighter.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you very much for your comments and feedback, we appreciate you letting us know about your experience at our hotel. The hotel was sold out on the day of your departure and when this is the case it is standard practice for the front desk to extend departures no later than 12 noon. Having said that, we completely understand your thoughts regarding showing more empathy and have spoken with our Guest Services Manager to review with the Agents that in some cases exceptions can and should be made if at all possible. We are terribly sorry that the exception was not made in your case and that this caused your family discomfort.
We also want you to know that we have addressed your housekeeping issues with our Housekeeping Manager for follow up.
We sincerely apologize that your experience at our property was a negative one. What you have described is not in keeping with our usual standards of service at all, and we do hope that you will give us another chance to experience this for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

I would rate this hotel 5 if it wasn't for the price. We paid $180 for 2 double bed facing atrium room. The room is spacious and clean. The balcony facing the atrium/pool was a nice bonus (although you need to pay extra for this upgrade). The pool is decent size and the water slide was just the right size for younger kids (mine is age 7 she thoroughly enjoyed it!). We dined at the restaurant and on Saturday night they have roasted chicken special (all you can eat!) for $14.95. We also tried the Easter special and Kids menu; both were surprisingly good too! All in all, a very affordable restaurant with good quality.
Will we stay at this hotel again? Probably; if only they have special price for the room.. then definitely, we would stay again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrslam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent experience at the Lamplighter Inn! We are very glad that you and your family enjoyed your atrium view room, our water slide and your meals in Shelly’s Tap & Grill! We do offer special promotional rates on our guest rooms from time to time so we hope you keep an eye out for the next one. If you “like” us on Facebook you will be one of the first to know! Thanks again and we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Very high quality Hotel with exceptional service. A jem amongst stones. I found the Bed a little hard but I have arthritis in both hips. I should have brought my Memory foam. The Restaurant is very goo as well We had Filet that didn't cost an arm and a leg that was done exactly to our requests.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank pandbyNovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you very much for this lovely review of the Lamplighter Inn! We are so happy that you were impressed with our property and Shelly's Tap & Grill. If you have occasion to visit us again in the future we recommend that you request a room with a Tempur-Pedic mattress – all of our rooms in the South wing are equipped with them and you may find it more comfortable. Thank you once more for taking the time to write this kind review, and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at Best Western Lamplighter Inn April 13/2014 for our anniversary. We love the hotel. Everything there was so nice. We definitely will stay there again. We are even thinking of going there once a month to relax.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Enoch G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Happy Anniversary! We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and love our property. We have guests who visit regularly for exactly the same reason! Ask about our various room types if you haven’t already. There is sure to be one that will become your favourite!
Thank you for taking the time to post your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here. The room was beautiful and spacious. Comfy beds and pillows. The room had a fire place, which was nice. Would would stay there again if we had the chance. Great location with plenty of restaurants in the area. But staying at the restaurant in the hotel was good too. Nice to have the option of a full restaurant, not like some of the other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T_Rizk1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for your review of our property. It’s wonderful that you enjoyed our facilities, guest rooms and restaurant. Shelly’s Tap & Grill is open 7 days a week for All-Day Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. We also have Shelly’s Lounge which is a great spot for cocktails, snacks or even a full meal until later in the evening. The hotel is very centrally located close to 401 access but also to Downtown London. We are very happy that you enjoyed your spacious guest room with comfy bed, pillows and fireplace! Looking forward to welcoming you back anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Our family planned a little getaway as this is a central location for all of us. Great spot for kids; big small and adult alike!

Staff are friendly and go out of their way to ensure you enjoy!

Rooms are clean, spacious with a variety of styles. Family suites for larger families, balcony rooms over the pool and some with jacuzzis!!!

The hidden gem here is the Atrium. Home to numerous tropical plants, waterfalls, koi fish pond and of course the pool and waterslide!!!!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Happywandererz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
What a nice review! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Lamplighter Inn! We are very happy that you and your family enjoyed your visit to our hotel. It’s wonderful that you were able to learn about and hopefully experience some of our varied room types. The Tropical Atrium is definitely one of the focal points of our hotel. The tropical gardens, waterfall, swimming pool and 140 foot waterslide all contribute to a totally unique experience in London! We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Idlewyld Inn & Spa
#1 of 41 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Central London
Delta Hotels by Marriott London Armouries
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Hampton Inn by Hilton London
Hotel Metro
#3 of 41 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre

Property: Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre
Address: 591 Wellington Rd, London, Ontario N6C 4R3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in London
#3 Romantic Hotel in London
#6 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Lamplighter Inn is unequivocally the finest Hotel and Conference Centre in Southwestern Ontario. Here you will find a complete spectrum of first class accommodations and Conference, Meeting and Banquet facilities.At the heart, is the spectacular atrium, a multi-tiered oasis of natural beauty under a retractable glass canopy. Be transported to a year round tropical paradise where the sun glistens off the sparkling blue waters of the award winning swimming pool.The BEST WESTERN PLUS Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre also sets high standards in room appointments, focusing on flexibility and comfort. Choose from Executive Suites, Traditional bedrooms, or romantic retreats with a double Jacuzzi and cozy gas fireplace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn And Conference Centre Hotel London
Best Western Lamplighter Hotel
Best Western London
London Best Western
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre London, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing