We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic. Efficient.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed one night so we could tee off at 7 a.m. at the wonderful Firerock Golf Course northwest of London. It's a basic hotel so we had no expectations of greatness. They did upgrade us to a mini-suite which was unnecessary and, essentially, useless. Unless you plan to stay in the suite and watch one of the two flat screen TVs, the extra space is wasted. Check-in and out were efficient. They made the 5:30 a.m. wakeup call on time. In other words, basic, just as promised.
p.s. Parents. Please don't let your kids run rampant through the halls at night. Some of us have to get up at 5:30 a.m.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveDianeBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased that you found the accommodations comfortable for your purposes. I’m sorry that you experienced noise from children running in the halls. With our Tropical Atrium, Pool and Waterslide we tend to be a destination for many families. We do our best to control this issue. We have over a dozen room types in our hotel -some that offer much more space. Don’t hesitate to inquire upon booking if you choose to visit us again. Thanks once more for reviewing our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

839 - 845 of 1,160 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

I was looking for a place near good restaurants and where parking was included. The hotel lives up to its description. The atrium is enormous. I sat outside my room in the atrium and read and I felt like I was outdoors. I was there on business and really liked being able to unwind there. Its really close to all the restaurants and I hear SHelley's Restaurant is quite good, just didn't have an opportunity to eat there this trip. My room was huge, 2 levels with the bed and bathroom on the one level, then down 3 steps to an office and sitting room, 2 TV's in the suite. The staff were courteous and wifi was great as well. I will definitely stay there again and would like to take my family there sometime.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you so much for this review, we are so happy to hear that we were able to provide a relaxing setting to unwind after a day of work! We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed the size of your guest room and its amenities! Next time you will definitely have to try out Shelly’s Tap & Grill, we are confident it will live up to its reputation :) Thank you again for this review and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We spent 3 nights in this hotel and enjoyed it very much. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff is helpful and friendly. The pool and gardens in the atrium are lovely and our room overlooked it. Shelley's Restaurant serves good food, large portions for a reasonable price - the Early Bird Dinner Menu and the Breakfast specials are hard to beat. The beds and rooms and comfortable and include many small, thoughtful amenities. We will return to this hotel in the future and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank PatPat721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Lamplighter Inn, and for your recommendation! We are very pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy our tropical atrium from the balcony of your room, and that you enjoyed your meals in Shelly’s! We are thrilled that you plan to return, and look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This the 4th or 5th time we have stayed here and I'm sure we will return. Get a 2nd or 3rd floor room facing the pool. Nice little balcony, comfortable bed, squeaky clean bathroom. Front desk clerks very pleasant and efficient. Pool cleaners could be quieter at 6:30 in the morning. And complimentary morning coffee would be a plus.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank UMichAlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you very much for this kind review of our property, we love hearing from our repeat guests! We are happy to hear that you found your guest room to be comfortable and clean! We appreciate your suggestions regarding the pool cleaners and morning coffee, and will be sure to pass these along. Thank you again for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and we look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Enjoyed 2 nts at the Lamplighter Inn, close to restaurants, shopping and downtown. Has an amazing restuarant attached Shelleys, awesome breakfast deal Monday - Saturday. The waterslide kept the kids busy for hours.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank 552christinap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you so much for this review! We are thrilled to hear that you found our location to be central and convenient and that you enjoyed our Wake-Up breakfast special in Shelly’s! We hope you and the kids will return soon to have more fun on the waterslide!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel was very clean and so were the rooms. Our children loved the indoor pool and waterslide. Front desk attendants were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant had very tasty food. We had a very pleasant stay and would recommend this hotel /Inn to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bewittchedtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

We certainly appreciate you posting your review. Thank you for your kind comments on our staff, facilities, food and cleanliness! We are pleased that you were able to enjoy a pleasant family experience at our hotel! We look forward to the next visit from you and your family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed here with my husband for one night recently while in London for an event,
It is a large hotel with a rather confusing hotel. I have stayed in a lot of places and this one was really difficult to figure out! As others have mentioned the pool area is amazing and I do wish we'd been there long enough to use it.
The room was quite nice...quiet and the bed was comfortable.
The only real negatives for us...the room we were given was on the first floor and over looked what seemed to be a service entrance/stairway. We had to keep the curtains closed all the time because whenever we opened them people were walking down the stairs looking in our open window! The lay out of the room, the bathroom is split up so the sink is basically IN the room (with the toilet and shower/tub behind a closed door). This is totally a personal preference (and likely not a big deal to a lot of people) but it is hard to get ready quietly in the morning with a layout like that (my husband was still sleeping). The AC was also VERY loud but never really seemed to cool the room down that much.
Last thing, we ordered room service for breakfast...when it arrived it was really cold. Also the carafe of tea tasted very strongly of coffee. Not a huge deal but, when you spend $40 on breakfast you kind of hope it's going to be good!
Overall I would recommend this property, especially if you are looking for a nice pool area!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melmo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you very much for posting your review. We are very happy that overall you would recommend our property. Our tropical atrium and pool is a very pleasant and popular feature of our hotel according to many.
I’m very sorry that you didn’t care for the layout of your guest room. We do have several different room types at our hotel with some variables to layout so next visit please ask when you reserve what your options are. It isn’t clear what the location of your room was but I think the stairs you are referring to may have been a stairway to access our swimming pool. There are no service entrances that are visible to any guest room window. I’m sorry that your HVAC was not functioning up to standards. I hope you notified Guest Services that they were able to do something to make you more comfortable. Typically if a location of a particular room is not to your liking there are often other options. Now that you have been here once don’t hesitate to request another option next time.
I’m terribly sorry about your room service experience. Your comments have been passed onto the restaurant manager for review. I hope you mentioned something while you were here though that we were able to fix the problem or at least adjust your bill.
Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hampton Inn by Hilton London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central London
Delta Hotels by Marriott London Armouries
Idlewyld Inn & Spa
#1 of 41 in London
350 reviews
Hotel Metro
#3 of 41 in London
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre

Address: 591 Wellington Rd, London, Ontario N6C 4R3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in London
#3 Romantic Hotel in London
#6 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £78 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn is unequivocally the finest Hotel and Conference Centre in Southwestern Ontario. Here you will find a complete spectrum of first class accommodations and Conference, Meeting and Banquet facilities. At the heart is the spectacular atrium, a multi-tiered oasis of natural beauty under a retractable glass canopy. Be transported to a year round tropical paradise where the sun glistens off the sparkling blue waters of the award winning swimming pool. The Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre also sets high standards in room appointments, focusing on flexibility and comfort. Choose from Executive Suites, traditional bedrooms, or romantic retreats with a double Jacuzzi and cozy gas fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn And Conference Centre Hotel London
Best Western Lamplighter Hotel
Best Western London
London Best Western
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre London, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing