We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic, kid friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Fantastic, kid friendly hotel”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My son and I stayed at this hotel the weekend of July 18-20 for a tournament. We got an excellent group rate and it was well worth the expense.

We arrived just before our first game, so I quickly checked in, dropped off a few things in the room and was on my way. I was impressed when I first walked in at how spacious and immaculate the lobby was. The reception clerk was friendly and helpful. I got the room I requested and it was a nice way to start off the weekend. It took a little time to find the room. This is a large hotel and it takes some time to get used to the massive layout.

The room itself had two queens and overlooked the pool area. It was spacious and very well kept. It contained a mini-fridge which was a definite plus, especially with having to go back and forth to games and needing cold beverages. The beds were very comfortable, but one of the few complaints I have is the pillows are huge and puffy. I requested some smaller, flatter ones but housekeeping did not seem to have any. I still slept fine. The room also has free wifi which was a bonus.

All the public areas are extremely clean and well kept. The pool and waterslide were a big hit with my boys and all the players. We spent hours there enjoying the pool, waterslide and hot tub.
I also used the gym facility once. It is very basic with stationary bikes, treadmills and weight machine. It too was very clean and had 3 nice big screen tvs.

We dined at Shelly's, the lamplighter restaurant, just once for breakfast. It had a great breakfast special that was reasonably priced and was served with generous portions. It was above average for a hotel restaurant. The service was a tad slow, but it was well worth the wait.


Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel. It is in a good location, in the heart of London, close to many restaurants and shops. Parking at the hotel is free and the lot is large enough that you can park close to the many entrances to the hotel. The hotel is immaculately kept, spacious and the people who work there are all friendly and helpful. It is by far the nicest Best Western I have ever stayed at. If I am ever in London again, I would definitely stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the main floor overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gojays_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you so much for this lovely review of the Lamplighter Inn! We are so happy that you and your boys were able to enjoy our amenities including our pool, waterslide, hot tub, wireless internet and fitness facility! We are also thrilled that you found Shelly’s Tap & Grill to be above average – we love when our guests say this! The Wake Up breakfast special served Monday through Saturday mornings for only $5.25 is definitely great value and we are glad that you were able to take advantage of that! Thank you once more for taking the time to write about your experience at our hotel, and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    234
    68
    32
    17
See reviews for
508
157
30
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a wedding last fall and it was simply amazing. I have stayed in a few hotels in London but this one was by far the best! The amenities along with the service, cleanliness and styling of the room was unbeatable! I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a classy hotel with great service. I will stay here again if I get the opportunity!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samuel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to our hotel! Thanks so much for taking the time to remember your experience and share it with others. We certainly appreciate your comments on the cleanliness and styling of our hotel. We continue to work on more upgrades and look forward to you coming back again soon to experience them.
Thanks again for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This was our best Best Western hotel stay of an 11 day trip. All 10 nights were spent at Best Western Hotels. We stayed here on our first and last nights of our vacation and enjoyed it immensely. The room was great, the king bed was very comfortable and the onsite restaurant food was excellent. I will recommend this hotel to friends and family. Staff employed by other Best Western hotels would benefit from the experience of staying at this hotel. Keep up the excellent work.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Chuck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for such kind words! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. Experiences such as you have accounted are exactly what we strive for! Thank you for sharing your thoughts…
We look forward to welcoming you back again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havelock, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed as we were attending a wedding and it is a beautiful hotel, check was nice and easy & they were very friendly, location was great! They hotel is beautiful and we are planning a mini family vacation to bring out kids here, they have a pool with a waterslide!
The room was a great layout the bathroom had a seperate shower & tub and a toliet then right across they had a vanity sink and a great area to get ready while hubby was showering! We had the king suite.
The 2 downfalls was when we booked we asked for a later checkout they informed us we need to request that at check in so we did but then got told we have to call front desk at 8am to make arrangments, which doesnt make sense as we wanted late checkout so we can sleep in and have room service a bit later, i suggest you rethink that policy! And the 2nd is room service breakfast the homefries were burned and didnt taste great!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed our property. It is even better that you want to visit us again for a “Family Get Away!”
I’m sorry that there was confusion over the later check-out and you were disappointed with your potatoes at breakfast. Both Guest Services and the Restaurant Manager have been notified of your comments. If you have any issues during any stay with us please do not hesitate to contact the Duty Manager or Guest Services immediately. Often things can be resolved very easily and effectively.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
windsor, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This motel was so clean and went above all of my expectations. The staff went out of their way for us (my child was too small for the slide and she was crying) so they gave us free breakfast and sent up a goodie bag for her and she was thrilled with that. It was amazing, the lifeguard saved a little girl while we were swimming, it was amazing to watch, and the overall experience was wonderful!! There is no where else I will ever stay but here!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful account of your experience at our hotel. We are very happy that something unhappy turned into something so positive for you and your child.
Hopefully soon your daughter will be 4 feet tall and can ride the slide next time!
Thank you again for taking the time to write on Trip Advisor. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This was our first visit to the Lamplighter Inn and we booked it because the pool looked like it would be great for the kids. I was amazed that the hotel looked as good, if not better, than the pictures we saw on their site. The hotel is in immaculate condition, I believe it was renovated, if so, you'd never know it seems relatively new. The rooms were nice and extremely clean, service was excellent, the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The pool actually had life guards on duty which is rare for a hotel pool, towels were easily available and they had tons of them. The restaurant (Shelly's) had very reasonable prices for a hotel restaurant, the food was excellent and they had great options for kids meals.

I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone staying in the London, ON area.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goldfish_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to our hotel! The Swimming Pool, Tropical Atrium and 140 foot long water slide is definitely popular with both Adults and Children. We are so happy that you enjoyed our facilities and were also able to enjoy Shelly’s Tap & Grill for some meals. Thank you so much for your compliments on the cleanliness of our hotel and our staff. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is our second stay at the hotel. The first time 5 years ago for a wedding. This time we did a mini-getaway to London with our 2 kids to visit Storybook Garden's and the Children's museum. The hotel was easy access to both.
We had a originally booked the Queen Family suite but upon check-in found out our room wasn't available as it was under renovations. Staff were very apologetic and let us know they had set aside 2 rooms for us. Unfortunately with 2 little ones that didn't work out as they weren't connecting. In the end we ended up with an executive king suite and they set up a cot for us. The room was spacious and worked out nicely for us.
Later that night we had a issue with the AC dripping water into the kitchen. Staff acted quickly and were again apologetic and even covered our breakfast the next day which was appreciated.
The pool and facilities are great for kids and the hotel is very family friendly.
Overall we like hotel and will likely stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mom22gurlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay once again with us. Thank you very much for your understanding with the maintenance issues. We look forward welcoming you back sometime soon for another “get away”!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Idlewyld Inn & Spa
#1 of 41 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Central London
Delta Hotels by Marriott London Armouries
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Hampton Inn by Hilton London
Hotel Metro
#5 of 41 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre

Property: Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre
Address: 591 Wellington Road S., London, Ontario N6C 4R3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in London
#3 Romantic Hotel in London
#6 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Lamplighter Inn is unequivocally the finest Hotel and Conference Centre in Southwestern Ontario. Here you will find a complete spectrum of first class accommodations and Conference, Meeting and Banquet facilities.At the heart, is the spectacular atrium, a multi-tiered oasis of natural beauty under a retractable glass canopy. Be transported to a year round tropical paradise where the sun glistens off the sparkling blue waters of the award winning swimming pool.The BEST WESTERN PLUS Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre also sets high standards in room appointments, focusing on flexibility and comfort. Choose from Executive Suites, Traditional bedrooms, or romantic retreats with a double Jacuzzi and cozy gas fireplace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn And Conference Centre Hotel London
Best Western Lamplighter Hotel
Best Western London
London Best Western
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre London, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing