We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed 23 July 2010

My wife and I had the chance to stay at this hotel while visiting relatives. It was extremely clean, has a great pool area. The rooms are spacious and confortable with free internet. The restaurant is roomy with lots of light from the large windows and food is good. There are a lot of other eateries in the area and its only approx. 4 km from the 401. All in all, it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacation_spec_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    605
    234
    68
    32
    16
See reviews for
507
158
30
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Marathon, ON
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

My husband and I pulled into this hotel late and requested a room with a queen bed for the best value. They were sold out of queen rooms but offered to give us a suite with a king bed for the same price - WOW! We paid only $108 + tax for a beautiful, modern, and exceptionally clean room. The bedroom was separated from the "livingroom" by french doors, and the bathroom had a separate shower and tub. We were very impressed with the overall "upscale" look and feel of the room.... we felt very spoiled, especially at the price we paid. We were very pleased with our stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashleyandlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2010

We stayed one night and for the most part everything was above average. This is a great place for those interesting in fitness and/or swimming as the pool area is superb and the gym is well-equipped. I was disappointed in the service at Shelley's dining room. We were looked after but it took a long time for dinner to arrive and when it did, everything came at once, instead of in courses. Breakfast the next day was slightly better, but also slow and clumsy. The hotel is very lovely and in great modern condition. However, the location, on a busy road, means you have to drive everywhere. There is no outdoor sidewalks for walking and no scenery to speak of. But the pool area made up fpr a lot as it is stunning. I would return, but would only eat breakfast in the dinnig room and look for a more intimate dining room for evening, preferably in the downtown area.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gingey67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2010

We stayed at this hotel for just one night in an Atrium view room with a fridge and two double/queen beds (room 177). You dont notice from the road just how big this hotel is, it was hard to find our room the first time. When we arrived we found that the room was muggy (even though it was only 10C outside), probably because the patio doors opened to the Atrium which was very hot and humid (it is a greenhouse, essentially). The A/C worked, but just barely- I would not want to see how warm this room would become in the heat of the summer! The fridge was the same deal- just cool enough to chill our wine a little bit, but it could have been a little better. We had some food to heat up so we simply phoned the front desk and within about 20min staff dropped off a microwave for us which was nice. The room was clean and beds were comfortable with lots of nice pillows. Most other Best Westerns that I have been to offer free continental breakfast, this one does not (though you can order room service or visit the onsite restaurant). Overall this was a nice hotel, but it would be nicer with a few improvements to the A/C and fridge.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
Reviewed 4 February 2010

For the second year in a row, we booked rooms at this hotel for New Years along with friends so our kids could enjoy a mid-winter mini-vacation and we could all be together on New Years. We booked these rooms a year ago, and specifically requested rooms on pool level, facing the pool, with patios so we could come and go from the pool and easily monitor the kids in the pool. Also, by having adjoining rooms we'd have a large patio area so we could socialise and have the food we brought and not have to cram inside one room.

When we arrived we were told our reservation didn't specify any room preferences and that they don't reserve specific rooms. This is not what we were told when reserving! We all live in the London area, so this stay was not about needing a room, it was about the pool and being together and having the patio space. To not have that defeated the whole purpose. We complained and complained but in the end we were stuck with two interior rooms, and ONE BALCONY room in a different section which overlooked the pool, but you had to go into the hall and down the stairs to get there. This meant that we were all crammed in the one room as we didn't want to be. I felt we wasted our $ as we only used the other two rooms to sleep, and just as easily could have gone home instead (which we were tempted to do but the kids wanted to use the pool the next day as well).
We know lots of people who stay here for the same reason. We felt we were not treated fairly. We booked the rooms a whole year earlier to be guaranteed what we wanted. As for their excuse they don't reserve specific rooms, the manager offerred to guarantee rooms for us if we return this year, and oddly some rooms had already been reserved so this wasn't just done for us.

On a good note, I think the restaurant food is actualy quite good! The menu has a good variety, especially breakfast! The rooms seemed clean. The pool was chilly, as usual. We weren't going to rebook but decided that, if we can get the rooms we want, it's still a good New Years place to be.

Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank vacationdadLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitoulin Island
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2010

We absolutely loved the Best Western Lamplighter. Excellent Excellent Our daughter age 11 loved the pool ,hot tub and slide. Excellent deal. , We ate our meals there too great food good price. Our room was spacious with duvets and feather pillows and we could walk out from our room onto the deck and keep an eye on our 11 year old daughter in the pool. staff was Excellent .Thay changed our room for use three times, so we could get a room as closs to the pool as possibe to keep an eye on our little one without going down to the pool. stayed for 3 days, would recomend it to everyone THANKS FOR THE GREAT STAY.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweet35449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2009

I spent one night at the Lamplighter Inn and rooms very clean and spacious!
I was there to present a seminar and food and service was great!
I would recommend this hotel for business or pleasure! Pool and water slide looked great!
My only complaint is even though the front desk was very helpful they were not too freindly no smiles zombie like expressions on their face very flat. I did not fee very welcome!
Other than that great location if your in London!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HopeToronto_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Idlewyld Inn & Spa
#1 of 41 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Central London
Delta Hotels by Marriott London Armouries
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Hampton Inn by Hilton London
Hotel Metro
#5 of 41 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre

Property: Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre
Address: 591 Wellington Road S., London, Ontario N6C 4R3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in London
#3 Romantic Hotel in London
#6 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Lamplighter Inn is unequivocally the finest Hotel and Conference Centre in Southwestern Ontario. Here you will find a complete spectrum of first class accommodations and Conference, Meeting and Banquet facilities.At the heart, is the spectacular atrium, a multi-tiered oasis of natural beauty under a retractable glass canopy. Be transported to a year round tropical paradise where the sun glistens off the sparkling blue waters of the award winning swimming pool.The BEST WESTERN PLUS Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre also sets high standards in room appointments, focusing on flexibility and comfort. Choose from Executive Suites, Traditional bedrooms, or romantic retreats with a double Jacuzzi and cozy gas fireplace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn And Conference Centre Hotel London
Best Western Lamplighter Hotel
Best Western London
London Best Western
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre London, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing