We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel for Family with awsomer pool area with slide”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2010

The Lamplighter is an excellent Family oriented hotel. Get a room overlooking the center pool area, and you get a balcony overlooking a pool, waterfalls, waterslide, ponds/waterfall displays with the huge gold fish, and a glass ceiling to see outside (sunlight, stars at night). They also have a patio restaurant/patio one level up over the pool area, which is nice for sitting at (although they only have the circular bar/restaurant open on weekends for service, but I noticed you can still sit all around the patio if you want to bring your own food/drinks). The pool is themed with one end starting out as a peer/dock setting, and the deck switching from boardwalk effect to stone/tile to sand/beach like concrete, to rocks by the rock/cliff where the waterslide is (up above). Stayed twice so far - nice way to relax.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DB128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2010

Dear DB128,

Thank you for visiting our Hotel and for your wonderful comments.

Our guests really enjoy our pool area; it provides a great escape from all the snow outside! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, and I appreciate you visiting us twice. We look forward to welcoming you again!

Best Western Lamplighter Inn and Conference Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,082)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,025 - 1,031 of 1,082 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2010

A colleague and myself were there for a one day meeting we was a really nice hotel. However the Restaurant staff were not friendly at all since we got there late we had dinner at the hotel and when we got there they didn't seem to want our business. I had my daughter and granddaughter come for dinner since I was in town took for ever to get service and the food. I qualiy of food was very poor for the price of the food and we all agreed the good was not very good. Moving on the hotel room was wonderful, had a room facing the pool which was nice. Going back to the Restaurant we went down for breakfast we were greeted not with a good morning or a smile lady was very rude, had our serve ask us what we wanted to drink then came back 10 mins later to take our order.. in the mean time we are still waiting for our morning coffee.. we had another server come and asked if we have been helped we told them we have been helped but we are still waiting for out drink the man was very nice and went and got our coffee's however by the time he came back our food was already served. She didn't appoligize or come back to see how we were doing.. would go back just not to the Restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FDMDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2010

Dear FDMDebbie,

Thank you for your comments and for your visit to our Hotel.

I am glad you felt the Hotel was nice and that you enjoyed your guestroom. It can be a nice break from a day of meetings to relax in a guestroom overlooking the Atrium and Pool area.

I am dissapointed to hear that your experience in our on-site restaurant was not as enjoyable. I have forwarded your comments on to our Restaurant Manager so that she is able to address it with the staff. We take pride in our ability to provide exemplary customer service in all areas of the Hotel, and I can assure you your experience is not one that we accept.

Thank you again for your comments; without valuable feedback like yours we aren't able to address issues. I hope you have the opportunity to visit us again in the future so we may show you the exceptional service we provide.

Best Western Lamplighter Inn and Conference Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

We had a mini vacation here over labour day weekend. We have been here about six times. We have family in London, so when we visit we stay at this hotel. We always have a great time. The whole place is very clean, and well organized. We stayed in a queen suite, very nice room, overlooking the pool. We enjoyed the pool, hot tub, and slide. They have the place looking very tropical, it is really pretty and relaxing. There was no noise at night, even though the hotel was booked solid. It was nice to getaway before the kid's went back to school. I would recommend the Lamplighter to anyone .

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel_mom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Hi everyone,

We stayed at the Lamplighter because of the pictures of the water-park and the nice linens. The salt-water pool was nice, and a good temperature, the waterfall was cool, but the slide was more "scary" than "fun." It wasn't well-enough lit at night and I would only recommend it in the daytime. We went to a simpler hotel in Moose Jaw and it's slide was simpler yet more fun. Also, the whoosh at the end of the slide tended to get water up our noses.

Although this is a huge hotel and very well kept, with beautiful finishes and linens, for us, the killer was the hard mattress. They did upgrade us to the King size, but it was PAINFUL! The springs were hard and we both woke up with sore backs. Compared to 4 other beds we have recently slept on, this was ouch!

Apparently they have a Tempur-pedic wing in this hotel, and if we ever go back, we'd ask for one of those. Otherwise, we'd avoid the Lamplighter in search of more comfortable beds.

I asked the clerk and she said that they are replacing the beds with the same kind in that wing (Third floor), so I don't expect much change even when the new mattresses go in. They didn't offer anything like a discount or compensation, so it really doesn't inspire me to go back, and the pool wasn't anything special, in the end, compared to other pools. It's just a pool - don't let the pictures fool you!

Good luck on your search!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scriptures4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2010

My wife and I had the chance to stay at this hotel while visiting relatives. It was extremely clean, has a great pool area. The rooms are spacious and confortable with free internet. The restaurant is roomy with lots of light from the large windows and food is good. There are a lot of other eateries in the area and its only approx. 4 km from the 401. All in all, it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vacation_spec_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

My husband and I pulled into this hotel late and requested a room with a queen bed for the best value. They were sold out of queen rooms but offered to give us a suite with a king bed for the same price - WOW! We paid only $108 + tax for a beautiful, modern, and exceptionally clean room. The bedroom was separated from the "livingroom" by french doors, and the bathroom had a separate shower and tub. We were very impressed with the overall "upscale" look and feel of the room.... we felt very spoiled, especially at the price we paid. We were very pleased with our stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashleyandlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2010

We stayed one night and for the most part everything was above average. This is a great place for those interesting in fitness and/or swimming as the pool area is superb and the gym is well-equipped. I was disappointed in the service at Shelley's dining room. We were looked after but it took a long time for dinner to arrive and when it did, everything came at once, instead of in courses. Breakfast the next day was slightly better, but also slow and clumsy. The hotel is very lovely and in great modern condition. However, the location, on a busy road, means you have to drive everywhere. There is no outdoor sidewalks for walking and no scenery to speak of. But the pool area made up fpr a lot as it is stunning. I would return, but would only eat breakfast in the dinnig room and look for a more intimate dining room for evening, preferably in the downtown area.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gingey67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Central London
Delta Hotels by Marriott London Armouries
Westminster
Hampton Inn by Hilton London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Idlewyld Inn & Spa
#1 of 41 in London
338 reviews
Central London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London Ontario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre

Address: 591 Wellington Road S., London, Ontario N6C 4R3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in London
#3 Romantic Hotel in London
#6 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £80 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn is unequivocally the finest Hotel and Conference Centre in Southwestern Ontario. Here you will find a complete spectrum of first class accommodations and Conference, Meeting and Banquet facilities. At the heart is the spectacular atrium, a multi-tiered oasis of natural beauty under a retractable glass canopy. Be transported to a year round tropical paradise where the sun glistens off the sparkling blue waters of the award winning swimming pool. The Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre also sets high standards in room appointments, focusing on flexibility and comfort. Choose from Executive Suites, traditional bedrooms, or romantic retreats with a double Jacuzzi and cozy gas fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn And Conference Centre Hotel London
Best Western Lamplighter Hotel
Best Western London
London Best Western
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre London, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing