We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay - Highly Recommend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
ont
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay - Highly Recommend!”
Reviewed 22 December 2010

We booked a room at The Lamplighter for one night during the Christmas Holidays so the kids could enjoy the pool. Upon check in we were greeted by friendly staff ( the kids enjoyed the welcome cookies at the front desk.) The room was spotless, the beds were very comfortable with crisp white linen, the bathroom was very clean ( separate sink area from the toilet ) there was a tub and a separate shower that had a bench. Being a Tuesday, it wasn't too busy and we were upgraded to room 177 with a balcony which overlooked the beautiful atrium. I was able to sit out and read a book while the kids were in the pool. They loved the waterslide and I was able to sit back and relax a bit with all of the lifeguards on staff.
We ate at the restaurant in the lobby "Shelly's" and had a great dinner. Great value for the kids meals too. ( there was a fridge in the room for leftovers )
The complimentary water in the room was a nice touch as well as the individual coffee/tea maker.
Overall a great stay and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the London area.
Thanks for a great night!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janekamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 24 December 2010
Dear janekamy,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and for choosing our Hotel to spend some time over the Holidays.

I'm glad you enjoyed the treats on the front desk -- our Biscotti is made in house by our Executive Chef and our guests love the sweet treat upon arrival.

The Atrium does provide an escape for Mom, Dad and the kids and I am glad you were able to relax throughout the Holidays as they can be a stressful time.

Thank you for visiting our Hotel and I hope you enjoy the rest of the season. Happy Holidays to you and yours and we look forward to you visiting us again!

The Best Western Lamplighter Inn and Conference Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    643
    245
    74
    33
    16
See reviews for
538
162
31
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2010

Attended this hotel for a two night stay with conference on-sight. Weather was cold and snowy so it was nice being able to stay inside and walk from your room to the conference hall. Hotel was clean and well appointed. Front desk staff were helpful and friendly during check-in. Pool and recreation area looked fantastic but unfortunately I wasn't able to use them due to time constraints. Lots of restaraunts nearby so there is plenty of food choices.

Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank JOCURT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 21 December 2010
Dear JOCURT,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for providing us with your feedback.

The Lamplighter Inn is a large Conference Centre so we have the pleasure of welcoming many groups throughout the year.

It's too bad you missed out on using the pool facilities -- perhaps you can come back on pleasure and give the waterslide a shot!

Thank you for choosing our property and we look forward to welcoming you in the future!

Best Western Lamplighter Inn and Conference Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

The Lamplighter is an excellent Family oriented hotel. Get a room overlooking the center pool area, and you get a balcony overlooking a pool, waterfalls, waterslide, ponds/waterfall displays with the huge gold fish, and a glass ceiling to see outside (sunlight, stars at night). They also have a patio restaurant/patio one level up over the pool area, which is nice for sitting at (although they only have the circular bar/restaurant open on weekends for service, but I noticed you can still sit all around the patio if you want to bring your own food/drinks). The pool is themed with one end starting out as a peer/dock setting, and the deck switching from boardwalk effect to stone/tile to sand/beach like concrete, to rocks by the rock/cliff where the waterslide is (up above). Stayed twice so far - nice way to relax.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DB128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 21 December 2010
Dear DB128,

Thank you for visiting our Hotel and for your wonderful comments.

Our guests really enjoy our pool area; it provides a great escape from all the snow outside! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, and I appreciate you visiting us twice. We look forward to welcoming you again!

Best Western Lamplighter Inn and Conference Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orillia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2010

A colleague and myself were there for a one day meeting we was a really nice hotel. However the Restaurant staff were not friendly at all since we got there late we had dinner at the hotel and when we got there they didn't seem to want our business. I had my daughter and granddaughter come for dinner since I was in town took for ever to get service and the food. I qualiy of food was very poor for the price of the food and we all agreed the good was not very good. Moving on the hotel room was wonderful, had a room facing the pool which was nice. Going back to the Restaurant we went down for breakfast we were greeted not with a good morning or a smile lady was very rude, had our serve ask us what we wanted to drink then came back 10 mins later to take our order.. in the mean time we are still waiting for our morning coffee.. we had another server come and asked if we have been helped we told them we have been helped but we are still waiting for out drink the man was very nice and went and got our coffee's however by the time he came back our food was already served. She didn't appoligize or come back to see how we were doing.. would go back just not to the Restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FDMDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 24 December 2010
Dear FDMDebbie,

Thank you for your comments and for your visit to our Hotel.

I am glad you felt the Hotel was nice and that you enjoyed your guestroom. It can be a nice break from a day of meetings to relax in a guestroom overlooking the Atrium and Pool area.

I am dissapointed to hear that your experience in our on-site restaurant was not as enjoyable. I have forwarded your comments on to our Restaurant Manager so that she is able to address it with the staff. We take pride in our ability to provide exemplary customer service in all areas of the Hotel, and I can assure you your experience is not one that we accept.

Thank you again for your comments; without valuable feedback like yours we aren't able to address issues. I hope you have the opportunity to visit us again in the future so we may show you the exceptional service we provide.

Best Western Lamplighter Inn and Conference Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

We had a mini vacation here over labour day weekend. We have been here about six times. We have family in London, so when we visit we stay at this hotel. We always have a great time. The whole place is very clean, and well organized. We stayed in a queen suite, very nice room, overlooking the pool. We enjoyed the pool, hot tub, and slide. They have the place looking very tropical, it is really pretty and relaxing. There was no noise at night, even though the hotel was booked solid. It was nice to getaway before the kid's went back to school. I would recommend the Lamplighter to anyone .

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_mom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Hi everyone,

We stayed at the Lamplighter because of the pictures of the water-park and the nice linens. The salt-water pool was nice, and a good temperature, the waterfall was cool, but the slide was more "scary" than "fun." It wasn't well-enough lit at night and I would only recommend it in the daytime. We went to a simpler hotel in Moose Jaw and it's slide was simpler yet more fun. Also, the whoosh at the end of the slide tended to get water up our noses.

Although this is a huge hotel and very well kept, with beautiful finishes and linens, for us, the killer was the hard mattress. They did upgrade us to the King size, but it was PAINFUL! The springs were hard and we both woke up with sore backs. Compared to 4 other beds we have recently slept on, this was ouch!

Apparently they have a Tempur-pedic wing in this hotel, and if we ever go back, we'd ask for one of those. Otherwise, we'd avoid the Lamplighter in search of more comfortable beds.

I asked the clerk and she said that they are replacing the beds with the same kind in that wing (Third floor), so I don't expect much change even when the new mattresses go in. They didn't offer anything like a discount or compensation, so it really doesn't inspire me to go back, and the pool wasn't anything special, in the end, compared to other pools. It's just a pool - don't let the pictures fool you!

Good luck on your search!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scriptures4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2010

My wife and I had the chance to stay at this hotel while visiting relatives. It was extremely clean, has a great pool area. The rooms are spacious and confortable with free internet. The restaurant is roomy with lots of light from the large windows and food is good. There are a lot of other eateries in the area and its only approx. 4 km from the 401. All in all, it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacation_spec_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Idlewyld Inn & Spa
#1 of 41 in London
312 reviews
Central London
Delta Hotels by Marriott London Armouries
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Hampton Inn by Hilton London
Hotel Metro
#7 of 41 in London
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre

Property: Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre
Address: 591 Wellington Road S., London, Ontario N6C 4R3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in London
#3 Romantic Hotel in London
#6 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Lamplighter Inn is unequivocally the finest Hotel and Conference Centre in Southwestern Ontario. Here you will find a complete spectrum of first class accommodations and Conference, Meeting and Banquet facilities.At the heart, is the spectacular atrium, a multi-tiered oasis of natural beauty under a retractable glass canopy. Be transported to a year round tropical paradise where the sun glistens off the sparkling blue waters of the award winning swimming pool.The BEST WESTERN PLUS Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre also sets high standards in room appointments, focusing on flexibility and comfort. Choose from Executive Suites, Traditional bedrooms, or romantic retreats with a double Jacuzzi and cozy gas fireplace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn And Conference Centre Hotel London
Best Western Lamplighter Hotel
Best Western London
London Best Western
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre London, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing