We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt very spoiled by the staff. Loved my stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ivey Spencer Leadership Centre
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Felt very spoiled by the staff. Loved my stay!”
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Asher Restaurant staff go above and beyond. Very much appreciated:)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DNDWTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    620
    285
    80
    33
    14
See reviews for
201
174
73
512
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Despite arriving two hours before check-in time we were welcomed warmly and given our room without delay. The room was clean, nicely decorated, and well-equipped. I particularly liked the bath products, while my husband enjoyed the free newspaper. We agreed that what we liked least was the size of the bed; we're used to a king, and this one felt small - maybe a double.
The room was very quiet and faced a parklike area. The grounds are lovely and convey an atmosphere of relaxation.
We were very happy with the buffet breakfast the first morning, but on the second day the dishes that were supposed to be hot were lukewarm at best. Nevertheless, the server in the breakfast room was excellent, and the variety of food was extensive.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missdanyell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

The bones are good here: great service, good food, pleasant grounds, a good conference facility, but a few corners were cut in sizing the rooms (small), ensuring that the technology is working (especially for an academic venue), and putting a double bed in a double room, not exactly comfy for two.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Capelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnia, Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

Stayed for one night. What a nice place! Quiet, clean, very cozy and charming. Secluded, surrounded by forest, or so it seemed. We got bread and breakfast (full buffet) for the same price as other other hotels and this was closer to the Bellamere Winery where we were for the evening.

Lovely.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanjHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Ivey Spencer Leadership Centre from May 31st to June 3rd, while I attended company meetings. There was a lot of activity there with other groups at the hotel as well and we were worried about the amount of attention that our group would get. We found that this was definitely NOT the case. The staff was very friendly and service was excellent. The rooms were tastefully decorated and clean and comfortable, and dining options were great with a constantly changing buffet as well as a lounge and plentiful morning and afternoon break/snack options. The grounds were also very beautiful and and enhanced our experience that much more. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RayJayTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2010

The location of the hotel is not the greatest. You are really not in walking distance from anything in London, unless you need to get to the University. The rooms are adequate. However, the service at the Ivey Spencer is outstanding. The staff were extremely friendly and they were very helpful. It is rare to find this kind of customer service these days.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMR25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YYZYXUYVR
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2010

I am SO VERY tired of people complaining about good properties!!

We had a evening fete to attend... I work in travel and have stayed at many Canadian hot/motels before.. from 1-5+ stars, have also toured this property before... both the business center side, as well as the guest rooms and was aware of the services and amenities offered, as well as the history of the mansion; so the break down:

-beautiful property nestled ina forested area of the town
-easy to find
-close drive/walk to everything... good dining, clubs, bars, for those on a budget and luxury
-perfect noise level (quiet, but not so much so that one cannot sleep)
-the forst hotel (massive bed hogs here) where neither of us 'didn;t have room' while sleeping, wasn't 'hot, stuffy, cold, drafty.'
-spotless clean.... although not after we left the room...
-free wi-fi and large desk area in standard rooms with a big'ol powerbar at your fingertips (..for pretty much everything people need... flat iron, cell charger, gps, etc etc)

Actually we were there while there was a wedding (btw, congrats Steve and Yolanda??), to which my first thought was: "oh no," and were placed in what was probably the last avail. room/ the one furthest from the party, which was right by the elevators, and overlooking the rear of the property, as well as the loading docks!!
Alas, it was enjoyable and we had ZERO complaints.. nor will we ever about this place

Not to worry, it was, as I said, very clean, superb toiletries from England, quiet, roomy, large, elegant in design and with very comfortable pillows.

The restaurant and room service are also superb- 'real person' prices for what many I think would call 'fancy food.' Worth every dollar... all $77!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RealCADTrvlCnslr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Idlewyld Inn & Spa
#1 of 41 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Hotel Metro
#5 of 41 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Central London
Delta Hotels by Marriott London Armouries
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
TownePlace Suites London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivey Spencer Leadership Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivey Spencer Leadership Centre

Property: Ivey Spencer Leadership Centre
Address: 551 Windermere Rd, London, Ontario N5X 2T1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in London
#2 Business Hotel in London
#3 Family Hotel in London
#4 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ivey Spencer Leadership Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Southwestern Ontario's only IACC approved conference hotel, this historic Georgian estate situated on 30 parkland acres provides the perfect backdrop for meetings, events and comfortable guestroom accommodations. The Ivey Spencer Leadership Centre offers a truly distinctive experience that is sure to nourish the mind, body and spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ivey Spencer Leadership Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivey Spencer Leadership Centre Hotel London
Ivey Spencer Leadership Centre London, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing