We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet and comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ivey Spencer Leadership Centre
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice quiet and comfortable stay”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

I was recently in London for a wedding and based on the location of the wedding and reception, Ivy Spencer was the best option. Nice location, a short drive to the downtown. Check in was easy, our room was a bit of a hike from the main area, its actually a pretty big place. There were some conferences going on, however, the building was almost empty. Very quiet. The room was smaller than i would have liked, but had all the amenities one expects in a hotel room. Room service is available and our stay included a breakfast, which we missed.

Highly recommended, however, if you like a bigger room ask about upgrades.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1bsmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerekG273, General Manager at Ivey Spencer Leadership Centre, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know of your experience here at Spencer.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay and perhaps if you do stay with us again you would enjoy our larger Ivey guestrooms - they offer a little more space than our Heritage rooms.

I hope you enjoyed the wedding you attended, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Spencer if you are again in the London area!

Sincerely,

Derek Grimaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    661
    302
    83
    33
    15
See reviews for
211
179
75
550
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We spent one night in this hotel while on a hiking trip to Pinery and Fanshaw conservation area. And it was a very pleasant experience at a reasonable price. I enjoyed the perfectly maintained grounds, the fully renovated modern bathroom in our room, and helpfulness of the staff. The location is another advantage as while being an 8 minute drive from downtown we we surrounded by greenery and serenity.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 48svitlana_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerekG273, General Manager at Ivey Spencer Leadership Centre, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know of your experience here at Spencer.

We have been described as "country in the city" and it sounds that our location and surroundings worked well for you during your stay in London.

If you return to London again - I hope you will visit us!

Sincerely,

Derek Grimaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
136 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 4 days and enjoyed it very much. Room was very comfortable and the bathroom was big. I've stayed for some training and breakfast, lunch and breaks were included: food was very good and way too much, I hope the leftovers (there were leftovers each day) were donated to a shelter.

One idea that you might want to put into practise, I enjoyed it in an Arlington hotel - let guests opt out of cleaning the room. Cleaning staff get trained to arrange a room every time in a specific way (tucked sheets, folded towels, etc). I undo their work every time and prepare my room as I want to. If I don't litter and don't need anything touched in my room, why would you still send someone to disturbe my intimacy?

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aime_voyager87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerekG273, General Manager at Ivey Spencer Leadership Centre, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know of your experience here at Spencer.

It is through comments such as yours that we are able to evaluate our services and enhance the guest experience - I will discuss your suggestion with our management team.

If your plans bring you to London during the months of July and August (2013) we are offering complimentary breakfast for two included in your stay. This summer breakfast is on us!

Sincerely,

Derek Grimaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Great conference centre - good food, service, beautiful grounds. Only complaint is there was a bit of a musty smell in the room. Service was excellent. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious as was the buffet dinner.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bee56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerekG273, General Manager at Ivey Spencer Leadership Centre, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know of your experience here at Spencer. I have advised our housekeeping department of the issue with your room and they will look into this - thank you for bringing it to our attention.

I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to serving you again. If your plans bring you to London during the months of July and August (2013) we are offering complimentary breakfast for two included in your stay. This summer breakfast is on us!

Sincerely,

Derek Grimaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This was our second stay at this hotel. We were sorry to have just one night, it is a lovely location away from the busy downtown area but only a few minutes driving, as it is close to Hwy 4. (Richmond Street) It was perfect for us coming from the North and attending an event at Western University. It is also very close to University Hospital and Masonville Mall and major shopping plaza and restaurants. The hotel room suited our needs very comfortably, was nicely furnished, bathroom very up to date, we slept very well, lots of free parking is a bonus, situated in parkland, you forget you are in the heart of the city. Definitely our first choice for a London visit. Reception was very welcoming, we did not make use of any of the facilities such as the restaurant. I don't associate the rooms here at this hotel with any university dorms I have ever stayed in as a guest e.g. Edinburgh, Stirling UK, Waterloo ON. Nothing like them at all.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piper184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerekG273, General Manager at Ivey Spencer Leadership Centre, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us again.

I am pleased to hear that you have enjoyed both of your stays and that both our location and amenities have increased the enjoyment of your stay.

If your plans bring you back to London during the months of July and August (2013) we are offering complimentary breakfast for two included in your stay. This summer breakfast is on us!

Sincerely,

Derek Grimaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Stayed over on business for 1 night in mid-April.

Wonderful setting and very helpful staff, but located a long way from anywhere, which is both good and bad. OK if one is focused entirely on meetings or studying, then its the perfect location with all of the necessary facilities.

My room was clean and comfortable, but functional.
As another reviewer mentioned - yes, it did remind me of an up-market university dorm, only much nicer and quieter.
The meeting facilities were very good.

My biggest criticism is twofold: firstly the restaurant closes at 20h00 (8 o'clock) and secondly there is no room service or bar food options (except for peanuts and chips). This means that if you arrive after 8 o'clock in the evening - you are out of luck for getting anything to eat - although it is apparently possible to order in pizza. On the other hand, the selection of beer was good as was the breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blue_Quill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerekG273, General Manager at Ivey Spencer Leadership Centre, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience here at Spencer.

It is through comments such as yours that we are able to evaluate our services and enhance the guest experience. We will review our restaurants hours of operation and our room service menu availability to hopefully be better able to meet our guests needs.

We look forward to hosting you during your next trip to London!

Sincerely,

Derek Grimaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaforth, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2013

On April 17th & 18 we had the priviledge of staying at this superb accommodation for the second time. This is without a doubt Londons # 1 Customer service Hotel. The Staff truly care about you, at Check in, dining and your room service. During our stay we required emergency services during the night. There was an incredible response within minutes. The rooms are well kept and attended to. The bed mattresses are very comfortable and the room layout accomodates your needs very well.
A special thank you to the Day & Night staff during our stay, you have won our loyalty and business.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Len C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerekG273, General Manager at Ivey Spencer Leadership Centre, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

We want our guests to feel at home when they stay with us and our fantastic staff are our biggest asset. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your kind words and loyalty.

We appreciate you taking the time to let us know of your experience here at Spencer and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Derek Grimaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Idlewyld Inn & Spa
#1 of 41 in London
305 reviews
Hotel Metro
#5 of 41 in London
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central London
Delta Hotels by Marriott London Armouries
Westminster
TownePlace Suites London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivey Spencer Leadership Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivey Spencer Leadership Centre

Property: Ivey Spencer Leadership Centre
Address: 551 Windermere Rd, London, Ontario N5X 2T1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in London
#2 Business Hotel in London
#3 Family Hotel in London
#4 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ivey Spencer Leadership Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Southwestern Ontario's only IACC approved conference hotel, this historic Georgian estate situated on 30 parkland acres provides the perfect backdrop for meetings, events and comfortable guestroom accommodations. The Ivey Spencer Leadership Centre offers a truly distinctive experience that is sure to nourish the mind, body and spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ivey Spencer Leadership Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivey Spencer Leadership Centre Hotel London
Ivey Spencer Leadership Centre London, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing