We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Flawless” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ivey Spencer Leadership Centre

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Ivey Spencer Leadership Centre
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Flawless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

My stay at the Ivey Spencer Leadership Centre for two nights in Aug 2013 was flawless. Friendly efficient staff for check-in and check-out. Good breakfast (by Canadian standards) and the brewed coffee is nice even at the conference coffee breaks. The garden scenery is pretty. Not far to drive into downtown. Clean comfortable room. Quiet place. This place has charm and character.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bcsanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerekG273, General Manager at Ivey Spencer Leadership Centre, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to hear that enjoyed all aspects of your stay from our quiet location to the quality of our coffee.

We look forward to hosting you during your next trip to London.

Sincerely,

Derek Grimaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    256
    72
    32
    12
See reviews for
177
163
65
463
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wiarton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We travel to London quite a bit and wanted to try something a little different than the regular "chain" hotels. After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, we decided to give the Ivey Spencer a try. What a nice surprise! The location is in North London fairly close to Richmond Street and the Maisonville District. The hotel is located on a large, quiet property that has many beautiful garden areas. If you are looking for excitement and night-life, this may not be the place for you. The hotel centres around an old mansion with newer additions for rooms and conference facilities. Our room was smallish, but the appointments were top-notch and the on-line price deal with free breakfast made it even better. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and the black-out drapes made for a very good night's sleep. Our summer package included a free breakfast - not a continental or buffet type breakfast, but a fully plated breakfast from the menu. My wife had the sunrise breakfast sandwich with hash browns, fruit, orange juice & coffee. I had fresh blueberry & pecan pancakes with bacon, hash browns, fruit, juice & coffee. Both were delicious. We went for a tour of the mansion and grounds before checking out. I would definitely recommend this property if you are looking for peace and quiet and a good deal, all located in a beautiful setting.

Room Tip: You can upgrade your room on-line for a small fee. It's worth it. Room 1143 on the first floor i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andyfest0719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerekG273, General Manager at Ivey Spencer Leadership Centre, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know of your experience here at Spencer.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that breakfast was enjoyable. We look forward to hosting you during your next trip to London.

Sincerely,

Derek Grimaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We visit London often to visit family, and until now, have generally stayed at a downtown hotel, but this time we wanted less hustle and bustle, and more relaxation. And a safe place to park a "special" car that's been in the family for 40 years. TripAdvisor reports pointed us here, and we were glad, as we had no idea it was even here!
All of the staff we met were warm and welcoming, we felt very much "at home" here. It has an easy-going atmosphere, at least when there are no large functions (we stayed during the week). The bar/lounge was relaxing, the rooms were nicely furnished and the beds super-comfortable. We did not eat here (the restaurant does close at 8 pm on weekdays). The buffet breakfast offered great selection, although I found the sausages a bit disappointing--but there were cold cuts, prosciutto, and smoked salmon, so why would I worry? Eggs, bacon, and lots of fresh fruit.
This place has gone to the top of our London list, we'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BluesInTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerekG273, General Manager at Ivey Spencer Leadership Centre, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know of your experience here at Spencer.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you during your next trip to London.

Sincerely,

Derek Grimaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We were attending a birthday celebration in London and the location was convenient to get to the various locations that we needed to get to in London. Our room was at ground level close to the reception area and breakfast area. We were just staying overnight so did not see much of the rest of the hotel. We got to breakfast just before 10:00 am, but the buffet had already been removed so we ordered from the menu which was perfect for us (breakfast was included) and it was very good especially the fresh fruit. The staff were very attentive and so friendly. We have stayed at other hotels when visiting in London, but we will come back here on our next visit to London.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M4KN0H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerekG273, General Manager at Ivey Spencer Leadership Centre, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we are now your top choice for London hotels. We greatly value your loyalty and will continue to provide you with exceptional service.

We look forward to hosting you during your next trip to London.

Sincerely,

Derek Grimaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Don't expect luxury or a full service hotel experience at this property but the rooms are very well appointecd albeit on the small side, the beds are top rate, free parking and free internet, great "grind your own cup" of Starbucks coffee but the locations is absolutely outstanding. The Ivey Spencer is set on thirty acres of serinity. All rooms have windows that open and you can keep them open as the place is absolultely quite and serene. There are small courtyards and gardens everywhere and the sense of peacefulness is outstanding. The staff is very accomodating the the morning breakfest is top notch. This property is slightly north of downtown but it is worth the drive for the peacefullness you will enjoy here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerekG273, General Manager at Ivey Spencer Leadership Centre, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to let us know of your experience here at Spencer.

We are one of London's best kept secret - and we are definitely striving to change that! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Derek Grimaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

We were happy with all aspects of our visit. The staff were informed and friendly. Lovely setting, hospitality, cleanliness, food. All good.
Only 'con' was the place was generally over-air-conditioned. Bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerekG273, General Manager at Ivey Spencer Leadership Centre, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! The indoor temperature has been a little tricky this summer - with such outdoor temperature swings - hot spells and then cold fall like weather - we are definitely working on keeping the indoors a more consistent cool temperature.

We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Derek Grimaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altamont, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

My husband and I recently stayed for 1 night at about $100 including tax and breakfast for 2...a very good value. The room was clean, we didn't use the wireless internet so can't comment on it. We watched TV and had many channels to choose from (only mentioning this b/c i noted another reviewer said there weren't many). Bed very comfortable and hall quiet...great night's sleep. Bath towels fluffy, thick, clean and soft. We loved the location...just outside downtown, so quiet, but easy to find...and it made for great running in the morning, with the University across the street and other paths nearby. Breakfast was especially good...i.e. steel cut oats with carmelized bananas..yum! Nice fresh seasonal fruit...and I liked that each type of berry or melon was separate, so you could make a mixture or have a whole bowl of one fruit. The fitness room was terrific. Staff friendly and helpful. Coffee and tea and some fresh fruit were available at check in and early in the morning, before we went to breakfast. This is a beautiful old manor, with additions to make it into a conference center...lovely to explore. I also enjoyed the flowers and gardens. Overall, a great experience and we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerekG273, General Manager at Ivey Spencer Leadership Centre, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you for your feedback during your recent stay at Spencer.

We greatly value our return guests and I am so happy to hear that you will stay with us again upon your next visit to London.

I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and look forwarding to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Derek Grimaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Idlewyld Inn & Spa
#1 of 41 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Hotel Metro
#3 of 41 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central London
Delta Hotels by Marriott London Armouries
Westminster
TownePlace Suites London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivey Spencer Leadership Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivey Spencer Leadership Centre

Property: Ivey Spencer Leadership Centre
Address: 551 Windermere Rd, London, Ontario N5X 2T1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in London
#2 Business Hotel in London
#3 Family Hotel in London
#4 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ivey Spencer Leadership Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Southwestern Ontario's only IACC approved conference hotel, this historic Georgian estate situated on 30 parkland acres provides the perfect backdrop for meetings, events and comfortable guestroom accommodations. The Ivey Spencer Leadership Centre offers a truly distinctive experience that is sure to nourish the mind, body and spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Ivey Spencer Leadership Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivey Spencer Leadership Centre Hotel London
Ivey Spencer Leadership Centre London, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing