We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but needs updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Delta Hotels by Marriott London Armouries
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2008

We stayed here for 3 nights on holiday but were disappoiinted with the hotel.
The initial impression was quite good with the reception looking clean and bright even though there was a strong chlorine smell in the air due to the proximity of the pool. However, on going to our 11th Floor Premier room we were concerned that the corridor looked very dark and dated and were even more disappointed when our room not only looked dark and dingy but smelt strongly of smoke. We immediately asked to change rooms and someone was sent up to move us. When we reached the second room the bedding looked new but the furniture and wallcoverings looked very tatty and dated. We asked to upgrade but were unable to as the hotel was fully booked. We were offered the possibility of moving the following day but in the end decided to stay in the room as we couldn't be bothered to pack up again and move rooms for just 2 nights.
The next problem we had was the bath - for some unknown reason they have surrounded the bath with marble but it has been designed so badly that you are unable to rest your head back when you have a bath. No chance of a long relaxing soak with a book here!
We didn't eat or drink in the hotel or use any of the other facilities so can't comment on the rest of the hotel but I would recommend paying more for a Signature Club room if you want to stay here. The good points are that the staff were really friendly and helpful at all times

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luvsdelta, Front Office Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott London Armouries, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2008

Dear Jojicat,
I appreciate your comments in regards to your stay on September 29th. I would like to apologize for the disappointment you experienced with regards to the rooms you were checked into. I would like to inform you that we are in the process of renovating a large number of guest rooms and hallways to create a more modern style while maintaining the unique, historical atmosphere our building is known for.
We value all of our guest’s feedback as it allows us to make changes and adjustments to our service style to ensure we are exceeding your expectations each and every stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Delta London Armouries Hotel in the future!
Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,010)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

963 - 969 of 1,010 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2008

My mother and I had to stay in London for a few days while my father went in a recovered from surgery.

The first night we stayed at the university hotel and relised that though it was a good deal it was not comfortable and we were more stressed in the end.

On our second day my father took a short turn (thank goodness) for the worse so with short notice we needed another night at a hotel.

I quickely opened the phone book and started looking for a hotel. Several of the places I called were already overbooked and we were getting worried that there would be no where to stay.

When I finally called the Delta the staff was so friendly and reasured us that there would be no plroblem. They didnt even insist that I give my cridit card number (since it was up six floors in the hospital room with my mother. When we arrived that night we were both so tired and the staff welcomed us, it felt peaceful.

We had dinner at the hotel (which was wonderful) and slept a sound sleep in their clean and comfortable hotel room.

Needless to say we wish our stay was for pleasure instead of hospital reasons so my husband and I will be staying in November for our one year anniversary and we cant wait.

Please let all your staff know how thankful my Mother and I were for your help and reasurance so that a stressful time was just a little more relaxed.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Lulu017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luvsdelta, Guest Services Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott London Armouries, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2008

Dear Lulu017,
Thank you for your reviews in regards to your visit to the Delta London Armouries Hotel. It is our goal here at the Armouries to exceed all of our guest's expectations and I'm very happy that our staff was able to make a stressful evening into a relaxing and comforting experience for you.
We are always happy to help anyone who is visiting the city while loved ones are awaiting surgery and we hope to be able to invite you back during more positive times as well!
Kindest regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2008

The Hotel was very beautiful, clean and the staff was very helpful and polite.

We booked a room with Hotels.com and the picture on the web site showed these bed with great looking duvet covers and there are two different rate. There are no explanation of the different rates.

When we walked into the room, the beds were very lob sided and looked uncomfortable and nothing like the pictures on Hotels.com. When I went down to request an other room, they upgraded us to the Deluxe room. When we walked into the Deluxe room the beds had the duvet covers and 4 plush pillows on each bed. The room was bigger and had more room to move around. I would suggest paying the extra 10$ for the upgrade, I know I will next time. The staff was very helpful and willing to help and all that with a smile, not once did they give me an evil eye or a funny look.

Then we had breakfasts at the restaurant and the services was also excellent and prompt and courteous. I ordered from the menu instead of having the breakfast buffet and it was worth the extra money. The yogurt with Granola was fresh and excellent. So was the coffee.

The only bad thing about the hotel is that there is no parking close by. You have to park one block in the back of the hotel of spring and extra 5$ plus tip for valet parking. If you choose to park in the back, which is okay, I strongly suggest that you unload your car and luggage with someone and have one person park the car in the back, 'cause it is a bit of a walk with luggage. But it's not enough to deter us from staying there again, we are now more aware of it and know what to do next time.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank hamelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luvsdelta, Guest Services Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott London Armouries, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2008

Thank you for your positive feedback. I’m delighted to hear our staff was able to address your concerns upon arrival to your room and ensure your stay was enjoyable. The Armouries Grille prides itself on offering a wide range of menu items to suite all tastes! Although Downtown London does have a bit of a parking shortage, we are happy to be able to offer our guests access to a city lot at a flat daily rate of $7.50 which allows our guests to come and go whereas parking with the city would result in having to pay each time you exit the lot. We do offer a valet service as well for a flat daily rate of $12 which again allows our guests to come and go as they wish.
We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Delta London Armouries Hotel!
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2008

I booked our room via email with the reservation manager, Rita Macdonald. I had many questions and several requests all of which she handled in a most professional manner.Upon arrival I discovered that we had been upgraded. We were on a SHADES OF SUMMER package which was excellent value.

While there was no doorman/bellhop at the door when I checked in they were present at all other times and very helpful.

The front desk staff were friendly ,polite and professional.

The maid was pleasant and made a point of exchanging our robes for better quality ones with a personal note as soon as I checked in.

The bartender worked under sress as the air conditioning was broken and he was alone with a full bar to serve but he did his very best.

The dining room staff were eficient and welcoming, serving a good breakfast.

Our room was bright, large with a good view of Dundas St. The beds were VERY comfortable and the bathroom large with pleasant amenities

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baltzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luvsdelta, Guest Services Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott London Armouries, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2008

Dear Baltzan,
Thank you for taking the time to provide the readers of TripAdvisor with your thoughts on our hotel. I'm delighted that Rita was able to provide you with such personalized service and that you found all of our staff to be friendly and accommodating with every interaction. I would like to take a moment to mention that rooms located at the end of the halls in our hotel do offer opening windows for those that like a little fresh air. Feel free to request one of those rooms on your next visit.
Your experience is what we strive to provide every guest of the Delta London Armouries and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best Regards
Pamela Nanni
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2008

We stayed at the Delta Armouries two nights over the weekend and really enjoyed our stay. After being disapointed by other Delta properties, we were quite impressed with this hotel.. The location is very convenient; a short walk to most of the downtown London stuff like the market, richmond row, and the park. The room was really clean, quiet, and we had a nice view from the 15th floor. Alysha, the guest services manager really made you feel welcome and took care of things very efficiently, i.e they didn't leave us any sugar or coffee mate and she had someone bring us up fresh milk for our coffee.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MDL_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luvsdelta, Guest Services Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott London Armouries, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2008

Dear MDL_81,
Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay here at the Delta London Armouries Hotel! Our goal is to exceed all of our guest's expectations and I'm delighted that all of our staff including Alysha, were able to provide you with a high level of comfort and relaxation during your time in London.
We very much look forward to your return in the near future!
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2008

The Delta London Armouries, as the name suggest, was built on the site of a former armouries, and they have preserved some of the elements of this building (such as front).

The staff throughout the hotel is very attentionate. The check-in desk is next to the restaurant which features a lot of open space and is in a great setting. The food in the restaurant is very good (dining, lunch) although I did find the breakfast items to be so-so.

I was in one of the Sig.Club room. Room size is good but as with many Delta hotels or hotels in "secondary" major urban centers investments would be needed to update the decor.

The pool area is also quite impressive and the hotel also has a small gym with basis workout equipment. On my way back from the gym/ppol to my room, I stumbled upon a little gallery that features the story of the armoury - neat!

Up until recently, the Hilton was my first choice in London but the Delta has become relatively more affordable and given my status with Delta, I can usually get a very decent room. Both hotels are fine and I'd say that if you need tp choose between the two, go on price and/or status - the only thing that I found superior at the Hilton is the Gym and their main restaurant - which will be secondary considerations to most guests. Delta features slightly larger rooms (some of them anyway) and not facing the train tracks makes it slightly quieter

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ottwatrvllr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2008

We stayed at this hotel as guests at a wedding taking place on site. We arrived after a very long & hot drive and were immediately welcomed and made to feel at home. We hadn't even checked in yet and felt like we were being spoiled. The staff were friendly and attentive, and the room was absolutely huge, and gorgeous! It was one of the best sleeps I've ever had in my life. The wedding was beautiful, and dinner & reception were amazing. The staff here are such a great asset to this property - the best of the best. I'm looking for reasons to return to London just so we can visit this hotel again!

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Central London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London Ontario
Idlewyld Inn & Spa
#1 of 41 in London
349 reviews
Hotel Metro
#3 of 41 in London
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Hampton Inn by Hilton London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotels by Marriott London Armouries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotels by Marriott London Armouries

Address: 325 Dundas St, London, Ontario N6B 1T9, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > London > Central London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in London
#7 Family Hotel in London
#10 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £89 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Delta Hotels by Marriott London Armouries 4*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delta Hotels by Marriott London Armouries features 246 rooms with luxurious pillow top mattresses, white striped bedding, plush duvet, designer cummerbund and accent pillows. A work desk, complimentary high speed internet and a full range of amenities help to ensure a luxurious and productive stay. For the traveler wishing luxurious comfort, the hotel offers a Signature Club level with upgraded amenities, complimentary continental breakfast, evening hors d'oeuvres in a private lounge. The Delta London Armouries also features several specialty suites located in the historic section of the hotel. Recreation Our recreational facilities are perfect for unwinding after a long day. Enjoy our indoor pool, and whirlpool in a beautiful atrium setting. Dining Enjoy London's Best Sunday Brunch or our Prime Rib Buffet in the Armouries Grille Restaurant. Seasonal specials and a full a la carte menu will ensure an exquisite dining experience. Lounge The Cantata Lounge crowns the top of one of our live atriums in the heart of our historical building. Relax in the comfortable atmosphere with friends, watch the big game or don't miss an episode of your favourite show on our 52in LCD TVs. Meetings Delta London Armouries offers first class facilities in a historical setting with flexible packages and exceptional service to ensure your next event exceeds your expectation. For your convenience the London Convention Centre is within walking distance. Weddings Let us help you plan the perfect wedding. With such a unique venue and personal attention to every detail, the Delta London Armouries Hotel has everything you need in one location. Great Entertainment From London Knights Hockey to Concerts, Live Shows and events at one of the many venues including Budweiser Gardens, Centennial Hall, Western Fair and Grand Theatre are in close proximity to the hotel. We have affordable packages for everything you'll want to see and do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Delta Hotels by Marriott London Armouries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta London Armouries Hotel London
Delta Hotel London
London Delta
Delta Hotels By Marriott London Armouries Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing