We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wrong charges”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown
Ranked #21 of 41 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
st.johns,nl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wrong charges”
Reviewed 6 March 2013

My credit card was charged for a nite stay that didnt happen.Reservation was made and cancelled within 10 minutes but the hotel put charge through anyways.when called the hotel refused to refund and management refused to return calls.I have researched on the internet and it is a common problem.Will not booked with the chain again and will tell all contacts the same

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank jackiewhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaraDonkervoort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
jackiewhi,
I would lke to start by thanking you for taking the time to write up a reveiw about our hotel. It is through first hand experiences that we can make our hotel better.
I am not familiar with the exact incident in which you are talking about but it does sound like you booked an advance deposit reservation which is 100%non refundable. all other reservations money is not taken until check out.
If you would like to talk about this further and perhaps give me more information so that i can look into this i can be reached at 519-661-0233
Thank you

Sara Donkervoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    116
    62
    11
    17
See reviews for
58
71
25
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

I am unable to avail of their facilities as they decided to cancel a reservation made In december 2011 for a stay in mid march 1013 without advising me of this. I called to offer my card for a late arrival and was shocked to find that they had bumped me.
This treatment is unacceptable and their offer of an alternate room in a traditional 'roach motel' was unacceptable too.
I am forced to stay in a location much further from my event as well as at a higher price.
Thank you Holiday Inn Express for giving me one on the jaw.....

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emdee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaraDonkervoort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Emdee1,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience with the hotel.
I am a little taken back that you were able to make a reservation in December of 2011 as our system was not open to book for March 2013 until March 2012 as there is a 364 day limit for reservations.
I understand your frustration with having to locate other accommodations and am happy to hear that you have.
If you would like to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact me at 519-661-0233

Sara Donkervoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

WE stayed here for 2 nights at a weekend. Hotel is pretty basic, rooms were clean and comfortable. No complaints. Free breakfast in the morning is OK. Busy and no seats and very little food left when we got down at 9.30. Wasn't expecting much for a free breakfast though. Hotel is central and close to some nice restaurants.

Room Tip: Away from the elevators/ice machine as these are quite noisy all through the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toronto_0686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaraDonkervoort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Irish86_12,
Thank you for taking the timeto write up a reveiew abuot your recent stay with us.
I would like to apologize for the lack of food that wa in the Breakfast Bar at 9:30 on a weekend. The breakfast area is open until 10am and should be fully stocked until that time. This is definitely something I will be bringing up with the departmental Manager.
Overall i am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that if you are ever in the London area you will stay with us again.
Thank you again for your review.

Sara Donkervoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

I found myself in London for (another) hockey tournament! The team stayed in this hotel as did several other teams in the tournament. It is quite new, so everything was impeccably clean and beds comfortable. The rooms are a touch on the small side, but not a big deal as we were not in the room for long periods of time. Nice to have a fridge and coffee maker in the room. Breakfast served each morning although we did not take advantage of that. Staff was quite accommodating and friendly and although there were several young hockey players staying at the time there was no disruption or noise in the halls - different than many tournaments we've been to before so not sure if that was a function of the building construction or coincidence. Parking underground is rather "tight" so I'd recommend parking upstairs (outside) if you have a large vehicle. Close to restaurants, etc. downtown London...just down from the Armories. No swimming pool / hot tub (which did not matter to us during our stay).

Room Tip: Away from the elevators if possible to avoid the "ping" each time the elevator arrives on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mia-H68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaraDonkervoort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Mia-H68,
Thank you for taking the time to write up a reveiw about your recent stay with us.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and it is fantastic to know that there was no disturbances from the teams.
I hope that if you are ever in the London area again we are your choice for accommodations.
Thank you again and have a great day

Sara Donkervoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canfield Ontario
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

My hubby and I went to London for his company party, they put us up in the Holiday Inn Downtown. The rooms are clean, have a fridge and coffee maker. The location was excellent, close to the Western Fair Grounds where the horse racing and slots are. Lots of parking, there are some underground spots, but we chose to park out back for very easy access to the door. We really enjoyed the hot continental free breakfast, plenty of food, lots of variety. We found the location very accessible to all the major attractions. While your there check out Palasads, it has it all. Check my review out, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brenda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaraDonkervoort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
623brenda,
Thank you for taking the time to write up a review about your recent stay at our hotel.
It is always nice to read positive comments from people.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of some of the things London has to offer.
We look forward to being able to accommodate you again in the future.

Sara Donkervoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Here for a hockey tournament. The location of this hotel is a little scary. It is right downtown and I never realized how bad downtown London is. People from London were like "you're staying where?", so it's a pretty bad neighbourhood, but close to the London Fair rink. The hotel was nice. Front desk staff was friendly and we were provided with a hospitality (meeting)room to cook meals for the team. Housekeeping even cleaned this room for us - there were fresh tablecloths put on each day. The hotel rooms were pretty small, but nice, comfy and very clean. Breakfast was good and was constantly being restocked. Parking is not the best, but you can park underneath which was nice because it was raining. I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momof3hockeyboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaraDonkervoort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
momof3hockeyboys,
Thank you for writing a TripAdvisor review up about your recent stay with our hotel.
I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us at the hotel and would also return.
We look forward to being able to accommodate you again.

Thank you again,
Sara Donkervoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Stayed here for 1 month and the experience was fantastic, highly recommended.

There is a kitchen for you to cook and the breakfast is free with hot pancakes served every morning! Covered parking is also free.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vasudevan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaraDonkervoort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Vasudevan M,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write up a review about your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown.
It is nice that you choose our hotel for your extended stay and I am glad that you enjoyed your time here.
Next time you are in the area I hope that we are lucky enough to accommodate you again.
Thanks again

Sara Donkervoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Central London
Delta Hotels by Marriott London Armouries
Hotel Metro
#5 of 41 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Central London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London Ontario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central London
Residence Inn London Downtown
Central London
StationPark All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown
Address: 374 Dundas St, London, Ontario N6B 1V7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > London
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For your pleasure, our excellent London accommodations offer you free high-speed wireless Internet access and a complimentary hot breakfast. Our hotel amenities also include a fitness centre & a business centre. We hope you will explore our exceptional London hotel deals and rates as you start planning your trip to London, Ontario today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites London Downtown
Holiday Inn Express London
Holiday Inn London
London Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing