We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn London Downtown
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in London
Woodstock, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A good choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

I'm a fan of the Marriott chain and usually choose of of their properties. Such was the case in London Ontario. I've stayed in numerous Residence Inns and this has to be one of the nicest. Functional lobby and breakfast area but the room is the star. Nice layout that looks bigger than it is by the clever use of part wall and furniture placement. Nicely laid out kitchen. Work area very functional. Sitting room looks to windows that let in lots of light.
Sleeping area very nice with good sized bathroom.
You won't go wrong here!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIL2011, Director of Sales at Residence Inn London Downtown, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Dear Mr. Eyeno

I am glad to hear that you had a great stay here at our hotel the last time you were in London, ON! We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    102
    25
    14
    10
See reviews for
112
49
21
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, ON, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

Though I must say that the neighbourhood surrounding the property is slightly run-down, once you are through the doors, all is calm and comfortable. Stayed two nights to visit friends in London and were put in the 11th floor (two from the top) in room 1109 which was one of the corner units (there are, naturally, 4 corner units on each of the floors).
The check-in staff (Cody? Cory) was great after a long drive and was one of the few front-desk employees who called a few minutes later to check that the room was to our liking. I am used to this in Ritz-Carltons and Four Seasons, so it was a nice touch in a Marriott property.
The bed was comfy, the kitchen well-appointed, and the shower strong and hot--all things that I look for in a Residence Inn, or any other hotel/motel.
The breakfast was great both days (though the two skim milk containers I opened were sour one morning) with a good selection of waffles, juices, eggs and some great hashbrown potatoes. A solid and reliable link in the Marriott chain with great staff and a good renovation.

Room Tip: Corner rooms (ending in 07 and 09) are especially nice, though it seemed as if the 08 and 03 rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYUCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

I've been travelling to London, ON two or three times a year for longer than I care to remember to visit family. We've tried just about all of the suites hotels in town, but our default position is now the Residence Inn. (We used to stay at the Station Park but have moved on. Let's just say that the noise from nearby Richmond Street gave proof through the night that Western justly deserves its reputation as a party school.) The RI now fits as comfortably as an old shoe. What you need to understand in staying there is that the building must originally have been designed as a 1970s apartment complex. There is lots of living area, tons of closet space, and a good-sized, well-equipped apartment-style kitchen. So it's great for the longer term stay, and it's extremely popular on winter weekends for groups like hockey teams (who can easily spread out). Even with a surfeit of hockey players, I've never been bothered by human noise - just the AC/heat coming on and turning off! Downtown London is eerily quiet at night, so you may want to drive somewhere to eat. Speaking of eating, the breakfast, of course, comes with the room. It won't get any Michelin stars, but there's enough variety to satisfy. The only real downside is the parking garage ($10) - which has to have the narrowest, most awkward parking spots going. (You pretty much have to use their parking. While there is lots of on-street parking, London doesn't permit overnight parking on its streets. And they ticket aggressively, I once discovered.) But that's a small blemish. This is a well managed place.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vipod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

I travelled to London Ont for business and the residence inn was wonderful. I was on my own and it was almost like a mini vacation. The staff were courteous and friendly, the free hot breakfasts in the mornings were amazing and the room was better than i have been in before. I had a separate bedroom and kitchen. The room was clean and had ALL amenities required and then some. The price was certainly right. Wish i could've stayed longer....

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

I travel 100% for work and stay at Marriotts. This is an older building recently converted and upgraded and was a major success at creating one of the best in the chain.

The room was spacious - well equipped (did not need to ask for things not in the room that should be there) a decent workout room - a high speed internet that was truly equal to what we expect as being high speed - adequate laundry (however expensive - but then it's Canada) - great food fair at the daily breakfast and M-H dinner time. Add to that being located in one of the nicest towns and it equals a place I want to return to in the summer some time for vacation.

Take a close look at this one!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gsmitch13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

I reserved a one bedroom suite for a single night in October 2011. We were upgraded to a two bedroom suite on check-in without asking. The suite was gorgeous. The kitchen and bathrooms were recently renovated. The kitchen was well stocked with dishes, pots and full-sized appliances. Each bedroom, and the livingroom, had a flat screen TV. There is some traffic noise during rush hour from the streets below. I recommend asking for as high a floor as possible.

The suite included breakfast. On the weeknight that we stayed, we were also provided with dinner. It was a simple meal of lasagna, rolls and salad, but it was fine and appreciated after a long drive.

The location is fairly central. We walked to the John Labatt Centre for a concert in about 15 minutes. There are several restaurants within an easy walking distance.

I highly recommend this hotel for short or long stays.

Room Tip: Request a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thirdroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
354 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

We stayed at this Residence Inn twice and both stays were excellent.
The location was perfect. It was easy to find and was within comfortable walking distance to restaurants and amenities in downtown London.
Our two bedroom suite was very well appointed and plenty big for our needs.
There were many choices for the complimentary breakfast including hot and cold selections and good coffee.
Front desk and breakfast room staff were both friendly and professional. A late call to the front desk to complain about noisy neighbours resulted in immediate action.
We didn't have time to use the pool. Maybe next time.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aafia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Central London
Delta Hotels by Marriott London Armouries
Hotel Metro
#4 of 41 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London Ontario
Central London
StationPark All Suite Hotel
Idlewyld Inn & Spa
#1 of 41 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn London Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn London Downtown

Property: Residence Inn London Downtown
Address: 383 Colborne Street, London, Ontario N6B 3P5, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > London > Central London
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in London
#10 Family Hotel in London
#12 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn London Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn London Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn London Downtown Hotel London
London Residence Inn
Residence Inn London Downtown Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing