We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value/convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn London Downtown
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We had a pleasant stay here for three nights. It was comfortable, clean and convenient.
The staff were pleasant and courteous. If you need to be in or near downtown London, this
is the place to stay. The only negative from our point of view was the parking. It can be
difficult finding a space on the hotel entry level. There is a complimentary underground garage
on the premises but it is difficult to park an SUV in those spaces.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fredalynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIL2011, Director of Sales at Residence Inn London Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear Fredalynn,

Thank you for this review, You are absolutely right about our location and the value that we offer our guests here at the Residence Inn by Marriott London Downtown. I will be sure to share with our staff your great comments.

We look forward to serving you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

My son had a baseball tournament in London last weekend, and the coach arranged a group booking here. We had never stayed at a suite hotel before, so we were amazed at the size of the suite -- two bedrooms with queen beds, a full separate kitchen, a sitting area, and three TVs! I found the bed comfortable, although my wife didn't. The suite was lovely and clean, although probably more hotel room than we needed for our small family of three. Despite the palatial proportions, the bathroom only had a stand-up shower and not a bathtub. There was nothing small about the bill, though -- definitely more than we usually like to pay. Be sure to take into account that they charge for parking on top of your room fee. We had to pay an extra $12 a night for the privilege. The service was very friendly. Moments after we arrived in the room, the front desk rang to ask if everything was okay. The included breakfast, unfortunately, was not quite as enjoyable as the room. The scrambled eggs were the somewhat rubbery cafeteria variety, the oatmeal was soupy, and the overall variety adequate, but by no means remarkable. The hotel also does not have a pool, which was definitely a downer for the boys, and something you'd like to have for the price. Guests have access to a YMCA down the road, but certain times are adults only. It was a pleasant stay overall, but I don't think we'd rush back.

Room Tip: Ask for a pet-free floor if you're allergic, like I am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIL2011, Director of Sales at Residence Inn London Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Dear JohnLS,

Thank you for this review, I am sorry to hear that we didn't exceed your expectations during breakfast. Feel free to contact me in the future as I would like to discuss some options for you for next year baseball tournament.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Best value in London for a stylish suite for couples or to share with family or friends. (We stay in London a LOT, so I'm not talking through the top of my hat here.)

We stayed with another couple in a two bedroom suite, which was roomy, nicely decorated, clean and well-stocked with everything we needed and more (full fridge, stove, microwave, dishwasher, dishes/cutlery, coffee, coffee maker, soaps, hair care products, complimentary hard candies... even microwave popcorn). The free Internet access was also a welcomed bonus. We could have comfortably stayed for a week ++

All of the staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and we even received a call several minutes after our check-in to ensure that we were happy with our accommodations.

The beds were super comfortable, and the TWO full baths were well-outfitted. The living area had plenty of seating, space and surface areas and provided us the ability to open a window to let in the outside air. The location of the hotel is only a short walk to downtown stores and restaurants and, in addition to a small in-house area to purchase snacks, a convenience store is located right outside of the entrance.

If you are seeking a hotel with room service or full-service restaurants, this is not the one for you, however, a complimentary hot and cold buffet breakfast is served daily and provides a wide enough variety of food choices that every travelers should be able to find something to their liking no matter what their lifestyle/taste. Fresh hot coffee is provided around the clock. On several evenings per week, including the night we were guests, they also provide a light hot meal during the dinner hour. (Ours was pasta with two choice of sauces and salad. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality.)

A private outdoor patio is also on site and is equipped with a gas grill for those who wish to cook out. Had we had nicer weather, we would have opted to eat our breakfast and/or dinner on the patio as it was a nice looking area.

Normally we stay at the higher-priced hotels one block closer to Wellington (Hilton, Delta), however, following our recent experience at the Residence Inn, we've already decided to switch to this hotel for future stays. Yes, we'll be sacrificing room service and a swimming pool (which we never use anyways), but we definitely won't be sacrificing quality.

Eight thumbs-up from the four of us who stayed!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hawaiimahalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIL2011, Director of Sales at Residence Inn London Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Dear Hawaiimahalo,

From each of our staff we want to thank you for this amazing review. You have summed up most of the things that we offer our guest daily on this review. We are also pleased to hear that you will be back to us the next time you are in London. For you next trip here, if you did want to go swimming, we have passes to the YMCA located behind our hotel. You can have access to their pool, fitness facilities and more.

Once again thank you for this great review and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Stayed for one night - but have stayed here in the past for a longer stay. It is a great place. Very spacious....stayed in a king room this time. Full kitchen, king bed, sofa.....perfect. They serve a hot breakfast in the morning which is good and from mon - Thursday they serve light supper. The night we checked in, it was soul salad and sweets..perfect after a long day when you don't feel like going out.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank cawwac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIL2011, Director of Sales at Residence Inn London Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Dear Cawwac,

Thank you for this great review! You are absolutely right about our food offerings, many of our guest enjoy our daily hot breakfast and light dinners during the week. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

wow what a hotel unreal service breakfast rooms are out of this world like moving into a apt for the weekend close to everything walked to convent gardens picked up great food and must say love this hotel so great service cannot wait to go back there.

Room Tip: had a massage in my room so good very impressed with everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheapytoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIL2011, Director of Sales at Residence Inn London Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Dear Cheapytoday,

I am glad to hear that you had an amazing experience here at our hotel. I am sure that you had just the same experience at Rock the Park. We will see you next summer for the same event.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed here for a couple nights for a weekend trip to London to see a concert at the Budweiser Gardens. Overall this place is great, HUGE rooms, nice kitchen, FULL size coffee pot in your room, full size couch, super comfey beds and a great staff to boot. Location of the hotel is a short walk to restuarants and bars, and about a 15 to 20 minute walk to the Budweiser Gardens. Breakfast is above average, but could have used some more fruit. Only negative you have to pay extra to park, but such is life in any city.

For the size of your room and everything you get in your room it really is an excellent value!! If you are planning a getaway, or overnight trip in London you can't go wrong staying here! With out a doubt would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank starchild101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIL2011, Director of Sales at Residence Inn London Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Dear Starchild101,

I want to thank you for writing such a great review about our hotel on this website. I will share your positive comments with our staff. We look forward to serving you again the next time you are in London for a concert!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

This centrally located Inn has very well appointed rooms that are very comfy, a wee bit of home away from home. The beds are extremely comfortable, helping to provide a good nights rest. Once inside our room we were not disturbed by noises from within the hotel. The kitchenette is reasonably well equipped. The living room chairs and sofa are adequate. The bathroom, though smallish, is functional. A magnifying mirror would be a great addition!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemsays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIL2011, Director of Sales at Residence Inn London Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear Gisele P,

Thank you for this great review! You are right about our beds, we get a lot of guests complimenting on how comfortable they are. We hope to see you again the next time you are back in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Central London
Delta Hotels by Marriott London Armouries
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London Ontario
Hotel Metro
#3 of 41 in London
492 reviews
Idlewyld Inn & Spa
#1 of 41 in London
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn London Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn London Downtown

Address: 383 Colborne Street, London, Ontario N6B 3P5, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > London > Central London
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in London
#9 Family Hotel in London
#12 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £78 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn London Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residence Inn London Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn London Downtown Hotel London
London Residence Inn
Residence Inn London Downtown Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing