We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hannah Georgas”
Review of Aeolian Hall

Aeolian Hall
Ranked #12 of 80 things to do in London
Attraction details
Arva, ON
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Hannah Georgas”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The venue was great. The first time we have been able to take advantage of table seating at front as there were fewer tickets sold for this event.
The sound mix was fantastic. However, the sound levels were too high and there was virtually no relief. Unfortunately, the musicians dictate the levels.
This made for a tiresome and rather unpleasant experience.
The musicians need to pay more respect to their songs and perform them so that the audience can actually hear what the song is saying.
I appreciate loud and aggressive music as much as anyone. However, there was little during the concert to "mix it up".
Definitely, some permanent residual ear damage.
The musicians wear ear pieces so they can hear exactly what they want as well as having some protection from the volume levels. They also are not sitting out in front of the speakers where the highest volume levels are.
Kudus to the sound technician for being able keep the mix balanced and undistorted at such levels.
One of the only concerts I remember being at where I was actually glad when it ended!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    29
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“THE place to go to see a concert.”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This concert venue was originally a church, which is why the acoustics here are top notch. Some of the best performers across Canada have performed here. The all-volunteer staff is warm and welcoming, two of them even recognized me from a previous visit and welcomed me back.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravellerfromtheD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best concert venue in London”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I love this place. Great acts perform there for really low ticket prices. It has amazing acoustics, great architectural environment, intimate with a wonderful little bar.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank sully1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great acoustics!”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I have seen many concerts at this venue and have never been disappointed. The hall is run mainly by volunteers so be patient with the bartenders and relax and enjoy your night. The last time I was there was to see The Powder Blues band and it was awesome! The only complaint I had was that as the venue was full they should have had the upstairs bar open for buying drinks as well as the downstairs one considering the line up.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkhill, ON
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful intimate venue”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The Aeolian Hall makes you think the entertainer is in your living room. Limited number of seats, and generally a chance to meet the entertainer during the break. Many different kinds of music from pop to classical, folk, and more. Recommend getting on their mailing list for fastest notice of upcoming acts. Call about accessibility since hall is on 2nd floor. Believe there is an elevator but never used it. Park on the street. Area looks kind of scary, but concerts don't go too late so it is generally ok.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aeolian Hall also viewed

 
London, Ontario
 

Been to Aeolian Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing