We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attended a few concerts here.”
Review of Aeolian Hall

Aeolian Hall
Ranked #12 of 81 things to do in London
Attraction details
ontario
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Attended a few concerts here.”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

It is a relaxed venue. I like the ability to walk to the bar and carry your drink with you. The sound is not the greatest though the ticket prices are very reasonable. It is not too large and so the sound is not a real problem though it could be better.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank johnpaul1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    29
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Arva, ON
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Royal Wood with Peter Katz”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This was by far the best concert we have attended at the Aeolian Hall. Royal gets better each time.
Peter Katz's opening segment was fantastic and was a perfect match for a Royal Wood concert.
Royal's repertoire gets more extensive and varied over time making the concert a very enjoyable medley of both older favorites and new material.
He loves playing in London and rewarded his fans with a concert that ran almost 3 hours including Peter Katz's opener and some shared selections with Peter.
Royal appeared much more at ease and shared some of the personal times behind some of the music. It was great to see him so relaxed and enjoying life as a performer. The same goes for Peter Katz as well as the backing musicians. It was clear that they were having a great time performing. The music just seemed to flow effortlessly. We had seats about 10 feet from the stage making it an incredibly intimate concert where you could literally experience the music with the musicians.
It was a fantastic Valentine's evening.
We would rate this a "6 out of 5" if we could!!!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce Peninsula, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“SUPERB!”
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

We had our 1st visit to the Aeolian Hall last night to see Malian artist Habib Koite. What a fantastic venue to see acoustic based music! A small hall that sits about 300 people, on the 2nd floor of a 130 year old building on Dundas St. East, close by the Western Fairgrounds. Last night for Habib and his band there were only about 200 people (come on London! What's wrong with you people? We drove 3 hours to see this amazing world renowned artist!!), so the balcony was closed and main floor seating was set up 'cafe' style, which was a pleasant surprise creating a very casual atmosphere. The acoustics? Well, superb. Run mostly by volunteers, they were very inviting and courteous. Will we be back? Without question!

Helpful?
Thank Drudell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ten Mile, Tennessee, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful, comfortable, and welcoming Venue”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Attended a great performance of my old friends of Enter the Haggis. This is a wonderful theater but the staff, volunteers, and new friends made the experience amazing! Cheers and thank you for making this Tennessean feel so welcome!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, England
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Christmas Music Concert”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This is a very old hall in London, now used for a variety of activities connected with the arts. 8 of us went to listen to Christmas Carols presented by 3 students of music at London University. The concert was excellent and the ambience pleasant. Made the mistake of buying a bottle of wine ( as we were seated Cabaret-Style)......at $40 for a bottle of mediocre wine?!!! Do not advise this, folks, stick to water!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tuppenny42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aeolian Hall also viewed

 

Been to Aeolian Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing