We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My heaven on earth”

Ska-Nah-Doht Village and Museum
Ranked #34 of 80 things to do in London
Attraction details
London, Canada
Level Contributor
176 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“My heaven on earth”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

I have been photographing and visiting this lovely place for 25 years. I bring all my visitors from Europe and Canada to this place. The bridge is spectacular in the fall, when you can walk through the treetops. It would be perfect if there was a nice outdoor washroom for the hikers.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    16
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Avondale, Arizona
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Look back into History!”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Explore a wonderful reconstruction of a First Nation Village with longhouses, drying racks, storage areas and lookout areas and much more. I ended up here between school groups so spent a little time imagining what it would be like to live like this. I even know some Iroquois songs and couldn't help but sing them! The museum area in the resource building has some interesting artifacts and information. I didn't visit the hands on area downstairs as there were a few school groups there and it was a bit crowded, but that's ok. There are a few trails to hike (I even saw a fox!) and one could spend a whole day here or just an hour - but a nice piece of history to step back into and enjoy!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank IntlHousesitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Ontario,Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Go Native”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

It is a rare opportunity to witness and experience a true First Nation Village. To actually see and experience far exceeds just reading or seeing photos. One can truly sense the bond with nature that they had.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Stefan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Interesting.”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Recommend waiting until May when all amenities are open. A nice place to walk/learn/explore. We're not really 'birders', but there sure seemed to be lots of them about. Quite nice. The reconstructed village was impressive.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank bellezas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgetown, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Interesting historical site”
Reviewed 21 March 2013

This is a popular place to go for elementary school field trips. There are interesting activities for children to do and the staff seem quite knowledgeable about native Canadian life. All of the activities are outside, so it is wise not to go on cold or rainy days if at all possible.

Helpful?
4 Thank OmaXthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ska-Nah-Doht Village and Museum also viewed

 

Been to Ska-Nah-Doht Village and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing