We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant, Friendly, Budget Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Inn London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn London
Ranked #27 of 41 Hotels in London
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pleasant, Friendly, Budget Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

This is a budget hotel, so we weren't expecting any frills; however, it was a very pleasant experience. The front desk clerk was friendly, helpful, and cheerful. We were allowed a late check-in, the room was clean, and the bed was very comfortable. There wasn't much external noise, although at one point the next room's television could be heard. If you're a light sleeper, wear ear plugs and you'll be fine. Our stay was over a weekend, and there were no loud noises from unruly guests. The microwave, fridge and coffee maker in the room all worked, and the shower was clean and had great water pressure.
The continental breakfast was pretty standard (juice, waffles, toast, muffins, cereal), but the food was fresh. (The hotel also offers a coin-operated washing machine and dryer which came in handy.) The hotel is located right next to the 401, and is a stone's throw from a major road (Wellington) that goes directly into downtown London, so it's easy to get to and from your destination.
Overall, this is a perfect hotel if you're on a budget. We had a fine experience, and I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: No elevator to the second floor so if stairs are a problem, select a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanaToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    93
    105
    39
    50
See reviews for
99
80
38
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Thorold, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

The room was clean and everything was in working order. I found the desk clerks amiable and the free breakfast as expected. With no pool or restaurant this is a basic motel. The bed was comfortable and the tv, minifridge, and microwave all worked fine. I will use this place again if I need to stay in London.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

Nice easily located to highway 401. ( probebly the best thing about this place )
Sober, simple bedroom/ small bath room.
Rooms could be spruced up a bit, decent TV and a straight curtain rod, so you can actual close the curtain would be a start, and a good plug for the tub .
Just a professional friendly reception staff, could make a positive difference .
Fixing up the vending machine on the second floor and cleaning the machine and surrounding area would be something I would recommend as well .

A bit out-dated, with some improvements this place could be so much more .
Like I stated location was great . Anything over $ 50 a night is too much in my opinion

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poplarfirewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

The hotel looks nice from the road... Keep driving!
The front desk clerk was in a terrible mood and looked like he had slept in his outfit (black and green plaid shirt and black jeans). In fact, every time we saw him over the course of our stay he was dressed in the exact same outfit and I don't think he took time to shower even.
The grounds around the hotel were incredibly dirty and the trash cans were overflowing. There were garbage bags piled on the ground all around the cans. The smell was terrible. Our room looked clean from a quick view but the bathroom was dirty and so were the towels. Our garbage can was full when we entered the room and there was food and water bottles as well as other things I'd rather not mention under the beds. These items were not recently left either because there was a nice thick layer of dirt under the beds as well. My son had dropped his toy and I went to get it. After seeing the things under there we left the toy and packed up ourselves. It was the worst place I've ever been.
During our stay our garbage was still not emptied. We tried to empty it ourselves which is how we know that there wasn't a garbage can that was not over flowing anywhere. Our bathroom was never cleaned and even after asking for clean towels, we never received them. We ended up buying some from the nearby mall.
The "breakfast" was not. There was a waffle machine that did not work and some bread. You could have coffee if you brought your own cup as they didn't have anything for you to use for drinking. You also needed to bring your own plate or napkin or whatever as there wasn't anything there and the tables were really dirty and sticky.
I'm a pretty easy going person and have stayed in some interesting places but this was by far the worst place I've ever come across. I'd highly suggest saving yourself the grief and staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HaveYouSeenThis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Days Inn London
Days Inn London
#23 of 41 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Westminster
Quality Suites London
Quality Suites London
#19 of 41 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Ramada London
#21 of 41 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#28 of 41 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Westminster
Hampton Inn by Hilton London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn London

Property: Howard Johnson Inn London
Address: 738 Exeter Rd, London, Ontario N6E 1L4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > London
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 41 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn London 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn London Hotel London
Howard Johnson London
Howard Johnson Hotel London
Howard Johnson Inn London Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing