We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, clean and quiet.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, London South, ON
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Basic, clean and quiet.”
Reviewed 13 June 2011

An entirely standard room that seemed clean. Beds were average. Bathroom seemed a bit dated but clean - although the tile and sink surfaces, though scrubbed, are in need of a deep clean.
Breakfast was pretty typical, perhaps a few more options than a typical continental. They had a decent coffee maker there, and warm food (dry pancakes, scrambled eggs).
Staff was friendly enough and they allowed us to check in early.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Booshymon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    114
    24
    5
    14
See reviews for
168
67
24
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Chose this hotel as best value and location for a business trip with my family. Their free breakfast was adequate and plenty to eat but the same hot fare every morning. The swimming pool was small but indoors and large enough for the kids. BE CAREFUL walking in the pool area! Both my kids fell on the slippery tile floors in the pool room. I also fell carefully walking around the pool. I have never felt such a slippery floor in a swimming pool room. It needs to be retiled before they get sued by an injured guest. make sure you have some swim shoes with good traction!

Room Tip: Found the same rate on all booking websites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MappleOrchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

I tried to get the exercise room opened early and it was a major event. After repeated calls and emails I was told that the room would not be open and that it was a city "by-law". This is the dumbest thing I have ever heard and it is very disturbing that a major hotel chain would loose a business client over it.

Interesting that I have since stayed at another hotel in London and they had no problem opening their exercise room early. Perhaps County Inn should send their people there to learn customer service.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Windsor8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2011

I stayed at the Country Inn & Suites to be close to Victoria Hospital. It is a less than 5 minute walk to the hospital, and is also accessible by transit (Route 6 has a stop 3 minutes from the front door).

Check-in was smooth and fast, and my executive suite was clean, comfortable, and well-supplied. Although my room was close to the main stairway, it was very quiet and I heard no noise from other guests.

The room had a mini-fridge, microwave, and sink - this was convenient for reheating leftover pizza. Breakfast was excellent and comfortable, with a good selection of hot food items and cereal/yogurt/fruit. There was even a wafflemaker. Free newspapers were available for reading, and a large TV kept guests informed of the daily news.

Minor critiques:
- The wireless internet password should be posted somewhere so that I don't need to ask Front Desk. Once connected, service was fast and reliable.
- I woke up once due to the cycling of the heater/furnace (which is user-controlled, so it can be turned off or set to blow all the time to avoid cycling). My stay was also during a large snowstorm, and I could have awoken due to sleet hitting the glass windows.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoCanadaEh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2011

After visiting the London, Ontario area several times over the years and staying in a variety of locations, this hotel takes them all! We tried this location again after reading the many wonderful reviews and we have to agree that this is the best value for your money. The breakfast was outstanding which now includes waffles, eggs, sausage, and potatoes along with the other standard breakfast offerings. Will definitely stay at this location again in the future!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cntrygrl127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owen Sound, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2010

We have stayed at this hotel many times, and it is my favorite hotel in London. It is clean, quiet, and comfortable. The staff are very friendly, the breakfast is everything you need. I sleep better here than at home!

Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Merry85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2010

Apparently a new policy is being implemented so no travellers may stay unless accompanied by an "Adult over 25 years of age" due to partying. This was not described on the website at the time of booking. This was extremely inconvenient. My boyfriend and I were in town for a gem and mineral show (definitely not there to party) and had to scramble to get a hotel after being refused. The check-in staff did not offer to assist in helping us find accomodation elsewhere. I am very disappointed in the service that was offered; the entire experience was very inhospitable. Why not have a policy that involves paying a deposit that is refundable if no partying occurs and only punish those who break the rules? That would be fair and make much more sense. I feel that this is going to cause a loss of business. I definitely would not recommend this hotel because of this policy and the poor service received.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JLD19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hampton Inn by Hilton London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central London
Delta Hotels by Marriott London Armouries
Idlewyld Inn & Spa
#1 of 41 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Westminster
TownePlace Suites London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, London South, ON? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, London South, ON

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, London South, ON
Address: 774 Base Line Rd E, London, Ontario N6C 2R7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > London
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in London
#9 Romantic Hotel in London
#13 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, London South, ON 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, London South, ON reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites London South
Country Inn & Suites London South Hotel London
Country Inn London South
London Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, London South, ON Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing