We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
A ParkView Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 11 London B&B and Inns
Dartmouth, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
Reviewed 1 December 2011

There are a number of things we very much liked about A Parkview B&B

- the location is very good – with a beautiful back yard backing onto a park. Access to downtown London is very easy and quick
- although we didn’t have time to enjoy it the nice sunroom off our room (South bedroom) was nice to have access to
- the drinks, fruit and snacks in the guest lounge were very much appreciated – an very nice touch
- breakfast was certainly excellent – fruit, yoghurt, juice, coffee, eggs, ham and asparagus, all very well prepared and delicious
- the bed was very comfortable, and
- having arrived considerably later then we planned and had indicated, Aileen (who had gone out for the evening) was thoughtful enough to leave a note and number to call her, and pointed us to maps she had printed out to the theatre we were going to that evening, along with a restaurant suggestion – extremely thoughtful and helpful

But then there were a few things, none of which were significant, that tempered our overall assessment

- the house itself is a basic ranch home, with a beautiful addition on the back, but nothing especially memorable,
- although I apologized twice for being late Aileen continued to mention it – once fair enough but the additional times not, particularly after I had taken the initiative to apologize, and
- Aileen emailed us to thank us for our TripAdvisor review, prior to me having written one!

All in all a nice enough B&B, but a number of small things that made it less then excellent.

Room Tip: The South Bedroom has a nice sunporch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank NSMoosehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
20
20
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

The combination of a very peaceful night's sleep and a totally delicious breakfast made for a lovely stay. I'll come back next time I'm in London.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadaKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Located down a quiet street adjacent to a large park and the river, but only a short drive to the city centre. A 10-15 minute walk to the UWO campus. Very comfortable large rooms (ours looked-out onto the lovely garden), and in a very quiet area. Nice little sun room. Very good breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Haven, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We stayed here at the end of a cycling vacation around Niagara, and it was a great way to end our vacation. The room was beautiful and so comfortable, with the nicest sheets and towels of anyplace we stayed. The hostess was very gracious about our much later than anticipated arrival, and suggested a lovely restaraunt down the street for dinner. Breakfast was amazing and we were asked when WE would like it. Other places told us when breakfast was. The fresh fruit and yogurt she served with breakfast was spectacular, and the eggs were amazing. Lucky for me, she shared her secrets for perfectly poached eggs with my husband and we are continuing to enjoy them. We highly recomend this B&B.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger-Deanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

I travelled to London wth my daughter and we decided on staying here for our first experience in a B&B based on the reviews on Tripadvisor. This property was absolutely beautiful. I don't think I have ever seen a more beautiful yard in my life. Their home, and our room was clean, very comfortable and the breakfasts were gourmet delicious. Aileen and Doug are wonderful caring hosts. We will be returning to their beautiful home once again very soon. Fantastic!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank as02122014e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2011

ParkView Bed and Breakfast is impeccable in every way and a deligtful home away from home. The stylish décor throughout the house and the magnificent gardens provide a peaceful and soothing environment for business travellers and holidaymakers alike. Rooms are extemely comfortable and furnished to the tiniest detail. The gourmet breakfasts with generous portions started off our days in London perfectly. Don't miss it!!

Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen154984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2011

My spouse and I have stayed at A Parkview a couple times when visiting London. Aileen and Doug are very warm, welcoming, and accommodating. The rooms are gorgeous, and you won't find a yummier breakfast anywhere in the city. With rates cheaper than hotels, and a much nicer experience, B&B's are the way to travel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkittleMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Idlewyld Inn & Spa
#1 of 41 in London
313 reviews
Central London
Delta Hotels by Marriott London Armouries
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Metro
#8 of 41 in London
453 reviews
Central London
StationPark All Suite Hotel
Central London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London Ontario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A ParkView Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A ParkView Bed & Breakfast

Property: A ParkView Bed & Breakfast
Address: 131 Victoria St, London, Ontario N6A 2B1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Old North London, backing onto Gibbons Park, Parkview is a short walk to UWO/St.Joseph's and University Hospitals. Masonville mall is a few km. away. Walk to trendy Richmond Row - great shopping/theatre/restaurants. Cont/cooked breakfast inc. Guest lounge with TV/microwave/frig., All rooms have queen size beds with either private or en-suite bathrooms. The Garden Suite is a self-contained apartment with full kitchen/private patio. Parkview is pleased to have been reviewed and recommended by Janette Higgins as one of "The Best Places to Bed & Breakfast in Ontario." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
A ParkView Bed & Breakfast London, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing