We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food & Service”
Review of David's Bistro

David's Bistro
Ranked #1 of 1,052 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Central London
New Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food & Service”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Cannot understand the few poor reviews. I have eaten at some of the best restaurants in North America and while David's may not be a 5 star in all respects, my dining experience at David's has always been excellent. Food well prepared and presented. David is very friendly and an excellent host

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gmlamberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    63
    22
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson Valley, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Top notch again.”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Have dined at David's Bistro several times and have never been disappointed with my food, the service or the wine list. My daughter had the chicken which never fails to satisfy her. This visit I had the Nova Scotia scallops and risotto which was fantastic. As a risotto snob who rarely orders it anywhere, the risotto at David's has been good enough to order more than once. Thanks to David and his family for another great dining experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ThrilledEasily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good but over-rated”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

There is a good ambiance.
The attention and food are average.
The appetizer was good. The entrée was a bit too greasy, fatty and the mix of flavors did not offer a good overall taste. The desert was excellent. I had a serious indigestion.
In conclusion, I think this restaurant is good but over-rated.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jgcg2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, ON
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A great informal eatery at a great price.”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

In order to celebrate the retirement of one of our professional colleagues who insisted he wanted no fuss, we decided to try David's Bistro in downtown London, Ontario. We had a small group of 12 people, which they accommodated satisfactorily. This restaurant is not big. being long and narrow, but they managed to fit us in nicely. The menu, while not large was interesting, and they also offered several Prix Fixee selections which change daily. A welcome surprise was the fish selection which did not include the usual salmon for a change. Trout, pickerel,cod and bass were available. Bison steak was on special and I might add was delicious and cooked to perfection. The wine selection, while not huge, was well thought out and offered a good selection to choose from.
The service was superb and ably handled by the boss' wife. The best surprise was the final tab, which was very reasonable indeed. Decor is simple and a bit perhaps dark, but that's the type of place this is. Overall, we were all very staisfied with the experience at David's and all stated that return visits were a certainty. I would highly suggest this fine establishment both to visitors and residents of London.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelLondon_ON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent everytime”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We have been twice in the past month, and we are never disappointed. The food and wine pairings are remarkable. The 'trust me' dinner is a must.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PJBates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed David's Bistro also viewed

London, Ontario
London, Ontario
 

Been to David's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing