We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Bistro food but very crowded and hot”
Review of David's Bistro

David's Bistro
Ranked #1 of 1,062 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central London
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Lovely Bistro food but very crowded and hot”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My wife and I went here for her birthday, with another couple of friends. The staff are friendly and attentive, and the atmosphere is quaint, but the seating was very crowded. Although we had booked the table well in advance, we were way in the back right next to the kitchen exit. It was so hot and stuffy I had to go outside for some air at one point.
The food was delicious though, although it was quote pricy. Koodos for having gluten free beer!
I recommend the veal tenderloin or arctic char, both were delicious.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    66
    22
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Consistently wonderful”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Unpretentious. Cozy. Great value. Unbelievable food with something of appeal to everyone. But leave the kids at home and take your significant other for a special dinner. We often opt for the Prix Fixe special and a nice bottle of wine. And the mark-up isn't outrageous like most places. Reservations have become essential any day of the week since TripAdvisor catapulted this hidden gem to notoriety.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Amazing Food and Service”
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Everything was amazing! Delicious food prepared perfectly- amazing Caesar Salad, chicken entree and chocolate truffle cake. Service was very attentive. I was with many friends and colleagues and everyone enjoy their meal. I highly recommend!

Helpful?
4 Thank JoeMCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“For a fabulous experience, go see David!”
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We love going to David's. He greets you with with warmth and genuinely Thanks you for coming in. The menu options always present a challenge of choosing which one of the many amazing dishes to have tonight.
David himself will make rounds and visit each table to see how your evening is going and make recommendations if you like. We had a wonderful wine, and he told us it isn't available at local stores, but the gave us a note with the wine and vintage along with his supplier's contact information so we could get some for ourselves if we wanted to.
Amazing quality and these personal touches make each visit special in itself

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DSLondonDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario.
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Delightful Experience”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Very cozy setting on Richmond Row close to Theatre London. Limited seating created an intimate feel with warm lighting and very red decor. Warmly greeted and seated with by a friendly host but did wait for our server to begin our experience who apologize and got things started. Varied menu with excellent selection offering something for every taste and a very extensive wine selection, available by bottle or glass. We selected the trout and duck entrees and were not disappointed. I highly recommend the "sticky toffee pudding" if available, it was heavenly!. We will return and have already suggested it family and friends.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank northernersun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed David's Bistro also viewed

 

Been to David's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing