We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, staff were incredibly inviting and polite”

Izakaya SHOGUN Japanese Sushi & Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Very good, staff were incredibly inviting and polite”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We went, not for Sushi but for teriyaki chicken and tempura veggie's. We went because of the reviews on TripAdvisor and we were not disappointed. It was excellent, the food we saw coming out looked incredible, the staff were very pleasant and the place was so clean.

It is located IN the Super8 hotel, so while we have literally driven by it a thousand times, we never took it seriously. Big mistake, it isn't the 'hotel restaurant', its a unique restaurant that happens to rent space in the hotel.

Well DONE!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    28
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent for more than sushi”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This restaurant was not our first choice in reviewing the restaurant options in London. We selected it based on both ratings and proximity to our hotel after a long, tiring drive. We are so glad we did. After examining the menu, we chose to forego our usual choices (sushi, teriyaki) in lieu of some of the more exotic and different entries. We agree with the other reviewers that the butter fish appetizer is excellent. And we went Korean- the Korean short rib bento box and the Korean style spicy seafood soup. I am a big fan of seafood soups in all manners of cuisine- cioppino, bouillabaise, Tom Yum, and so forth- and this was one of the best I ever had. My wife said the tempura in her bento box was the best ever. Add to that attentive, excellent service and good value and one couldn't ask for more.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MDowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Following recommendations on tripadvisor, we walked from our motel to this restaurant with the unassuming exterior decor and found a charming interior and beautifully prepared food served by a charming waiter. We tried Saki mixed drinks with fruit juice and soda--delightful and refreshing with blueberries frozen in the ice cubes. My seafood salad was fantastic; here it is: Sunomono Salad, Shrimp octopus crabmeat cucumber. Following more trip advisor suggestions we shared the Butter Fish Miso Yaki, Grilled butter fish fillet, house soy and miso sauce marinated---another succulent dish, wonderful. Less successful were the Ocean`s 3 Rolls (6 Pieces), Fresh tuna, salmon cooked shrimp, crab meat rolled with fresh cucumber. For dessert we had wonderful mochi (mozzi)-- green tea and red bean ice cream things, with a delicious whipped cream topping. Great meal and one of the least expensive of our trip! Thanks trip advisors for the recommendation!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Peg068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio, Usa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Totally amazing surprise!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

This place is amazing - you would never expect such great sushi in landlocked London, but here it is. We had the butter fish appetizer - really good. My husband had the sashimi boat - the star was the calamari - so delicate and crisp. My sushi was great - particularly loved the salmon. They also have a good selection of saki. Save room for the tempura ice cream. We'll definitely come here again the next time we're in London.

Helpful?
1 Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Reviews are right!”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I wanted to try a new restaurant and stumbled across this one. I read the reviews and thought it can't be as good as they say - it was! Our family of four had amazing service and the best Japanese food! We actually ended up ordering a second round of our meals as our kids loved it so much they ate most of ours. Will definitely be returning!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trippersof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Izakaya SHOGUN Japanese Sushi & Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing