We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our very favourite.”
Review of Cantina Mexicana

Cantina Mexicana
Ranked #1,060 of 1,675 Restaurants in Mississauga
Price range: US$12 - US$16
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Our very favourite.”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We absolutely LOVE this place. Hubby and I came across it about a year ago when we googled Mexican food and opted for this place. Recently, we started a "date night" tradition where we go for rumba lessons and Mexican food afterwards and we wouldn't go anywhere else.

Honestly, I am shocked that I found any bad reviews. And the owner a bully? Oh my gosh, she is the sweetest woman and we have always found her warm and friendly and accommodating. In fact, it's a huge part of the reason we love the place!

I think the problem is that some people don't realize that EVERYTHING there is homemade, including, well, everything! She sometimes has to tell people that they'll have to wait because fresh guacamole doesn't come from a package! Speaking of the guac, it's mind-blowingly good! We have had a few of the vegetarian entrees and they are delicious. Perfect everytime. And the Sangria is so good and served with fresh cut fruit and ice in a glass pitcher.

Honestly, everything we've had has been perfection. And the restaurant itself is so cozy and inviting, it is an experience itself and it feels like being wrapped in a big warm hug. Yes, there's a wait for good food but honestly, we never mind. It's worth it. Just go prepared, set aside some time to really enjoy the experience.

Good food should be savoured anyway and she doesn't seem to mind if you linger over drinks or dessert. I have never felt rushed, nor have we ever had a moment where she was anything but sweet to us. Last night, she cleaned off a larger table for us and insisted that we switch to it so that we would be more comfortable.

Would recommend this restaurant to anyone in a heartbeat and can't wait to go back next week!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cuba422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    18
    3
    6
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It was that BAD!!!I thought I was on the show BEING PUNK'D”
Reviewed 8 January 2013

This place is like a trap with all its exciting bright colours, as your drawn to the place, however once your inside its like being in the song "Hotel California" however the only difference is that your not in a Hotel but your in "HELL MEXICO" so please save your time and money and disappointment. The place was practically empty on a Saturdady night by 8pm so that should say it all.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MOVIEMKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Poor Value Left a Sour Taste”
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We thought we would try this restaurant for a double birthday dinner. We were disappointed. The food was basic, not very spicy and most of all overpriced and not good value for money. You don't mind paying if you get good volume and tasty food, but this was not worth the special trip to Streetsville. Tiny portions and average food left me unsatisfied.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MLY62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Autentica!!”
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Authentic Mexican Tavern. Humble, simple, and tasty Mexican cuisine. Friendly owner. Negative reviews seem written by diners better suited by Taco Bell...
Will be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HamiltonTraveladdict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I DON'T RECOMMEND THIS PLACE.”
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Waitress was rude and had bad manners (owner) food tasteless and expensive not even close to real Mexican food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank reallatin9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cantina Mexicana also viewed

 
Mississauga, Ontario
 
Mississauga, Ontario
Mississauga, Ontario
 

Been to Cantina Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing