We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Le Germain does it again...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alt Hotel - Toronto Airport
Ranked #3 of 60 Hotels in Mississauga
Certificate of Excellence
vancouver
Level Contributor
49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Le Germain does it again...”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

I’ve been fortunate to stay at every one of the properties in the burgeoning Hotel le Germain chain, from Calgary to Quebec.

I was really curious to see how the le Germain aesthetic would translate into the budget sphere.

I have to say the ALT surprised and delighted at every turn. There’s lots of mother chain’s DNA sprinkled throughout— from the high ceilings in the rooms, to the great lighting, to the crispy linens and comfy beds. The palette is grey, black, brown and white, just as you’d expect. Rooms are enormous—especially for the price.

In fact, you’d be hard-pressed to know that this is a budget hotel. Yes, there’s no room service or pool, but they’ve come up with a pretty novel solution: A bar that’s open till 2:00 a.m. (complete with pool table) and food available 24/7.

The food items are good enough, if not spectacular. There are lots of better catering suppliers out there— the hotel would be wise to audition some. But the service at the bar makes you forget the blandness of you meal. The people are friendly to a fault and the whole café area has an awesome vibe. Altogether much more fun than a mini-bar.

I’ll be interested to see how the place holds up-- lack of upkeep can make a cool hotel look dowdy without relentless ongoing attention. A few troubling signs: Both the iron and ironing board in my room were wonky.

I’m hopeful that with the people from le Germain in charge, this nascent chain will continue to exceed expectations. Even with a couple of niggles, it’s by far the best airport option at any price.

Room Tip: There only seem to be two classes of room-- to get a tub and shower, ask for the (marginally) more e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cstaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas L, Manager at Alt Hotel - Toronto Airport, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at the Alt Hotel Toronto Pearson.

I was delighted to hear that you overall enjoyed your stay with us and very pleased to hear that we were able to surprise and delight you at every turn here.

I would also like to thank you for your feedback on our Altcetera Grab & Go eatery, as this is a very new concept for us we value all comments we receive from our guests.

In regards to your comments on the upkeep of our hotel, I couldn't agree with you more in that a lack of upkeep would be a detriment to our vision and goal at Groupe Germain Hospitality. Rest assured I will also have our maintenance team have a look at the Iron and Ironing board in the room you recently stayed in.

Finally I would like to thank you again for sharing your experience with us and I very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Nicolas Lazarou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    368
    61
    21
    9
See reviews for
159
367
116
274
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We were recommended this hotel by airport staff after we were unable to travel to the states that night and couldn't fly until the morning.

Rather than taxi back to Toronto and return again the next day, we were very happy with our decision. The hotel is lovely, very trendy, very friendly and a great lobby area with lots of seating areas plus a bar area with seating and a pool table. There is no restaurant, instead a selection of various meals that the staff then take and heat up for you. They also serve the drinks and whilst I'm sure some people would prefer a restaurant, this suited us perfectly.

Room was small but well laid out, very comfy bed and extremely quiet considering the location. The next morning we took the free airport shuttle to our terminal, all very easy.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaBorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas L, Manager at Alt Hotel - Toronto Airport, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at the Alt Hotel Toronto Pearson.

I was delighted to hear that you overall enjoyed your stay with us on this occasion and that you really enjoyed the style and feel of the property. I am pleased that you were also able to enjoy our Altcetera grab and go eatery and this suited you perfectly.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Nicolas Lazarou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax,Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
238 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

When overnighting at Pearson usually stay at the Sheraton.
Decided to give this a try and glad we did.Viable option for YYZ.
Nice modern quiet rooms.
Friendly and prompt check in.
We do prefer coffee machines in room rather than having to go to lobby to ask for coffee for a charge.Minor gripe and morning free coffee is a must for us.
Until October 2013 I think,the monorail that connects hotel to airport terminals is not operating.This is a bit of a pain as you now have to take a bus.
Would def stay here again but after October .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas L, Manager at Alt Hotel - Toronto Airport, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at the Alt Hotel Toronto Pearson.

I was delighted to hear that you overall enjoyed your stay with us on this occasion, I am sorry that the Link Train is currently closed. This closure is to allow Pearson Airport to complete the connection of the new Metrolinx train which once complete will allow guests who arrive into Pearson Airport to be able to take one train into downtown Toronto.

During the closure of the Link Train as you know there is a shuttle which is being operated by Pearson Airport. The folks at Pearson Airport have assured us of the same frequency on the bus as on the trains and so far the feedback we have received from clients who have used it has been quite positive. I do hope your experience was a positive one as well.

Thank you once again for taking the time to share your feedback with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Nicolas Lazarou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

Just stayed at the Alt hotel at Toronto Pearson Airport. Very nice lobby area with bar and area to buy per-made munches. No restaurant or room service. Very hip seating areas throughout the lobby area. The staff was very pleasant; had very great conversation with the Canadian-Ozzy gentleman. The versatile room we stayed in was like a little loft with 2 queen beds. The bathroom products are great (Fruit & Passion) and in great abundance. My only complaint is that there is no coffee maker in the room but coffee is available 24 hours a day in the lobby. Only other negative is the fact that the monorail to the hotel is closed for renovations until Oct 2013. Would definitely return to this charming hotel.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank tbwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
69 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

After spending seven nights over three visits to the Germain hotel in downtown Toronto, I decided to stay at the ALT at Pearson when passing through with an overnight layover in Toronto.

Logistics: at the end of the monorail line connecting the airport and the remote parking (currently closed for construction but replaced by a bus that leaved every 5 minutes). Hotel: stylish, spectacular service, no nonsense. Quick checkin, modern, loft style room. Impeccably clean. Super bed and sheets, great shower. Great night's sleep. I originally thought that the absence of a restaurant would be a problem: not so: there is a lounge area, full service bar, and a wide selection of perfectly good entrees that you can heat up for a quick meal. Service: universally friendly, engaged, French Canadian. I can't remember having such a solid hotel experience for such a fair price.

Now: about the shares: trust me, this is a hotel company who knows how to do it right. Affordable luxury is exactly right: they deliver all of the things I go to luxury hotels for (sheets, service, decor, comfort) at 1/3 the price. ALT is what the limited service hotels like Hyatt Place (and frankly even full-service brands like W) dreamed of when their concept teams got together.

If I could, I'd invest in Germain: They make the other hotel companies look like they're standing still.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gate95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas L, Manager at Alt Hotel - Toronto Airport, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at the Alt Hotel Toronto Pearson.

I was delighted to hear that you overall enjoyed your stay with us on this occasion and in particular found the service of the staff here to be excellent.

I will be sure to share your comments with the team of the hotel who I am sure will appreciate knowing that their efforts have been recognized and remembered.

Once again thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Nicolas Lazarou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I stayed 2 nights while at a conference nearby. It is a beautiful hotel with a very helpful staff. I am not a fan of the common hotels so I was delighted when I found the ALT. The rooms are furnished in a funky and comfy way and I had a peaceful, enjoyable visit. I will happily stay again when I have the chance. It reminded me of the Drake and that is a good thing : )

Room Tip: This was my first stay so I can't compare rooms. I will say my room was an oasis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas L, Manager at Alt Hotel - Toronto Airport, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at the Alt Hotel Toronto Pearson.

I was delighted to hear that you overall enjoyed your stay with us on this occasion in particular the comfort of our rooms and peaceful ambiance.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Nicolas Lazarou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mississauga hotels
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Gateway Hotel in Toronto International Airport
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Toronto Airport
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites  by Hilton Toronto Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Toronto Airport
Comfort Inn Toronto Airport
#18 of 60 in Mississauga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Airport
0.6 mi away
Hilton Toronto Airport & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alt Hotel - Toronto Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alt Hotel - Toronto Airport

Property: Alt Hotel - Toronto Airport
Address: 6080 Viscount Rd, Mississauga, Ontario L4V 0A1, Canada (Formerly ALT Hotel Toronto Airport)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Mississauga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 60 Hotels in Mississauga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Alt Hotel - Toronto Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being ALTernative means moving in new directionsAre you looking for a trendy and stylish hotel that reinvents the concept of the hotel stay? Look no further - you've found it!ALT is the balance between modernity, a dynamic and colourful ambience, comfort, and well-thought out location.At ALT, eco-responsability means doing away with room service, valets and doormen: ALT focuses on your needs, on the essential things that bring added value to your stay.Our "service light" approach allows us to offer guests a unique rate: the same price, every day, all year round!More than a stop at an airport hotel, ALT Hotel Toronto-Pearson offers ultra comfortable rooms with original and intelligent design.When you choose ALT, you are opting for a hotel with centralized free wireless Internet access and much more!The ALT Hotel banner belongs to Groupe Germain Hospitality, a Canadian family owned company, pioneer of the Hotel-boutique concept, with its headquarters in Quebec City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alt Hotel - Toronto Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing