We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfortunately inconsistent....”

Summit Garden Restaruant
Ranked #123 of 1,661 Restaurants in Mississauga
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
ontario
Level Contributor
79 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Unfortunately inconsistent....”
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I gave Summit Garden full marks n ot so long ago but then we returned and were disappointed. Perhaps partially our fault in that we arrived on a weekend a little later than usual so that by the time we finished the staff were gathered around a couple large tables having their late lunch or early diner. This meant that for about the second half of our dim sum brunch, the carts had gone silent and we had to order a la carte. But the problem was that more than a couple or our dishes had that distinct quality of having been reheated. How do you tell? Well the pasta covering is chewy and just not as appetizing as freshly steamed. Or it is a little dried out and the fillings lack their normal appeal when just prepared and served. Some dim sum restaurants have late dim sum pricing which arguably compensates for the sometimes late quality but Summit has no such policy so you pay full tariff for not so appetizing food! Not our first choice so we have taken to driving a bit further to highway 10 and Eglinton. When we return to Summit, it'll be during the heat of "lunch" time when the carts are dashing about and the food is fresh!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank finicula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    62
    15
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
“Food was unfresh”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We had order shrimp dumpling but was spoiled,.and their dim sum dish size is getting smaller and smaller. My friend told me her family naver back to this restautrant again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wen Xian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
Level Contributor
79 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Reaching the Summit....”
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Well depending on w here you're coming from...take the QEW to Winston Churchill & head north a short distance to Dundas St (Highway 5) & voila, in the NE corner of a fairly nondescript strip mall--Summit. But it's the Chinese (essentially Cantonese)food we are interested in. We think it's a great balancing of atmosphere, service, price and of course pretty authentic Chinese food. Of course there are "fancier", more expensive places and much cheaper--but lower quality--restaurants in the GTA. Dim Sum is wonderful and they push the carts on busy days such as holidays and weekends. A great chance for the neophyte to look before choosing. A wide range of the basic dim sum items and seldom have we felt that anything was left over and reheated. We plan to have dim sum this afternoon!
The regular menu is excellent too. Again a wide range of the standard Cantonese menu and they have some very interesting banquet menus too. There is even a special fixed price offering Monday through Wednesday which is especially appealing for groups of four. Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank finicula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good eats!”
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Dim sum on weekends and holidays are always crowded, despite the sheer size of the establishment. Reservations are recommended, especially for big parties! Food is great, the place is clean, and bright! Dinner prices are on the higher end, but worth it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Envir0ment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Sunday Yum Cha”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Went on a Sunday for Tea and Dim Sum. Place was packed. Didn't have to wait long for a table. Amazing food. We were really happy with what came around. Quite authentic.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elliot B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Summit Garden Restaruant also viewed

 

Been to Summit Garden Restaruant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing