We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lunch at the one in Fonthill Ontario”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Vostra - CLOSED

Casa Vostra
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“lunch at the one in Fonthill Ontario”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

They have 2 locations, and the Fonthill one did not come up on Trip Advisor. We were on our way to Waterlooo from the border via back roads as we were on motorcycles. This was a charming place to stop for lunch. They have best whole grilled calamari served over a salad. Paninis were great too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    8
    5
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Welland, Canada
Level Contributor
174 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Ok Restaraunt”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Food and service were good- nothing outstanding but good. Atmosphere is quite nice. Likely better places to go but not a bad choice either.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Great place and server,”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Love this place. Just came to Niagara last night and my wife and I were recommended by many locals to try this place. We were more then impressed, we are here for 4 days we have been twice and we will repeat. The best in Niagara and our server had the best attitude and service. Stephanie ?!Great girl that gave the best service.
You have to try this place for sure if you visit Niagara.
Cheers and have fun!
Mike (London Ontario)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frizzoguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara on the-Lake, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic Italian, not restaurant chain fodder”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

I am always pleased to find a place other than the MSG infused, over-salted restaurant chain miserable excuses for food. Unfortunately these independent places are becoming less and less available.

This little restaurant has it all. Atmosphere, great authentic Italian food and wonderful service. I'm proud that I support these local food artists that are slowly dieing out. Will be trying the Fonthill location soon.

Peace

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“not authentic food, not worth the hype”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

Our visit (on a weekday) was disappointing. Server was okay, a little strange, but very nice. Calamari fritti were clearly packaged and fried. They were all circles of the same size with the same thickness of breading, no tentacles. My gnocchi were also packaged and the sauce was very average. At least they used fresh basil. My boyfriend's pasta vodka was much better. They served us old, stale bread with dipping sauce. I was disappointed because trip advisor would have you believe that it is a fantastic, authentic restaurant. Not so.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M_vattana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Vostra also viewed

 
Niagara Falls, Ontario
Niagara Falls, Ontario
 
Niagara Falls, Ontario
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing