We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Family Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Cairn Croft Hotel
Ranked #8 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Lansing, Michigan
2 reviews
“Wonderful Family Vacation”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This hotel is very, very clean. Housekeeping staff takes their jobs very seriously. Rooms are very nice and roomy. The most important people that helped us on this trip were the Front Desk staff. A gentleman by the name of David was the best. He was so very friendly and kind. He gave us great directions to the various attractions. We were a group of twelve. And most of us were on a tight budget. He was able to direct us to several places to eat that we could afford. He was very patient with us and especially kind to my husband who loves people and loves to talk to everyone. Even when they are busy at the desk.
If we have the chance to travel that way again we will certainly stay at your hotel again. And recommend it to all who are interested. We had a wonderful vacation to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary Thanks to David.

Room Tip: We had a room in the tower. It was very nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    459
    174
    69
    37
See reviews for
565
399
32
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, United States
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We were checked in by David. He was awesome with handling our crazy family. Always with a smile and a kind word. He gave us great suggestions for meals and directions to the perfect parking for the attractions on Clifton Hill, especially for the fireworks. We would stay at the hotel again, because of the service we received, accommodations and location. McDonalds, Wendy's and Pizza Hut were right next door.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wasaga Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had stayed in The Tower last summer, but a great deal for the Guesthouse section of the hotel this time. We had a great stay, and would highly recommend this section. The room was clean, everything worked, the room also had a microwave and fridge. We liked the sink outside the toilet/shower room. Hotel staff was excellent, and check in and check out was no problem.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We booked this hotel for 2 nights with a group. We have 4 young kids, and it is never easy to find optimal accomodations for our family. I've learned to call a prospective hotel in advance to ensure our lodging arrangement will work. We have come to know that king suites usually work for us; they are typically a separate room with a king bed and a sitting room with a pullout queen-size couch. These rooms are usually big enough to add an inflatable or cots to fit all 6 of us.

I called this BW Cairn Croft in advance. All king suites were booked. I was advised that our other options were a large king "suite" with a sitting area and no separate room, or a double queen room, or purchase 2 separate rooms. (Often separate rooms can be adjoined but hotels usually will not guarantee this.) In an effort to make the trip affordable and to ensure our family could stay together, I opted for a large king room. I was assured that we could make 6 people in a room comfortably work with inflatable beds/ cots.

Upon arrival, the front desk staff told my husband we'd be better off in a room with 2 Queen beds. We're are not fussy people and so agreed to the change.

The room was located in an area that surrounds the pool on the same level as the pool, therefore, it was quite noisy. The size of the room was small. The additional of an inflatable queen or 2 cots would require us to move furniture out of the room, and we would still have to walk on the beds to get to the bathroom. This might be ok if a family is camping, but these were not campground rates. Lastly, the bathroom smelled like mold/ mildew.

At this point we figured we'd just pay for another room and absorb the expense. I'm not sure, but I think the hotel was relatively booked. The manager on duty did what he could to improve our situation by moving us to a "suite" which was 2 rooms separated by a partition. It was not typical of other rooms in that the king bed seemed to be set on an old couch. One of the double beds was the type that folds down from the wall, and the 3rd bed was a pullout couch ith a thin mattress. However, there was ample space for our family of 6 in this room although it was only available for one of the two nights.

After moving rooms and getting settled again, I inquired at the front desk about where to park near the falls in the evening. (The hotel was no where near walking distance unless you'd like to hike.) My 8 year old girls wanted to see the Falls at night. The advice I was given led me to a parking area many blocks from the business district, let alone the overlook area, in an part of Niagara Falls that seemed to be a little sketchy…definitely not a place I was comfortable being with my kids at night. While we got great exercise from walking 5+ blocks to & from, it was not the stroll I had anticipated. We should've worn sneakers instead of sandals.

The manager agreed to let us cancel the 2nd night, and we stayed elsewhere.

The saving grace for this hotel keeping my review at poor instead of terrible is that the onsite manager did what he could to accomodate us, my kids liked the pool area, and the restaurant was tolerable, unless you love overcooked chicken tenders and pancakes with the consistency of glue.

We haven't stayed at Best Western before this, but I always thought of the brand as a relatively safe bet. My impression has changed.

Room Tip: Don't stay near the pool area unless you sleep well with noise & don't have allergies to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcbusymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Plaines, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stay here as a family with 2 young children. The place is far enough away for the Fall to avoid the noise but close enough to drive (5 minutes) or walk (30 minutes) to the Fall. The staff are friendly and the place is clean; the parking is sufficient. The parking is $7/day and I am not convinced the fee is warranted. There is a bank and several fast food places (McD, Arby, etc) which works out well for our need.

The play area and pool are nice and the water is warm. The only complaint is the pool area lack supervision from the hotel staff. We have kids jump into the pool, ran on the poolside, and went into the play area in wet bathing suit. I guess the hotel just put up the sign stating these behaviors are prohibited and let the parent do the supervision.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hwydave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014

One of the best hotels I have stayed in! Adjacent to a wonderful Irish Pub that served excellent food as a bonus! Breakfast was high quality and a great start to the day, extra towels in room were appreciated! Thank you Cairn Croft staff!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Avery and his staff were just great. I am a light sleeper and our room wasn't going to work out. We were offered the choice of two upgrade rooms to choose from, and we ended up enjoying a lovely (quiet!!) corner King suite!! GREAT customer service!

The hotel is a quick drive from the falls area, however after a suggestion about an all-day $2 parking spot a quick walk from the area it was not a problem! There is a $7 parking charge at the hotel (though I believe it was for more than one day) but didn't think it was warranted, given the distance from the hotel to the falls.

The Irish restaurant attached to the hotel is great. Good food, good prices, nice atmosphere, and super-pleasant servers! We ate lunch and breakfast there.

Didn't get to try the atrium and pool area, but it looked really neat! Not sure if I would want to stay in a room that opens up to the atrium (via sliding doors) but can imagine it's fantastic for families!!

Room Tip: Rooms in the tower, and not facing Lundy's Lane (e.g., the back side) will be much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
1.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites - Niagara Falls Centre St. By the Falls
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
1.2 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
1.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
0.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Niagara Falls Fallsview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Cairn Croft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Cairn Croft Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Cairn Croft Hotel
Address: 6400 Lundy's Lane, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 1T6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Niagara Falls
#9 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
#15 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Cairn Croft Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Niagara's most popular resort hotel, located just minutes from the Falls. This charming property features a beautiful indoor courtyard which will make you feel like you are in a tropical paradise. A welcoming indoor pool and two family hot tubs enhance this area. 167 Immaculate guest rooms, various whirlpool and fireplace rooms and suites available. Bourbon Street Bistro is poolside serving selected menu items and beverages. Enjoy the all new Doc Magilligans Restaurant & Irish Pub on site for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Featuring live entertainment four nights a week. McDonald's is on property and many other dining options close by. WEGO Falls shuttle available stops right out front of hotel. Discounted parking for only $10.00/night. Find us on Facebook to stay in the loop! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Cairn Croft Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing