We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another amazing stay!”
Review of The Rex Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Rex Motel
Ranked #1 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Another amazing stay!”
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

This was our 2nd time in two years that we have traveled to Niagara Falls for our anniversary and stayed at the Rex Motel. This is a great family owned motel within a few minutes drive to the falls/Clifton Hill, etc. Great value, super clean, friendly staff... what more could you want? We will include the Rex Motel in our anniversary weekend each year we travel to Canada!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 819deedeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    512
    191
    31
    15
    4
See reviews for
133
451
28
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Spent 2 nights here, very clean, neat and comfortable, and the owners are very gratious and helpful, situated just over a mile from the Falls. park in the IMAX car park for 2 dollars all day, a bargain. Keep in mind this is a budget motel, although No 1 on Trip advisor, excellent value but do not expect big, expensive hotel facilities. Weather was minus four and getting back to our warm, comfortable room was wonderful. One negative is the heating/air conditioning is noisy and I did not get good nights sleep, take ear plugs. A very enjoyable stay, thank you

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aaronp11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wasaga Beach, Ontario
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We spent one night at the Rex and found our hostess to be so welcoming, informed, helpful and made us feel right at home from the moment we arrived. There is great value here. The rooms in this motel are very clean are 'theme' based and decorated as such. We stayed in Provence!! The beds were comfy, linens Excellent, lots of hot water and towels. We found this accommodation a short drive to everything and exceeded our expectations in all ways, We would definitely recommend others to enjoy a stay at the Rex.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LandAirSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We have traveled to Niagara Falls over 20 times over the years. Usually we have stayed in one of the hotels on Fallsview with a room facing the falls. It's beautiful, but very expensive. Is it really worth paying $300+ for a room in which you spend most of the time with your eyes closed!
We decided to change direction and look for a place less expensive. We are very glad we picked The Rex Motel. It was the cheapest room but also the most pleasurable.
The best feature of the Rex by far were the owners. This is a family run motel. We felt as if we were guests in their home. Even their teenage son was helpful. There were even home-made pastries left in our room every day. The rooms were VERY clean. Each room is themed to a different country. We stayed in "France". Nice little touches. The room had a coffee maker, refrigerator and microwave.
The rooms are not large nor luxurious, but more than adequate for a place to sleep.
The motel is 5 minutes from the falls. Parking at the motel is free. FYI--drive to Murray Ave and pay $5 to park at the casino garage to visit the falls. Much cheaper than parking at the NPC lots for $15-20.
In summary, save your money and stay at the Rex Motel. The owners are motivated to provide a nice place to stay with personal service. My future visits to the falls area will include staying at the Rex Motel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RKR10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Just returned from the Rex MOTEL. I normally don't stay at motels but, with the great reviews I couldn't pas up the $63.00 a night rate I found on booking.com. I actually cancelled a previous reservation at a chain hotel that would of cost me $189.00 a night. My wife and I were amazed at how clean our room was, absolutely spotless! The owners were exttreamly friendly, kind and helpful.
Please keep in mind, this is a budget MOTEL. Not a HOTEL. Our king room was adequate, with a comfortable king bed. There was a small fridge, microwave and coffee maker in the room. The rooms are small but has everything one needs, if your looking for a large suite with fancy amenities, go pay 3 times this price. If your looking for a C L E A N comfortable bed to lay your head for the evening, this is a great place to stay.
I read the reviews before we went and took heed. The motel is close to a busy road, and there is a central heating system with ducts that go from room to room, so we brought ear plugs and weren't bothered by noise at all. Since the heating is central, you have no control of the tempature, but we found it very comfortable, and it went down into the 30's at night.
Upon check in, the owner explained that there were no clocks in the rooms, but if we wanted one, she would provided one, as well as an iron and board, if needed.
We returned to our room every evening to find home made pastries, what a nice surprise!
If you don't have your own transportation, this is probably not a good choice, if your going to the falls, the motel is approximately 1.3 miles away.
If you're budget minded and want a spotless place to stay, please consider all of the pluses, and consider some of the negatives and stay at the Rex MOTEL. Again, this is not a fancy spacious chain hotel and doesn't try to pretend to be. Take it for what it is, an affordable, ultra clean, budget motel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EastlakeOpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
102 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

I know that the prices at this hotel may lead one to believe that the quality levels may not be to standard-- this is simply false!! We read reviews and booked with Emilia- she and her family own and operate a top quality, clean and comfortable establishment about ten minutes from the falls. Emi pointed us in the direction of 5 dollar parking and some amazing restaurants that we may have missed- being as we didn't know the place. If you are considering staying anywhere near the falls- I give this place the biggest thumbs up! Rooms have wi-fi, fridge, micro, coffee maker, walk-in showers and the most comfy beds I have ever experienced at a hotel. Definitely check this out!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sleepingbeautyanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Great Value, friendly staff, good location and clean rooms. I did stay two nights and at best could only get warm water for my shower but it didn't spoil my stay and the room was clean and well decorated. We were recommended to go to Mandarin restaurant along the road and I can highly recommend it. If you are travelling from overseas it is unlikely you have seen anything like it, there is also a cinema there too complete with IMAX. The falls are amazing and Niagara on the lake is an absolute must.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markchapman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
1.0 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Sterling Inn & Spa
Sterling Inn & Spa
#2 of 129 in Niagara Falls
1,566 reviews
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
0.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rex Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rex Motel

Property: The Rex Motel
Address: 6247 McLeod Rd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3E9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
#1 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
#1 Best Value Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Rex Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rex Motel in Ontario, Canada is only within a 5-minute drive of the breath taking Niagara Falls, MarineLand and the Niagara Convention and Civic Center. Also it is in a very close distance to most of the city attractions, theatres, restaurants and attractive shops.The Rex Motel is a family managed and operated business and it is open for its guests all year round. Our selection of 15 boutique rooms with individual unique character, fantastic budget rates, convenient location and peaceful surroundings will definitely make your stay a memorable one.The motel is providing its guests with a free Wi-Fi and free on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Rex Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rex Hotel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing