We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it! Rooms with character.”
Review of The Rex Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Rex Motel
Ranked #1 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Hinesburg, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved it! Rooms with character.”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I had read the awesome reviews this motel had before making a reservation. So off we went traveling from Burlington! Vt to South Dakota planning to spend one of the nights in Niagara Falls.

When we got to the border the custom's agent asked where we were staying, when he heard it was the Rex he warned us against it saying it wasn't great and that he neighborhood was not a good one. Needless to say, we got a little nervous.

When we drove up to the Motel our doubts grew. From the exterior it did not look that great, but I wanted to give it a chance since I had read all the reviews.

I was greeted by this really nice lady, very welcoming. I asked to see the room and was pleasantly surprised when it turned out to be everything I had read. I loved it! So we stayed at the Italy room since all of them have a theme. It was spotless and full of great details. Located very close to the happening area. Loved the fact that it had free wi-fi and parking. Planning to stay there on our way back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elsa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    186
    31
    14
    4
See reviews for
131
444
28
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rosedale, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Recently went to Niagara Falls and stayed here for two nights. My husband and I had one room and my friend had another. BOTH WERE IMMACULATE !! They would have both passed the "white glove/white socks" test. Even the vents were pristine. Our shower was amazing-(we stayed in the African themed room and it has a super nice shower). There was WIFI and cable. There was a "towel animal" waiting for us and we had fresh towels/washcloths along w/ shampoo/conditioner/ and lotion everyday. The owner/manager was very helpful in giving us cost effective information on how to experience ALL OF NIAGARA- not just the "falls". All in all, the three of us were very pleased w/ our stay and would highly recommend it to everyone. Plus, it was only about 5 minutes from The Falls... for the price- it's an awesome deal. !!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed at this motel for 4 nights and couldn't have asked for a cleaner and more value-for-money cosy place to have stayed in.

As we arrived late in the day around 6-7pm, the only room with a king sized bed left for the day was Mexico. I was a little disappointed at first as I had my heart set on either the rooms which were Mediterranean or Provence themed, but Mexico was just as cosy. (Check out this motel's website for pictures of all the beautifully-decorated themed rooms - they all look so pretty!). Really glad that we found this through tripadvisor, have to reiterate that the room and toilet were super clean, the bed was so comfy you had to drag yourself up each morning to make sure your trip to Niagara Falls wasn't wasted, and the fridge and cosy table and chairs provided meant you had a place to make your own breakfast each morning or have a takeaway dinner at night if you wanted to. Couldn't hear the central heating system at all (which kept the room warm and cosy by the way even when it was 1 degree celsius outside), and had a good night's sleep each night. An electric kettle was provided very promptly upon request - otherwise the room only has a coffeemaker if you want hot water.

There is also a great pizza place just across the road from the motel - Gambler's Pizza. My husband loved the pizzas there so much we had them 3 nights in a row for dinner. (Here's where the cosy table in the room meant so much to us). The supermart is also just 3-5mins drive away, and the falls about 5-8mins drive.

At around C$60 plus a night, there's no better place to stay around Niagara Falls (you definitely need your own car to get around in though). Lots have reviewed that the rooms are small - we could squeeze two huge luggages in the room, so this worked for us. Will stay here if we are ever back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank firstmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

This was our 2nd time in two years that we have traveled to Niagara Falls for our anniversary and stayed at the Rex Motel. This is a great family owned motel within a few minutes drive to the falls/Clifton Hill, etc. Great value, super clean, friendly staff... what more could you want? We will include the Rex Motel in our anniversary weekend each year we travel to Canada!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 819deedeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Spent 2 nights here, very clean, neat and comfortable, and the owners are very gratious and helpful, situated just over a mile from the Falls. park in the IMAX car park for 2 dollars all day, a bargain. Keep in mind this is a budget motel, although No 1 on Trip advisor, excellent value but do not expect big, expensive hotel facilities. Weather was minus four and getting back to our warm, comfortable room was wonderful. One negative is the heating/air conditioning is noisy and I did not get good nights sleep, take ear plugs. A very enjoyable stay, thank you

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aaronp11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wasaga Beach, Ontario
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We spent one night at the Rex and found our hostess to be so welcoming, informed, helpful and made us feel right at home from the moment we arrived. There is great value here. The rooms in this motel are very clean are 'theme' based and decorated as such. We stayed in Provence!! The beds were comfy, linens Excellent, lots of hot water and towels. We found this accommodation a short drive to everything and exceeded our expectations in all ways, We would definitely recommend others to enjoy a stay at the Rex.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LandAirSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We have traveled to Niagara Falls over 20 times over the years. Usually we have stayed in one of the hotels on Fallsview with a room facing the falls. It's beautiful, but very expensive. Is it really worth paying $300+ for a room in which you spend most of the time with your eyes closed!
We decided to change direction and look for a place less expensive. We are very glad we picked The Rex Motel. It was the cheapest room but also the most pleasurable.
The best feature of the Rex by far were the owners. This is a family run motel. We felt as if we were guests in their home. Even their teenage son was helpful. There were even home-made pastries left in our room every day. The rooms were VERY clean. Each room is themed to a different country. We stayed in "France". Nice little touches. The room had a coffee maker, refrigerator and microwave.
The rooms are not large nor luxurious, but more than adequate for a place to sleep.
The motel is 5 minutes from the falls. Parking at the motel is free. FYI--drive to Murray Ave and pay $5 to park at the casino garage to visit the falls. Much cheaper than parking at the NPC lots for $15-20.
In summary, save your money and stay at the Rex Motel. The owners are motivated to provide a nice place to stay with personal service. My future visits to the falls area will include staying at the Rex Motel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RKR10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
1.0 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Sterling Inn & Spa
Sterling Inn & Spa
#2 of 129 in Niagara Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,545 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
0.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rex Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rex Motel

Property: The Rex Motel
Address: 6247 McLeod Rd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3E9, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
#1 Best Value Hotel in Niagara Falls
#1 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Rex Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rex Motel in Ontario, Canada is only within a 5-minute drive of the breath taking Niagara Falls, MarineLand and the Niagara Convention and Civic Center. Also it is in a very close distance to most of the city attractions, theatres, restaurants and attractive shops.The Rex Motel is a family managed and operated business and it is open for its guests all year round. Our selection of 15 boutique rooms with individual unique character, fantastic budget rates, convenient location and peaceful surroundings will definitely make your stay a memorable one.The motel is providing its guests with a free Wi-Fi and free on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your The Rex Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rex Hotel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing