We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Diamond in the Rough”
Review of The Rex Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Rex Motel
Ranked #1 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Diamond in the Rough”
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I went to Niagara Falls for a night before heading further north to see my family for Christmas. He has never been, I've been there a dozen times so I knew that the winter is Low tourist season and I know hotels are still crazy expensive and charge for parking. Found this little gem here actually. It's a little outside Clifton Hill. They have various themed rooms and don't charge for parking. They
Don't serve breakfast but do provide fridge, microwave and coffee in room. From the outside it looks like a run down motel. The inside rooms are just beautiful. We stayed in the Greek Isle room. We were originally in a queen room, I forget the theme but she upgraded us at no charge to a king size. Very clean. The lady who owns the place was extremely nice. Our room for a weekend night was around $50 CN. It's close to the free parking station to view the falls and you can walk from there (by botanical gardens) all the way to the falls and Clifton Hill. Would go again in a heartbeat. Thank you Rex Motel!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    512
    191
    31
    15
    4
See reviews for
133
451
28
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

By boyfriend and I stayed at the Rex Motel on December 12, 2013, arriving at 2 a.m. I made our reservations 2 days prior, and spoke with the owner Emilia. She is a very sweet woman and owns this lovely bed and breakfast. Because we were arriving so late she had made accomodations for us and left the key in a secure area along with the Wi-Fi password should we have needed it. The room was very cozy and a very nice size for 2 people. It was extremely well kept and very clean. The surrounding area was quiet and needless to say we got an excellent night's rest. Morning check out was at 11:00 a.m., so we packed up our stuff and went to hand in the key. We had the pleasure of meeting Emilia in person- she was VERY helpful, helping guide us with places to go and what to avoid. The drive to the falls was only 15 minutes from the Rex. We stayed in Embassy the following 2 nights (separate reviews are written). Though this Motel does not offer a view of the Falls, it makes up in everything else. The location is only minutes from the Falls and the rest of Ontario. It is extremely affordable, but do not let the price full you. People may think that because it is less pricey that it must not be a good place to stay, but that is absolutely incorrect. This is the whole package- a great price, a great room, and a short distance from everything to see! I would 100% recommend this to anyone visiting Ontario/Niagara Falls.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kristina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in June. The motel is fantastic!! The owners are very friendly and accommodating and went out of their way to assist us with any of our needs including organising a car (advised this was a better option as taxi's can rip you off) to the bus station on our final day. The rooms are all individually themed (we stayed in the Africa room) and was extremely comfortable. It was great to also have free wifi. The only negative factor would be that it is a 30 minute walk (although it very easy, flat and we quite enjoyed it) to the falls however the cheaper price justifies this distance (Hotels near the falls start from about 5 times more). Would highly recommend this motel to anyone visiting Niagara and would definitely stay here again in the future if we were to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlanaVickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinesburg, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I had read the awesome reviews this motel had before making a reservation. So off we went traveling from Burlington! Vt to South Dakota planning to spend one of the nights in Niagara Falls.

When we got to the border the custom's agent asked where we were staying, when he heard it was the Rex he warned us against it saying it wasn't great and that he neighborhood was not a good one. Needless to say, we got a little nervous.

When we drove up to the Motel our doubts grew. From the exterior it did not look that great, but I wanted to give it a chance since I had read all the reviews.

I was greeted by this really nice lady, very welcoming. I asked to see the room and was pleasantly surprised when it turned out to be everything I had read. I loved it! So we stayed at the Italy room since all of them have a theme. It was spotless and full of great details. Located very close to the happening area. Loved the fact that it had free wi-fi and parking. Planning to stay there on our way back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elsa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosedale, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Recently went to Niagara Falls and stayed here for two nights. My husband and I had one room and my friend had another. BOTH WERE IMMACULATE !! They would have both passed the "white glove/white socks" test. Even the vents were pristine. Our shower was amazing-(we stayed in the African themed room and it has a super nice shower). There was WIFI and cable. There was a "towel animal" waiting for us and we had fresh towels/washcloths along w/ shampoo/conditioner/ and lotion everyday. The owner/manager was very helpful in giving us cost effective information on how to experience ALL OF NIAGARA- not just the "falls". All in all, the three of us were very pleased w/ our stay and would highly recommend it to everyone. Plus, it was only about 5 minutes from The Falls... for the price- it's an awesome deal. !!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed at this motel for 4 nights and couldn't have asked for a cleaner and more value-for-money cosy place to have stayed in.

As we arrived late in the day around 6-7pm, the only room with a king sized bed left for the day was Mexico. I was a little disappointed at first as I had my heart set on either the rooms which were Mediterranean or Provence themed, but Mexico was just as cosy. (Check out this motel's website for pictures of all the beautifully-decorated themed rooms - they all look so pretty!). Really glad that we found this through tripadvisor, have to reiterate that the room and toilet were super clean, the bed was so comfy you had to drag yourself up each morning to make sure your trip to Niagara Falls wasn't wasted, and the fridge and cosy table and chairs provided meant you had a place to make your own breakfast each morning or have a takeaway dinner at night if you wanted to. Couldn't hear the central heating system at all (which kept the room warm and cosy by the way even when it was 1 degree celsius outside), and had a good night's sleep each night. An electric kettle was provided very promptly upon request - otherwise the room only has a coffeemaker if you want hot water.

There is also a great pizza place just across the road from the motel - Gambler's Pizza. My husband loved the pizzas there so much we had them 3 nights in a row for dinner. (Here's where the cosy table in the room meant so much to us). The supermart is also just 3-5mins drive away, and the falls about 5-8mins drive.

At around C$60 plus a night, there's no better place to stay around Niagara Falls (you definitely need your own car to get around in though). Lots have reviewed that the rooms are small - we could squeeze two huge luggages in the room, so this worked for us. Will stay here if we are ever back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank firstmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

This was our 2nd time in two years that we have traveled to Niagara Falls for our anniversary and stayed at the Rex Motel. This is a great family owned motel within a few minutes drive to the falls/Clifton Hill, etc. Great value, super clean, friendly staff... what more could you want? We will include the Rex Motel in our anniversary weekend each year we travel to Canada!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 819deedeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
1.0 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Sterling Inn & Spa
Sterling Inn & Spa
#2 of 129 in Niagara Falls
1,566 reviews
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
0.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rex Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rex Motel

Property: The Rex Motel
Address: 6247 McLeod Rd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3E9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Niagara Falls
#1 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
#1 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Rex Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rex Motel in Ontario, Canada is only within a 5-minute drive of the breath taking Niagara Falls, MarineLand and the Niagara Convention and Civic Center. Also it is in a very close distance to most of the city attractions, theatres, restaurants and attractive shops.The Rex Motel is a family managed and operated business and it is open for its guests all year round. Our selection of 15 boutique rooms with individual unique character, fantastic budget rates, convenient location and peaceful surroundings will definitely make your stay a memorable one.The motel is providing its guests with a free Wi-Fi and free on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and HRS so you can book your The Rex Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rex Hotel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing