We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of The Rex Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Rex Motel
Ranked #1 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed in ROMANCE FOR TWO room - very clean. The bed was queen size and very comfortable, which is not so common. The location is good, free on-site parking.The staff is really friendly and helpful. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tatyana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (765)
There are newer reviews for The Rex Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

365 - 371 of 765 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

My boyfriend and I are ardent travelers. He works as ground crew for an airline, and my job for a major US corporation keeps me in hotels about 300 days a year. When we aren't traveling for work, we are traveling for vacation.
When we visited Niagara Falls last weekend, we were looking for a quaint place to stay that was near the Falls and that was also a good value.
I read the trip advisor reviews for The Rex, and we decided to give it a try. I have to say that I fell in love with The Rex!!
When we arrived on Saturday, the owner Emilia took us into 4 different rooms to show us their "nationality" and to let us choose which one we liked best. She and her family have turned these rooms into a little slice of different countries with the decor of the rooms. There was Tuscany, Greece, Caribbean, French and others. The colors and decor were designed to invoke the feelings of the room's theme.
We chose the Greece themed room. The room was painted in pretty, pale turquoise and the bed spread was ocean themed. There were beautiful paintings on the walls depicting Greek life and landscape. The room was sparkling clean! The tub looked like it had never been used. The room had a mini fridge, a microwave and free wifi. The bed was very comfortable and the temperature in the room was perfect.
Emilia gave us fresh hot pastries when we arrived that were delicious!! There was a small mosaic table and charis in the room where we sat and ate our pastries. Emilia was so warm and welcoming! She provided us with a map of the area and gave us parking tips. We felt really at home.
On Sunday, she greeted us as we were leaving, and we met more of her family as they were getting the rooms ready for the afternoon guests.
If you are looking to get away from the cookie cutter chain hotels and to have a unique Niagara experience, stay at The Rex. You won't be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jovigirl30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This wonderful place is a powerful demonstration of how family owner-managers can turn a typical "motel" into something so much more than expected. Creativity, attention to detail, design flare and a lot of very hard work have made this a VERY special and welcoming place. The rooms are lovely, each one designed to reflect a different geographic region. My wife and I stayed in #10, South Africa. Beautifully decorated! The king-size bed was extremely comfortable, and the pillows, bedding and linens were first class. The place is perfectly maintained and the rooms are absolutely, spotlessly, clean. Emilia is a charming, attentive, and fastidious hostess. She treats you like honored guests and maintains the rooms like they were her home.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank arrybay9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Good location. It is an older motel BUT the owner's have really redone it. Each room has a different theme - we stayed in the French room. VERY clean!! The owner is a wealth of info on how and what to do in the area and saved us a lot of time and money with her suggestions - so with the room you get CONCIERGE service! For the money, this was an excellent choice!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jay c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Lets face it Niagara Falls is always overpriced. And unless you want to be down by the "crazy" zone on Lundy Lane by the falls this is a good alternative. It has great value and friendly staff. It does say Central Air which i have no idea as i did not see or hear. Its odd as no control in your room. Rooms are clean and unique. I would say the busy street is a bit annoying but there is always noise in this city. I would stay again when i stay in Niagara :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MrTravel007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Very nice motel, a few minutes from the Fall. I recommend this motel, locally owned and managed on site. Easily accessible, she makes pastry every day and the room is nice, small and quaint. McLeod Road is a busy during the day time but gets quiet at night so you can sleep without worrying with the noise.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

this is a one of a kind hotel! the city is overrun by big chains but this little hotel kept to its roots. Emilia is superfriendly! we instantly felt at home. We even got a home made pastrie. She also gave some tips to view the falls (going down with the car at night) & where to park. The rooms are decorated to feel like Europe. We stayed in number 5 which is a French riviera site. Whe were only their for 1 night but we can definetly recommend the Rex to everyone going to the falls!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Matthias086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
1.0 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Sterling Inn & Spa
Sterling Inn & Spa
#2 of 128 in Niagara Falls
1,618 reviews
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
0.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rex Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rex Motel

Address: 6247 McLeod Rd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3E9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Niagara Falls
#1 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
#1 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range: £36 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Rex Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rex Motel in Ontario, Canada is only within a 5-minute drive of the breath taking Niagara Falls, MarineLand and the Niagara Convention and Civic Center. Also it is in a very close distance to most of the city attractions, theatres, restaurants and attractive shops.The Rex Motel is a family managed and operated business and it is open for its guests all year round. Our selection of 15 boutique rooms with individual unique character, fantastic budget rates, convenient location and peaceful surroundings will definitely make your stay a memorable one.The motel is providing its guests with a free Wi-Fi and free on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Rex Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rex Hotel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing