We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parking lot was horrible”
Review of Glengate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glengate Hotel
Ranked #66 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Reviewed 2 October 2012

The room was nice. The parking lot is very small and there is no room to turn around. It is a good thing that I drive a small car. The underground parking was even worse. It was small and compact. You can not see driving down the driveway to the parking garage.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com
2  Thank Pnolan64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2012

Our room on the whole was fairly clean, however, the windows had not been cleaned for months and the balcony that we had was almost completely blocked by the adjacent building, this meant that we hardly got any daylight in the room. We wouldn't have sat on the balcony anyway as it was dirty, the old owl hanging from the floor above just added to the whole effect. The parking was tight but we managed to find a spot each night and we were glad that we had a car as this hotel is quite a distance on foot from the main attractions. The wifi was a bit temperamental but we managed to get it to work in the end. All in all not a great experience but it was ok if you are happy to 'rough it'.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TLT475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Very good value. Large room, clean, in good shape, quiet, comfortable beds. Extra friendly staff (ask how to get free parking near the falls). Breakfast area more pleasant than many economy motels (no blaring TV), though just the basics (cereal, bread, pastries). Walking distance to many restaurants, possible to walk to falls, but not really close. Area is a little less presentable than Lundy's Lane, but closer to the falls. Parking lot is small (especially for large vehicles) but guests appeared to be using closed restaurant next door for overflow. It won't win any style points (very basic decor) but we would stay here again. Our biggest complaints were minor: AC unit and bathroom fan were noisier than we would prefer.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DT25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

The staff were friendly and courteous on check in/check out, but the place was sub-standard in almost every other way. There were mattresses piled up everywhere outside, the dining area was filthy and swarming with wasps INSIDE. One of the beds looked to be 20 years old and sagged horribly. There were numerous holes in the room's drywall and the bathroom looked like it hadn't been scrubbed in months. There were numerous other signs that management did not have a repairman or cleaning person on staff. I felt like I needed a tetanus shot after staying. Horrible.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Horstradamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The Glengate isn't in the best part of town, and it's a ways to the attractions. That being said, don't let the exterior fool you. The parking lot is tiny, and it looks "iffy" from the outside - but do yourself a favor and check it out. The lobby is immaculate, the staff friendly and helpful, the room was tidy, CLEAN, and neat. It had everything I expected from a hotel at this price level. No, it's not the Sheraton; but you're also not paying Sheraton prices! Definately worth the money. It's at least a 20 minute walk to the Falls, and but it's direct. We stayed one night (the 4th of July) and it was perfect for our needs. I don't understand why some reviewers complain about the fringe benefits, like a continental breakfast not being great - it is what it is. If you want more, there's plenty of places at the Falls that will be bigger, have better breakfast, and will happily drain your wallet. But for $70 or so bucks, it's well worth it!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NH_Scruffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We were two families staying 2 nights 6/23 & 6/24. We had very good experience. Clean,quiet, nice smelling hotel, working A/C in every room, no bed bugs at all!!! Great value for nice size comfortable rooms with complimentary continental breakfast and Wi-Fi. Staff very helpful. Staying at the Glengate was a pleasure while in Niagara Falls. Needs bigger parking lot.

Room Tip: Get Jacuzzi suite in inner part of building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dottie M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

I should have read the TripAdvisor reviews before I booked a night in the Glengate. As others have pointed out, the photos and info on the Glengate website are misleading at best. Our room (king with a balcony) was shabby and dirty. My wife and I both woke with mysterious itches. The breakfast was a joke. Definitely the low point of our visit to Niagara.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrianMcW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Fallsview Cascade
Quality Hotel Fallsview Cascade
#13 of 128 in Niagara Falls
888 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites - Niagara Falls Centre St. By the Falls
2.6 mi away
The Peninsula Inn
The Peninsula Inn
#12 of 128 in Niagara Falls
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Niagara Falls Near Fallsview District
0.1 mi away
Grewal's Inn and Suites
Grewal's Inn and Suites
#24 of 128 in Niagara Falls
39 reviews
2.5 mi away
Villager Lodge Niagara Falls
Villager Lodge Niagara Falls
#48 of 128 in Niagara Falls
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glengate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glengate Hotel

Address: 5534 Stanley Ave | Ontario, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3X2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range: £28 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Glengate Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a distinguished guest of the Glengate Hotel and Suites, immerse yourself in the city that is known as a Honeymoon capital of the world. Just steps away from our famous doors in the heart of Niagara Falls is an exciting mix of activities and attractions that will leave you exhilarated. Within a walking distance to many popular attractions and restaurants in the Fallsview Tourist Area including the Skylon Tower, Imax Theatre, Fallsview Casino, Clifton Hill and of course the Mighty Falls- Horseshoe, American and Bridal Falls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Glengate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glengate Hotel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing