We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing flash but fine place to stay”
Review of Glengate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glengate Hotel
Ranked #71 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“nothing flash but fine place to stay”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

A little rough around the edges but all in all this was a good experience. My friends and I shared a 2 x double bed room and were quite comfortable. Good air con, ok beds, clean bathroom.
Glengate was about a 20 min walk to the falls (about 10 to top of town), but the walk is easy and did us good after pigging out on all the bad food in town.
Breakfast was the normal toast, cereal, muffins etc. The only noticeable annoyance was that the wifi didn't seem to work in our room... I told management so hopefully all is good now.
Good cheap comfortable place if you don't mind a walk!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonnieEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    28
    33
    18
    29
See reviews for
30
58
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Basic room. Large bathroom. Clean, and the staff was friendly. Breakfast is coffee, juices, cereal, and assorted carbs. A good value for the area if you just need a room for a night. There is an outdoor patio area for relaxing. Underground parking for small cars.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank currylaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

We went to this hotel for my sisters birthday, the hotel we usually stay in was completely booked for a wedding. We found this hotel on Expedia and it looked ok from the pictures. We were very surprised when we got there! It was so dirty!! The rooms were very small, and the hotel was run down looking and old! We got a room with a balcony, because I smoke. The balcony was there, but it was surrounded by chicken wire, probably to try and keep people from jumping from being so depressed by staying in this hotel! There was some kind of makeshift pipe on the balcony, making it look like people had been doing drugs there before we got there and housekeeping didn't go into the room to clean it up! We did end up staying, and the morning after sleeping in the bed, I woke up covered in some kind of a rash all over me, except my face! Needless to say, I will never be going there again!

The staff was not helpful! Not outright rude, but not pleasent either. The manager did nothing when I told him that I was very unhappy with my room, saying that I should have looked more into the hotel before coming!

I was not given the mini fridge I requested, nor the microwave. Don't all hotel rooms come with these things nowadays?!? I thought so!!!

The location is also not ideal! It's very far from the excitement that is Clifton hill and all of the tourist attractions! We decided to walk it during the day, it took about 25 minutes!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleLeexo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I stayed over the Canada Day long weekend. The hotel was easy to find from HWY 420. just few mins away. Easy access to and from Hwy 420, no queues to get in or out. I have no problems check-in or check-out. My room had two queen beds and they were comfortable. The room was clean, a big washroom, two people can move around comfortable. No problem with the T.V, you had many choice of channels to view your favourite shows. Breakfast was adequate, whole wheat and white bread, bagels, muffins, and croissants, and you had a choice of juices or coffee/tea. Staff was always replenishing food. There was big patio which you can choose to sit and enjoyed your breakfast. The hotel is about 20 mins away from the falls, it can be daunting to walk back on a hot humid day, but the upside, it is a good exercise after eating ” junk food” . Parking is little tight for bigger vehicle, there is no eating place next to the hotel; you have to walk to Ferry street. So on a rainy day, you can be hold-up in the hotel for a while. If you have kids, it would be wise to walk with snacks.
If you ever go to Casablanca restaurant, please take note of this, if you are planning to use your interac or credit card, please pay careful attention when you are doing your transaction. Do not insert your PIN. Ask the cashier first before you doing anything. From experience, I inserted my PIN and it was shown on the receipt as a tip, which I did not approve. This happens to a number of customers.
At Curry Queen, the included tip on their receipt, do not tip them after paying.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 3rd floor facing the Niagara Falls info. centre. It was quiet. No problem with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lavenderwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Staff was very accomodating...room was clean but needed a little updating. Parking lot was small but was able to park in restaurant beside hotel. Very close to downtown...could not walk it but that was fine.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank w0190551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MICH
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The water pressure in the shower was good. Even the pigeons were afraid to crap all over our balcony like they did the others. Our cracked and broken 5 dollar Walmart reject plastic patio chairs had paint spilled on them and were unsafe for for climbing over the rusty rail to access the parking lot.

In an effort to save money, the parking lot light ( 1 bulb ) was turned off at 11 PM. Apparently the first guest into the breakfast area is responsible for making coffee and getting breakfast out.

Room Tip: Although this place was an absolute dump, there were actually a few facilities that looked worse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murfturf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We were very skeptical about that place, but when we got there we were very amazed. The place is centralized, right in the middle of Niagara falls, the front desk personal was very friendly and informative. The room was right on the second floor and it was spacious and clean. And the breakfast was decent and best of all the rate was excellent, We really are going to recommend that hotel to our family and friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zou123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
1.7 mi away
Super 8 Niagara Falls North
Super 8 Niagara Falls North
#57 of 128 in Niagara Falls
682 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Fallsview Cascade
Quality Hotel Fallsview Cascade
#14 of 128 in Niagara Falls
821 reviews
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Niagara Falls Near Fallsview District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Diplomat Inn
The Diplomat Inn
#77 of 128 in Niagara Falls
340 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clifton Victoria Inn at the Falls
0.3 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#48 of 128 in Niagara Falls
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glengate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glengate Hotel

Property: Glengate Hotel
Address: 5534 Stanley Ave | Ontario, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3X2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Glengate Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a distinguished guest of the Glengate Hotel and Suites, immerse yourself in the city that is known as a Honeymoon capital of the world. Just steps away from our famous doors in the heart of Niagara Falls is an exciting mix of activities and attractions that will leave you exhilarated. Within a walking distance to many popular attractions and restaurants in the Fallsview Tourist Area including the Skylon Tower, Imax Theatre, Fallsview Casino, Clifton Hill and of course the Mighty Falls- Horseshoe, American and Bridal Falls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Glengate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glengate Hotel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing