We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit dated, but nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Niagara Falls - By The Falls
Ranked #23 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Mount Airy, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A bit dated, but nice”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This was not a typical Holiday Inn from my experience. Parking was shared with all of the nearby attractions and a space near the hotel was not guaranteed. The staff was extremely helpful upon check in and during our entire stay. The rooms were nice but depending on where you are in the hotel, the views can be the roofs of adjoining buildings or parking lot. The higher floors would be best. The hotel was clean and nicely furnished. Breakfast was in the attached restaurant and was not included in the room rate although you did get a coupon for a discount. Stay away from the restaurant! If I ever return, will try another hotel.

Room Tip: Ask what you view would be. Some overlook the roof of adjoining buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Showmama1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    399
    183
    52
    45
See reviews for
314
358
22
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This was our first stay at this hotel that is strategically immediately above the falls. Having enjoyed the falls view from our rooms at other hotels, we wanted to see if we can trade the view for much more room and in this case we were pleasantly surprised. It is a very well located and maintained hotel, however with no falls view, just great views nonetheless. You can see a bit of the falls from the patio outside the lobby, or walk 10-20 yards and voilà!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcoPolo41959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Have stayed at holiday inn before without any problems until this time. Upon arriving at hotel, parking was in non secure area and there was even a broken window on a car. After reporting the car we checked into our room and the linens were all dirty, the toilet was not flushed so you can imagine and the lamp flickered when we turned it on. Great fire hazard. After deciding to leave we went to use elevator and it would not stop at proper levels. We told the manager that we wanted a refund but they refused. To make story short we made a big scene and finally got a full refund. Save your time and money, check into a regulated hotel. Carefully read reviews so your experience is a million times better. We only look at the bad reviews to get to the point.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Leahmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick10, Manager at Holiday Inn Niagara Falls - By The Falls, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
We were also shocked when you entered a dirty room. We apologized profusely for this unfortunate incident. Technology is a wonderful thing when it works. Unfortunately in this case the room was marked clean in our system when in fact it was dirty. It was cleaned immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owen Sound, Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I booked one of there rwo night get away packages that included parking, two nights in a two queen bed room, two free (continental) breakfast vouchers for their inhouse restaurant, a free diner (100value) for two at their restaurant and a free dinner for two at the revolving skyline restaurant (150-250value). This package was 189.00 Canadian before HST and resort/hoyel fee.
Parking was located on site and the staff were excellent. They have indoor and outdoor pool. Located across of casino niagara and right at the base of the Imax. Close walk to clifton hill.

Will definately book again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed at the holiday inn by the falls for 2 nights at the beginning of August 2014 with family.

We took a dining package. So 2 nights, dinner at Coco's, dinner at the Skylon (Amazing) and the two breakfast.

The hotel is perfectly located in the middle of fun street and the horse shoe falls.

The rooms are clean and very comfortable. The reception was great. They made us feel very welcomed and answered all our questions. Not all hotels are that friendly :)

They have both, indoor and outdoor pool. Very we'll maintained and have beautiful flowers everywhere.

All around thumbs up !!!!

Room Tip: If you have kids (teens) get a room with a view on the pool. So you can have your kids close by when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tournesol_ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Perfect location, just walk down Murray Hill and you're right at the falls. The hotel has an odd set up and everything looks the same on each floor. My only negative (which is a big one) was that when I went to shower there was a used bar of soap... we had just checked in and no one else had used the bathroom. It was clear the bathroom wasn't thoroughly cleaned. Other than that it was perfect for a day at the falls.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Alana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Niagara Falls - By The Falls, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Alana C,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

We are truly sorry for your stay with us did not live up to your expectations. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you had in the bathroom area. We deeply regret that this aspect has negatively affected your overall experience.

Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. To better assist you on your next stay, please do not hesitate to approach the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Throughout our vacation we stayed in Holiday Inns to maximize our points; this one was the most expensive and the least impressive. The pros: staff were nice, the beds and pillows were comfortable. The place was clean and there was enough free parking, although sometimes a long way away from the door. It had 2 pools, a hot tub and a sauna. We had a room with two queens and a pull-out sofa and it had an extra sink, which is nice for five people getting ready. The staff obviously noted the size of our family and ensured we had enough towels without asking. The cons: dated decor, a serious lack of accessible plugins to recharge devices (a must in the digital age), no microwave and no fridge.  I could only get decent wifi access in the corner of the room near the door. We chose the breakfast option as it seemed like a good deal: an extra twenty and two adults would get the breakfast buffet and then two of our kids could eat free. What they don't tell you: the kids can't have the buffet, they have to order off the kids' menu which has a paltry 3 items on it. The breakfast buffet was unimpressive, and the option to order off the menu for up to $10 instead of the buffet is also unimpressive as the menu is plain and boring and hardly has anything for less than $10. It was a good hotel, but for the price we were paying I expected better than the hotels we stayed at where we paid less and got more. 

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Niagara Falls - By The Falls, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Rob D,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club member and for leaving us a feedback. I am pleased to note your positive feedback about outstanding staff, comfortable bedding and pool facility. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. It seems that we were not able to execute an exemplary hotel stay experience with regard to room amenities and breakfast buffet service. Please accept our sincere apologies for any shortcomings you may have experienced. Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Fallsview Cascade
Quality Hotel Fallsview Cascade
#13 of 129 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Niagara Falls
Courtyard Niagara Falls
#10 of 129 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Niagara Falls Fallsview
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Niagara Falls - By The Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Niagara Falls - By The Falls

Property: Holiday Inn Niagara Falls - By The Falls
Address: 5339 Murray St, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 2J3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Niagara Falls - By The Falls 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn by the Falls. The perfect location to see it all. We are as "close as it gets" to the mighty "FALLS", only one block. The new Fallsview Casino is located directly across the street, the Imax Theatre is behind us, the Skylon Tower is beside us and many sites and attractions are within walking distance. Parking is absolutely free to our guests. Our hotel features spacious guest room with private balconies. We are one of the few hotels with BOTH an indoor pool and outdoor pool. Relax in our whirlpool or sauna. Coco's Terrace Steakhouse and Pizza Bar are located just off our lobby. Steaks cooked to perfection on our wood fired or gas grill. We are famous in Niagara Falls for our Wood Fired Pizza Oven and gourmet pizza's. On our terrace we feature local entertainment nightly. Our location is the centre of all the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Niagara Falls - By The Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Niagara Falls - By The Falls Hotel Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing