We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“as basic as it gets”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge By the Falls
Ranked #90 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Reviewed 5 January 2014

It really can't get any more basic than this. But if you like to be right in the center of the (somewhat tacky) action of Niagara Falls and walking distance to the Falls, and don't mind the outdated, grany-five channel-TV type Motel feeling with really nothing other than friendly staff/reception, this is for you!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge By the Falls
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed here 20 years ago, not much has changed - literally! Hot tub is out of order and covered over permanently closed. This place needs a major update and cleaning. Our toilet didn't flush and as we found out in the morning, the shower didn't work either. When mentioned to the staff at checkout, no apology and not a hint of a discount/compensation was offered. Just a "thanks for letting us know" as if they didn't know the night before when giving us our keys. Thank god we were only booked in there for one night. Never again!

Room Tip: Just don't stay here, stay anywhere else and you will have a great night.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ColinValnion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

If you want to save money and don't mind an older hotel with dated furnishings that is clean this is the spot. I stayed here on points with wife and kids. It is right in the middle of the action on the strip. Free parking and walking was the ticket.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SlickNEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We didn't want to spend more than $200 for a night on a Sat and wanted to be able to walk to the falls and enjoy clifton hill with the kids. This place did that for us. It looks a bit run down but the staff was super nice, the room was a bit dated but had everything you needed. The hotel even has a indoor pool!

The most important thing was that we could walk everywhere and you totally can - you cannot beat the location for this price.

Would we go back?? Yes.... if we were on a budget still :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kellyhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The first thing you notice when you step into the hotel is the smell. The stench is everywhere in the building including your room! Its obvious people have been smoking there. The next thing that I noticed was the room was not properly cleaned. People left their underwear and coke bottles in the room and the staff did not pick it up.
only positives are that its close to clifton hill, the free wifi, and parking.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sonj3345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

We went to niagara last weekend and I always hafta have a balcony, so we decided on the Econolodge, I was surprised how clean and big the rooms were and the 2 ladies at the front desk were fantastic! Had a pleasant stay for a good value, 3 of us and a car was $150! Can't beat that price within walking distance of Clifton hill

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sugarbabez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my family and was pleased. I knew I wasn't staying with a big hotel and I also was not paying the big hotel prices parkjng and tips either. Hotel was a block from clifton hill was warm had a indoor pool and the bathroom was clean. That's what we were looking for . No hassle no fuss We will return.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bigmac1826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel & Suites
Imperial Hotel & Suites
#77 of 128 in Niagara Falls
639 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn - Niagara Falls Clifton Hill Casino
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Lundy's Lane
Comfort Inn Lundy's Lane
#46 of 128 in Niagara Falls
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Universal Inn & Suites
Universal Inn & Suites
#81 of 128 in Niagara Falls
85 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Fallsview Cascade
Quality Hotel Fallsview Cascade
#14 of 128 in Niagara Falls
862 reviews
0.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites - Niagara Falls Centre St. By the Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge By the Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge By the Falls

Address: 5781 Victoria Ave, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3L6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Casino Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range: £41 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge By the Falls 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge By the Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge By The Falls Hotel Niagara Falls
Econolodge Niagara Falls
Econo Lodge Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing