We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, walk to everything, nice rooms and amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sheraton on the Falls
Ranked #7 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I picked this hotel because of the advertized view and the attached indoor water park. We had a great experience here and would definitely go back. We visited both the Canadian and American sides of the falls on this trip; if you can, do visit both, but stay on the Canadian side which is much nicer, cleaner, and better taken care of!

For a view of the falls you have to specifically reserve a falls view room. You pay extra for the view, but we did this and it was worth it because the view was great (you pay even more for a higher floor, which is what we did). Rooms have a mini fridge, sitting area with couch, and a nice bathroom. Ours had a faux fireplace which I kind of wondered about (we were there in June), but we did use it one evening when it was cool and we stayed in our room to watch the fireworks. (More on this later.)

Location is great - right across the Rainbow Bridge from the US, within walking distance to EVERYTHING if you're even a moderately ok walker. In about 20-30 minutes you can walk to all attractions, including the US side of the falls.

The hotel is right next to Queen Victoria Park. You walk through the park to get to most of the Canadian side attractions, which is a very pleasant walk with beautiful views of the falls. Hornblower Cruises (which replaced Maid of the Mist on the Canadian side) is an easy 10 minute walk from the hotel. Table Rock House, right next to Horseshoe Falls (and where you can go on the Journey Behind the Falls) is about a 25 min walk (again, all through the park and very pleasant!).

We planned to walk to the US side, which GoogleMaps walking directions said would take us 20 min (to get to the Maid of the Mist), but it started thunderstorming so we decided to drive. Note that accessing your car at this hotel is kind of annoying if you use the valet parking (which we did). Granted we requested our car at a busy moment, but it took them 25 minutes to bring our car. You also have the choice to self park, which may be a faster option, though we didn't try it. I read that walking across the Rainbow Bridge can actually be faster than driving during busy hours. If you do walk across the bridge note that once you enter the state park on the US side there is a trolley that you can catch at the parking lot to take you to the farther parts of the park.

As mentioned above, we picked this hotel in part because of the attached indoor water park. (I was worried it would rain and/or we'd be bored and not have enough to do for the whole 4 day trip - note that boredom was NOT a problem!) The hotel package I reserved included 3 days at the water park (costs extra, and you can reserve as many or few days at the water park as you want; it's definitely cheaper to reserve it as part of the hotel package than to pay separately for the water park; I priced it out). 3 days was definitely too much, because we were so busy having fun that we only went to the water park on 2 days, but it was great fun! It reminded me a lot of Great Wolf Lodge's water park, but a little smaller (but really just as fun). They have 8 big water slides, a bunch of smaller water slides, a wave pool, an outdoor pool, and lots of squirty water features. All in all there are things that everyone will enjoy, from toddlers through adults. Also they have a snack bar, bar, and changing rooms. Note that they are technically correct that the water park is attached to the hotel, but it's like a maze to get there - you have to walk through an arcade, past a casino, and through the Hard Rock Cafe foyer to get there!

When you buy the water park package as part of your hotel reservation, you get a coupon book that gives you free use of a few of the games in the attached arcade. This was actually good for 2 evenings of fun for us - we got a round of mini glow golf, a bumper car ride, 4D movie ride, one of those shoot-the-aliens-with-a-laser rides, and a couple others. Also attached to this whole (gigantic) complex are restaurants, including the Hard Rock Cafe and Rainforest Cafe.

Note that the hotel itself does have an indoor pool (cute, we looked at it but didn't use it) and an outdoor pool (didn't look at that one), which you can use as a hotel guest (not part of the water park).

On the fireworks: Best spot to watch them is from Queen Victoria Park, about a 5-10 minute walk down from the hotel (not far at all). We enjoyed them immensely on Friday evening from the park. On Sunday evening we decided to watch them from our room, which was fun for the experience of watching fireworks snuggled up on our room's couch and fluffy chairs, but strictly speaking the view was better from the ground in the park (something about the angle made the smoke block some of the light - I don't know if it was just the wind that night or if it's always like that). So, if you're there for only 1 fireworks night, I'd suggest watching them from the park.

Also close to this hotel is the cheesiest and most touristy road I've ever seen, somewhat akin to being on the boardwalk in a touristy beach town, except on a street. It has haunted houses, Ripley's Believe it or Not museums, wax museums, other weird thing museums, miniature golf, a ferris wheel, many ice cream shops, restaurants, bars, souvenir shops, etc etc etc. It's fun for one walk (maybe more than one walk for some!), but it is also quite crowded and, well, kinda cheesy. But definitely a spectacle and an entertaining evening walk.

We also walked to Skylon Tower from the falls and then back to the hotel from there, all pleasant walking and very do-able.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for a visit to the Canadian side of Niagara Falls. If we go back, I would stay here again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
7  Thank cea68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,323 - 3,329 of 7,277 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

I stayed with my 3 teens & my daughter's friend, it was a most pleasant experience. It was a most memorable one in fact. Our night out at the Fallsview Buffett restaurant was the most memorable & a huge "Thank you" to Jessica our server, she made even that more special. She treated my teens, and their Shirley Temples (a memory from a past visit) with such respect.
We look forward to seeing the Falls in the winter.

Room Tip: Fallsview if you can - it's worth it!!! Corner suites ideal for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Beautiful and very large room. Pillows to die for and a free upgrade to a Niagara Falls view. Staff were very helpful and the concierge gave us some very good advise on the area. Right next to all the main attractions and only a stones throw from the falls.

Room Tip: We didn't ask for an upgrade but was given any way. The choice was either on high level or at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Polly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had a lovely view of the falls, fresh air in the room, access to the water park, casino, and several restaurants without having to walk outside, which became important the second day of our stay, due to rain. There was no reasonably priced option for breakfast with the kids, and I am just the kind of gal who doesn't relish spending $80 on breakfast, even if it was better than the Sunday brunch the day before. We enjoyed the fireworks display over the falls from the comfort of our room, without having to brave the crowds and traffic. Yea! The staff was helpful and friendly, offering me nice services and reasonably priced upgrades to ease the hectic nature of high season check-in.

Room Tip: The higher your room, the more unobstructed your view of the Falls. If you plan on doing a lot of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ShellyD862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

If you are coming to Niagara Falls this is the perfect location. Right in front of the Hornblower ferry. This place is super crowded, you will wait 5/10 mins for an elevator. And it will be packed when you get it. Good prices, perfect views, and lots and lots of people to share it with...

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ShelleyMatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

You have to park in a reserved area to check in. The parking attendant said to go park in an available spot. There are about ten parking spots and they were all full. The parking attendant kept on sending us around in circles. We circled three times - no spots to park. Finally someone pulled out of a spot and we pulled in. Then the attendant came over and said we couldn't park there. We said what are we supposed to do? He said go park in an available spot. We said there are no available spots (which he already knew because he is standing in full view of all ten spots). Unbelievable. We finally get inside to register and they can't find our registration. After I provide my confirmation number, they find it. Valet parking is $35 a day (which they HIGHLY recommend because parking is a nightmare, as we had already discovered). It includes free Internet which is worthless because it doesn't work well at all. Expect to wait about ten minutes for an elevator because several of them don't work. Not happy here at all.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank W0wieZ0wie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The Sheraton at the Falls is part of a collection of properties called the Falls Avenue resort. This is great because it means not only can you get an amazing view from your falls view room (recommended) but you can get waterpark tickets and have a selection of fun restaurants to eat. All of the Falls Avenure Resort properties are connected by a walkway for easy getting around.

Our room at the Sheraton was a little bit small for the 5 of us, but when we opened the curtain and welcome the niagara falls view into our room it didn't matter. The view is absolutely amazing and I recommend paying the extra fee to get into a falls view room.

The rooms themselves could use a little tlc. The marble floor was cracked in the bathroom and the wall paper didn't fit correctly, but it was just small things that don't really impact the functionality of the room.

We loved staying at the Sheraton, which is right across the street from American Falls. We will definitely stay there again on future trips.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have private hallways that offer a little more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
1.1 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott on the Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Niagara Falls - Fallsview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton on the Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton on the Falls

Address: 5875 Falls Avenue, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3K7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Niagara Falls
#3 Luxury Hotel in Niagara Falls
#4 Spa Hotel in Niagara Falls
#5 Business Hotel in Niagara Falls
#6 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
#6 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range: £78 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton on the Falls 4*
Number of rooms: 669
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA/CAA 4-Diamond Sheraton on the Falls hotel offers the largest, most luxurious Fallsview accommodations in Niagara Falls, Canada. Located directly across from Niagara Falls and in the heart of the tourist district, the hotel features the best views of the Falls which are showcased by the floor to ceiling windows in all Fallsview rooms & suites. Sheraton is also home to outstanding guest services & amenities which include two new fallsview dining experiences; the 4-Diamond award winning Windows by Jamie Kennedy and the Fallsview Buffet. In addition, the hotel offers the breathtaking new Christienne Fallsview Spa, and indoor connections to the attractions, dining, and entertainment located on the 20 acre Falls Avenue Resort including Casino Niagara, and the Fallsview Indoor Waterpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Travelbag, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton on the Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton On The Falls Hotel Niagara Falls
Sheraton Hotel Niagara Falls
Sheraton Falls
Sheraton Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing