We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay but interior needs revamping”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clifton Victoria Inn at the Falls
Ranked #27 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed here 1 night, 4 families meeting up for a reunion. They were kind enough to give us 4 rooms close to each other. The room was comfortable & clean but very basic for a hotel 'by Hilton'. Elevators were very slow. Parking is ample & free.

There are no restaurants in the hotel & the free buffet breakfast is OK. They also offer complimentary coffee. There are some restaurants within walking distance. We all had dinner & Sandstone & there's a Japanese restaurant opposite.

It's very close to the Fallsview waterpark & you can also get passes for this from the front desk. The kids package was a very nice touch & staff was very nice to all the kids in our group, 9 in total!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosysara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,604)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,086 - 1,092 of 1,604 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2011

Positives:
Good location -- not in the middle of everything so you do have peace and quiet (to a degree).
Good breakfasts in the morning in the lobby
Rooms were very nice, good sized bathroom.
Suites are available so you can have privacy in one room (although the bed will be the smaller of the two)
Free parking
Very good air conditioning
Across from water park if you are interested in that sort of thing; not too far from Clifton Hill amusement area.
The people at the front desk were very very helpful. Free water on the hot days.

Medium criticism:
To get to the rooms was hard -- the layout in our area involved going around several corners and through several doors.
Lobby and elevator was very hot (although it was hotter than normal in Ontario)
The lobby and breakfast area could be very loud because it's a popular hotel with families with small kids. It didn't bother me but it might bother someone else.
If you want to use the pool in the hotel, it is on the small side and it can be crowded.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank readhd59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

This hotel was clean, the staff was so friendly and helpful. When I checked in I was handed a map of the area with discount coupons, etc. The front desk staff were great.

The only drawback to the stay was the lack of outlets in the room. I had to use an outlet in the washroom to charge my cell phone and unplug a lamp in order to plug in my lap top. I have since learned that the front desk has power strips that they will loan, but had no way of knowing about them until filling out the hotel generated review and getting a wonderful response~

Room Tip: If you will need to plug in electronics, ask for a power strip at the desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zephyrmyst69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Good location for Cliffton Hill attractions (tacky!!) and American Falls viewing.

Room reasonably clean although carpet had some stains. If you don't want pool "chatter" until past 10:00 pm, ask for room on other side.

Do your homework for dinner. Some local restaurants are a ripoff! Ex: Perkins across the street charged $3.79 for a coke and $14.00 for a burger and fries!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Artie482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

The parking was good, and it might be a fun place for kids, but other than that I wasn't impressed.
The room was comfortable enough but old, dead light bulbs, dusty, not working clock-radio, curtains that don't block out the morning light (ok, that's a pet peeve).
The included breakfast was gross: no fruit, stale bread, no bagels or anything like that, sunny-D sugar stuff was the orange juice, nothing to eat really, some cold scambled "eggs", no meat. They had make-your-own waffles which I've had at other Mariott's, but it's a different, bad batter here. Even if you did like the food you had to eat in on your lap while waiting for a syrop covered table to come free if you were lucky. I ended up pay for a decent breakfast instead of feeling like a cattle.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
2  Thank funindasun999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We stayed 3 night here and it turned out to be a great location with an easy walk via Clifton Hill to the Maid of the Mist attraction and the People Mover buses so it met our sightseeing requirements very well. There were plenty of restaurants nearby for every taste and budget.

Our room was big, bright, clean and we slept well with the only issue being internet access. Reception told me to try connecting to the attwifi and not hhonors network which fixed this (my laptop already had hhonors as an automatic connection wifi network name from using other Hiltons).

On the Friday breakfast was pleasant and relaxed with papers, coffee/tea, milk, cereals, yoghurt, bread, pastries, some hot breakfast items and waffle makers. On the weekends the breakfast was busier as the hotel was full but we still got a good breakfast. The waffle machines were very popular but we never had to wait more than 2 turns for one to become available.

The rooms were well looked after and the maid asked if we needed anything. Along our corridor was an ice maker and coke machine. There was a 24 hour store next to the hotel for any little essentials.

There is a small splash around pool which was used by lots of people to cool off but lane swimmers will have to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We were pleasantly greeted at the front desk by Francis Canoan, and Jessica kindly accommodated us when we wished to change our room from the first floor to the second floor. We were much happier with the room change. Francis, Jessica and other staff greeted us daily as we left and returned to the hotel and answered any of our questions.
We liked the French Quarter theme in the open atrium/lobby area. We found the breakfast sufficient and convenient for our family. The complimentary breakfast and the indoor pool was very important to us, and were among the primary reasons for selecting the hotel. We liked the convenience of the gift shop next door, the 24/7coffee service, and the short walking distance to the indoor waterpark, Clifton Hill amusements, and the Waterfalls. We felt the room was clean and the beds were comfortable…. All of us got a good night’s sleep.

The only thing missing was a small refrigerator in the room. It would have been nice to keep our drinks cold instead of keeping them on ice, since we were staying for a few days.

Overall, we were very happy with our hotel selection and would recommend this hotel.

Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jonannasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Niagara Falls - Fallsview
0.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites - Niagara Falls Centre St. By the Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Skyline Hotel & Waterpark
Skyline Hotel & Waterpark
#32 of 128 in Niagara Falls
1,538 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Fallsview Cascade
Quality Hotel Fallsview Cascade
#14 of 128 in Niagara Falls
877 reviews
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton Victoria Inn at the Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Victoria Inn at the Falls

Address: 5591 Victoria Ave, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3L4, Canada (Formerly Hampton Inn by Hilton at the Falls)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Niagara Falls
#19 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range: £56 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clifton Victoria Inn at the Falls 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clifton Victoria Inn At The Falls located on the Falls Avenue Resort, is within a block of Niagara Falls and the Clifton Hill tourist district. The hotel also sits directly across from Casino Niagara and the Fallsview Indoor Waterpark. The Clifton Victoria Inn has long been a family favorite thanks to exceptional complimentary services and amenities, such as complimentary hot/cold breakfast buffet, 100% smoke free facilities, free wireless internet access and free on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Clifton Victoria Inn at the Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn By Hilton At The Falls Hotel Niagara Falls
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls
Hampton Inn At The Falls
Niagara Falls Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing