We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clifton Victoria Inn at the Falls
Ranked #27 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Reviewed 18 March 2014

GOOD VALUE & CLEAN
If you're already in Niagara Falls with the family, then the Clifton Victoria Inn (CVI) is pretty good value with parking & breakfast included.

For the price (again basing this on "value"), the rooms are decent, clean (we always pre-check the beds & room before bringing bags in and settling in) and comfy. The included breakfast buffet is the kicker that makes it worthwhile, but trust me: GO EARLY! On a weekend that area of tables will fill up quickly...and there's likely a lineup for the make-your-own waffles (a real hit with kids).

HISTORY
The main part of the hotel is fairly old, especially noted by the elevators, but then it's been added on to with a secondary wing and a large covered atrium that makes for a nice interior to look onto. In the atrium is the small pool, breakfast buffet dining area, and the reception, so it gives a bit of outdoor feel for the indoors during the winter - a nice touch, but makes for chlorine smell throughout. It's not a high-end place, but is good for the buck.

STAFF
Generally, the staff were quite good, but found the woman in charge at the front desk to be a bit abrupt with us...and, quite annoyingly, did so while smiling. We found it quite rude, as she was obviously smiling in a forced way while essentially giving us the message to move along and don't bother her. The others at the front desk appeared bewildered by the behaviour of their "boss", but also appeared green (aka new). Maybe she had had a bad day, or maybe she's simply not suited to the service industry.
As we were ready to depart, an automatic e-mail was sent by the CVI manager thanking us for our stay, and announcing that the property was to fall under the Marriott brand. That little nugget made for our conclusion that the front desk manager-du-jour was definitely NOT consistent with the Marriott brand. Hopefully she either shapes up or is shipped out.

CONCLUSION
We would return for another family trip....but definitely arrive early for breakfast!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank my-itinerary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,610)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

587 - 593 of 1,611 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

TERRIBLE customer service.
The front desk staff during our stay was extremely rude.
I wrote an email to the manager complaining about that person but I did not get a response back.
I would not recommend this hotel AT ALL.
I would rate below 0 if I could

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Unimportant_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at this hotel and enjoyed it. Although it is dated it is kept clean. The beds were very comfortable. They will be renovating and updating in the near future. It is located close to all the attractions, Clifton Hill, Fallsview Indoor Water Park and a short drive to the Falls. The friendly staff were ready & willing to help if you needed anything. Very good family destination. Looking forward to seeing the new upcoming renovations.

Room Tip: We enjoy the family rooms they have 2 separate rooms so we don't need to go to bed when the kids...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tinanater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We've stayed @ a lot of hotel rooms in Niagara but nothing beats the Clifton Victoria for friendly service. We stayed over the valentines day weekend which is a busy weekend in Niagara and enjoyed our stay very much! Our son got married so a few of the wedding party were also @ the hotel. A great place to stay with lots going on within easy walking distance!

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the street to catch all the action!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank william w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

As stated in other reviews the property is dated, showing signs of age and extensive renovations are required. Pictures posted online are accurate. Breakfast buffet is standard and very convenient when travelling with children. Staff did a great job restocking items during sold out period. Parking lot is located in back lot of hotel and luggage carts available. Convenient location to all attractions and Clifton Hill. The highlight of this hotel is the staff. Everyone from housekeeping, breakfast attendants, reception and managers are all excellent and friendly.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise, ask for a room that does not face courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bestfamilyadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I have been coming to Niagara Falls with my family for the past seven years and we have stayed in most of the hotels from Embassy Suites to Four Points by Sheraton so I consider myself an expert. Clifton Victoria is one if the best. We came for our sons birthday (we made a note of this on the reservation) up on check in our son was greeted with a happy birthday and a room upgrade! The rooms need a little updating. We found them a little dark. Beds were comfy, linens were clean, the bathroom was clean but the shower curtain has holes in it and needs to be changed. Yes the lobby smells like chlorine because the pool is on the main floor. The breakfast buffet is great. Make your own waffles, a selection of breads/bagels/muffins and yogurt along with eggs and sausages. I wish they had home
fries. Clifton Victoria is located a block away from Clifton Hill. The water park is directly across the street. There are many restaurant choices with in
walking distance of the hotel. The staff here is exceptionally nice and makes your stay even better.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brigitta5420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The service at this hotel was wonderful the staff always had smiles on their faces and were always able to answer all of my questions. I was very happy when I had forgotten something I was able to go down to the front desk and they had it on hand for me. I was willing to pay for the item but they lady just smiled and said that was okay. We never had any issues with the breakfast except for the Saturday morning looking for a table as there was another room with tables but it was closed so we had to stand around waiting for one to be free. That was the only problem about breakfast. They had a pool but because we were really only there for the waterpark we never used it. This hotel is every close to the main street and everything is within walking distance which made driving not a problem. I didn't see any activities for the kids inside the hotel. Overall it was a good time by all.

Room Tip: As for our room it was just an average room...DOWNFALL...no fridge in the room. We were on the fourt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Niagara Falls - Fallsview
0.1 mi away
Skyline Hotel & Waterpark
Skyline Hotel & Waterpark
#35 of 128 in Niagara Falls
1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Fallsview Cascade
Quality Hotel Fallsview Cascade
#15 of 128 in Niagara Falls
883 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites - Niagara Falls Centre St. By the Falls
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton Victoria Inn at the Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Victoria Inn at the Falls

Address: 5591 Victoria Ave, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3L4, Canada (Formerly Hampton Inn by Hilton at the Falls)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Niagara Falls
#19 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range: £52 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clifton Victoria Inn at the Falls 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clifton Victoria Inn At The Falls located on the Falls Avenue Resort, is within a block of Niagara Falls and the Clifton Hill tourist district. The hotel also sits directly across from Casino Niagara and the Fallsview Indoor Waterpark. The Clifton Victoria Inn has long been a family favorite thanks to exceptional complimentary services and amenities, such as complimentary hot/cold breakfast buffet, 100% smoke free facilities, free wireless internet access and free on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clifton Victoria Inn at the Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn By Hilton At The Falls Hotel Niagara Falls
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls
Hampton Inn At The Falls
Niagara Falls Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing