We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clifton Victoria Inn at the Falls
Ranked #23 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We booked here as part of a WagJag deal including Waterpark passes, among other discounts. We felt we got a great deal. Our room, while true the furniture has some obvious wear, was very clean and comfortable. The cable was not good in our room, very "fuzzy" but it was late already and we didnt think to mention it (sorry to whoever got our room next!)We found it very quiet-never heard people moving up the hall, or noisy neighbors or street noise. Friendly, helpful staff. The french quarter theme was very nice, and creative since there is no view from the exterior;) We did not use the pool but it looked clean. Breakfast was quite a nice variety-kids loved making their own waffles. Very crowded and no fresh fruit left, but the bagels were very fresh and it was otherwise well stocked. Quick walk to the Waterpark, Clifton Hill, and the Falls, and just far enough away from all that so the noise, parking and crowds are not too bad at all:) Great value, we will stay here again next time!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luluau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    615
    493
    252
    110
    52
See reviews for
811
420
27
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I was part of a group of 50 visiting Niagara Falls in early August 2014. This hotel was part of the vacation package and was chosen by the tour operator. I would have stayed elsewhere if I had had the choice. Pros : indoor pool, free breakfast, hotel within walking distance of attractions, cleanliness of rooms. Cons: dated facilities, chemical smell within the hotel hallways and breakfast area. The carpet in my room was very worn and had bumps in it. My foot caught in it and I tripped, twisting my ankle. Also, the smell of chlorine or whatever chemical product it was as I checked in and each time I walked in the hallways was hard to endure. As the pool and breakfast area are located next to each other in the center of the hotel in a large atrium-solarium structure, it is not very appetizing to eat breakfast while smelling chlorine. The buffet breakfast itself was fairly good and offered variety. The air conditioning was set too low and made the whole section very cold. The breakfast area opened at 7 AM while our buses were leaving at 7:30 AM. It should be opened earlier to allow people more time to eat and check out. We were over 100 people (two busloads) fighting for a space to seat and eat.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Translatortravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bellmore, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Our family of four had a very comfortable stay at The Clifton Victoria. We stayed in a two room suite which was worth the extra $20. The location was convenient and the free parking a big plus in the falls area. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was okay, the eggs were a disappointment. We went out for breakfast one morning for a basic breakfast and it cost our family of four $60. So having breakfast included does save families money. My kids really enjoyed the water park.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flashmom10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hartford, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

As other reviews had said, the place is clean, friendly but horribly dated. We were expecting it, so no shock. It was a step back into the 80s at least. That being said, there is nothing at all wrong with the hotel. It was a super value close to the Falls. Service was great. Rooms were big. We had reserved a suite, but there was a water leak, so we got a regular room and they gave us a very big discount. We did not try the breakfast as it seemed like it would be very crowded based on other reviews.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaFromNewHartford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and i loved the location of this hotel, it was a 1 min walk from the casino. 3 minutes from clifton hill and about 5 minutes from the falls, we have stayed on the newer side before but this was better for us, rooms were clean, we were upgraded to a bigger room and staff was extremely friendly. The free breakfast was good, and also parking was free. We didn't have one issue with this hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

It was tough to find a place on Canadian side near the Falls that didn't charge for everything; most hotels charged in some combination for parking, wifi access and/or breakfast. This hotel had ALL three for FREE.
The parking lot is behind the building...very safe. The wifi worked just fine. The breakfast was just fine as well....make your own waffles, bagels, pastries, yogurt, fruit, cereal, oatmeal, eggs and sausage, coffee, tea, milk, juice, etc....something for everyone.
The location for us was perfect...just a short walk to the Falls, cutting through the museums, fun houses and such. Would be a stretch for an elderly to handle but very easy for children and adults. It was only a minute further walk than the more expensive Sheratons and such, so why pay extra?
As for the hotel, the staff was very helpful. The elevators were a bit slow but big deal, take a breath and enjoy our vacation. The rooms were clean and had plenty of space. Not the Ritz but not motel....just clean bed and bath...even had fireplace in our room!
If you're looking to avoid all the charges of other hotels and still be near the Falls, this is it. You can't see the Falls from hotel, but in a ten minute walk, you are there.

Room Tip: I suppose if you need to be in a hurry, avoid higher rooms due to slow elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiant78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Bottom line, we should have stayed at the Sheraton or Crowne Plaza in Niagara Falls, although I will probably never stay at another Crowne Plaza (owned by IHG) again. This hotel used to be a Hampton Inn. That was our first clue when we arrived telling us this could be a potential disaster.

First of all, places like the water park and other attractions aren't as accessible as they claim. I'm not averse to walking, but you do have to walk about a quarter mile to get to the elevators in the casino parking lot just to get to the water park. It's even farther to get to the falls and other attractions on Clifton Hill.

Second, we were promised a courtyard view and a room with a microwave and refrigerator. We didn't get that. We were on a first floor room that faced the street.

Third, when we told the staff about our room, they said all the "family" rooms (with microwave and fridge) were booked. So why did they offer us that type of room at the time we booked???

Fourth, the showers are gross! The tub is very thin and the nasty shower curtain gets sucked into the shower and sticks to you. You have to do the Heisman pose just to keep it off of you!

At checkout I was asked how my stay was. I responded by mentioning all the issues I had (mentioned above). I got a blank stare from the woman at the front desk for about 5 seconds. Then she asked if the hotel should bill the credit card I booked with, or another card. Seriously!!!??? Why don't people in customer service roles have any soft skills anymore???!!!

Finally, the difference between the clientele at the Clifton Victoria and the Sheraton is like Walmart vs. Macy's. I think other travelers will know where I'm going with that comment. I'm sorry if it offends some, but for the travelers out there who are hotel snobs (and I know there are many), you know what I'm talking about! For those of you looking for a more upscale hotel experience, better accessibility to the attactions, water park, etc., you should stay at the Sheraton or Crowne Plaza.

The only reason I didn't give 1 star is that the complimentary breakfast buffet wasn't bad. When we come back to the falls, we'll be staying somewhere else for sure.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Meeechigan_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.1 mi away
Skyline Hotel & Waterpark
Skyline Hotel & Waterpark
#30 of 129 in Niagara Falls
1,490 reviews
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Niagara Falls - Fallsview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Fallsview Cascade
Quality Hotel Fallsview Cascade
#14 of 129 in Niagara Falls
801 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites - Niagara Falls Centre St. By the Falls
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton Victoria Inn at the Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Victoria Inn at the Falls

Property: Clifton Victoria Inn at the Falls
Address: 5591 Victoria Ave, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3L4, Canada (Formerly Hampton Inn by Hilton at the Falls)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Niagara Falls
#19 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clifton Victoria Inn at the Falls 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clifton Victoria Inn At The Falls located on the Falls Avenue Resort, is within a block of Niagara Falls and the Clifton Hill tourist district. The hotel also sits directly across from Casino Niagara and the Fallsview Indoor Waterpark. The Clifton Victoria Inn has long been a family favorite thanks to exceptional complimentary services and amenities, such as complimentary hot/cold breakfast buffet, 100% smoke free facilities, free wireless internet access and free on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Clifton Victoria Inn at the Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn By Hilton At The Falls Hotel Niagara Falls
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls
Hampton Inn At The Falls
Niagara Falls Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing