We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Howard Johnson”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls
Ranked #20 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
GreenLeadersBronze level
Harrow, Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Howard Johnson”
Reviewed 15 January 2008

We had a great time during our stay in January 2008. The staff was very courteous and helpful. The room was awesome with a heart-shaped whirlpool in it. We loved every minute and will return in the future.

Colleen Coil Harrow, ON

  • Liked — The cleanliness of the room and courteous staff, also the closeness to the Falls.
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank colleencoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    895
    505
    135
    167
See reviews for
1,009
966
34
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2008

We stayed for a two night package with our shih tzu and it was wonderful. The second floor of the hotel is for pets and people and the room was great, we had the king size room. The housekeeping staff on the second floor were wonderful, they folded our towels into swans (something I have only seen on cruise ships) and very friendly and accomodating. Only a couple of hotels allow pets in Niagara Falls, and we go frequently to the area, but this was the best experience we have had when travelling with our pet.
Check out was a breeze and Kevin was very friendly.

  • Liked — Pet friendly
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 87GarKar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2007

We stopped in at this hotel for a quick overnight stay on our way south. The room was clean and the staff were very helpful. The beds were a bit on the "very hard side." The price we paid was very good, and we walked to see the falls from our room. Some fool pulled the fire alarm in the middle of the night, which wasn't much fun. If I had to , I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KimGroomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2007

We had a great view of the fire works from our window, the room was very clean and the service from the staff was great. We were within walking distance to the falls.
Our next trip to the falls will be at the Howard Johnson. We are recommending the Howard Johnson to all our friends and family.
We work hard for our money and this hotel provided excellent value.


Rick & Pauline

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
Thank RLPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2007

Our stay at the Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls was wonderful. The service was excellent. The room we stayed in was huge and very clean. When we return we will definitely stay at this hotel again. Hope this helps your decision.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — not getting to use everythin
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roschelle_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2007

We stayed this weekend at the hotel and when you travel it should be holiday. We had no sleep because the MATTRESSES we as hard as rock. They were like sleeping on the floor. AWFUL PLACE.......

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank TIREDToronto_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2007

My wife and I recently stayed with the Howard Johnson by the falls in Niagara Falls Canada.

Upon arrival we found our room to be in less than satisfactory condition. There was waxed spilled on the carpet around the bed, my wife found "pubic hair" in the bottom of our jacuzzi tub and "body prints" on the mirrors in the tub surround. We were both absolutely disgusted.

Naturally we contacted the front desk immediately and the young lady that answered the call was very appologetic. They advised us that this was a busy time for them and room availability was limited. The hotel rectified this situation by sending a maintenance man to our room with cleaner to clean the tub and surrounding area.

We remained at the property for three days and never once did anyone from management contact us or make any attempt to ensure we were at the very least comfortable with our stay. I am not an unreasonable person, this is only a two star hotel, but these circumstances are ones which I would expect to find in a "rent by the hour" type of establishment not a Howard Johnson property.

I did make efforts to allow the company to make good on a bad situation but they have failed at every level. First at the property.
Then the HoJo head office advised me that, (the following is a quote from their email to me), "This property is independently owned and operated under a Howard Johnson franchise, and its management is responsible for meeting Howard Johnson standards." They did offer to forward my concerns. Finally on August 25th I get yet another email, this time from the manager of the property, advising me that he is very sorry for the "inconvenience" this may have caused and offered a "FREE ROOM UPGRADE" on our next stay. The filth found in our room was a little more than an inconvenience.

Over the three days we were there the maids never cleaned our room once. Fresh towels were left outside the door one morning. There is green slime around the edges or the hot tub in the pool area and few towels to be found. Gym equipment is on its least legs, and seems unsafe to use.

All in all the Niagara Falls area has an abundance of hotels to choose from and I suggest people see the hotel and room before they commit to it, if possible. If the rooms are clean the hotel should not be afraid to show you one in advance.

We will definately not be staying with Howard Johnson again,
franchise or otherwise!!!!

  • Liked — Close to restaurants
  • Disliked — Filthy
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The-Smiths-5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJ Manager, Hotel Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review, 25 September 2007
Thank you for taking the time to advise the management of your concerns regarding the Hotel. It is possible that the attendant may have not cleaned the tub correctly and for that we do apologize, it is important that the cleaning process be completed on all rooms. The Hotel did send someone to correct that error. Depending on availability we would normally switch the room if that was the guests' wish. As to the towels being left at the door the only way this would occur is if the guest requested such action or have left out a do not disturb card in which case the attendants will not enter the room. Towels are provided by the pool and are replaced on a regular basis by the staff. As to the exercise equipment it is newer equipment and does meet all safety standards required for use by our guests, if it did not it would not be there. The Hotel offered the complimentary upgrade on your next return because we would like the opportunity to provide a more positve experience. The management does strive to deal with the issues at hand when they are made aware of them. We do not expect to make every guest completely satisfied but do try to maintain the majority. Again thank you for taking the time to advise the Hotel where we may improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites - Niagara Falls Centre St. By the Falls
0.5 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Cairn Croft Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls

Property: Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls
Address: 5905 Victoria Avenue, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3L8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Niagara Falls
#22 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls 2.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one short block to the Top 10 best Clifton Hill Attractions and the mighty water Falls itself and just steps away from the Great Canadian Midway. The Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls is superbly located in the center of the Niagara Falls/Clifton Hill tourist district offering you an incredible selection of restaurants and shopping adventures. The Niagara Falls Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls is a 3 Key-Green Certified family-oriented full-service hotel that offers you wonderful Niagara Falls Hotel Accommodations consisting of 198 newly renovated spacious guest rooms including Family Suites, Whirlpool Guest Rooms and Traditional 2-Queen Bedded Guest Rooms, as well as our Balcony Rooms overlooking all the action below along the Clifton Hill District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing