We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls
Ranked #19 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Enough”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

For less than $300 for 3 nights in Niagara Falls I was very satisfied with my stay. Although the hotel is dated, everything was very clean. The staff was friendly and the location is great. The walk to the falls was about 15 mins and the walk to Clifton hill was about 5 mins. The beds were surprisingly very comfortable and it was nice and quiet in the hotel at night. The parking was $9 a day and there was a $200 hold on my credit card during my stay. For the price, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sambo8987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for the compliments of the property and staff. It is always a pleasure to hear that guests have found value in their visit. We are happy to hear you found the beds very comfortable and the location of a benefit to you. Parking and the deposit are required of all guests. We look forward to the opportunity of having you as a guest of the hotel again soon. Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    654
    874
    493
    131
    165
See reviews for
977
948
34
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Phoned the Howard Johnson hotel by the Falls to get a quote for a girls weekend away. I was honest about the number of cars and number of rooms I would need (just 2 joining rooms). When we arrived they were training the ladies at the front desk so she didn't really know what to say to us when the total she had on her screen was higher than the quote I was given over the phone. I even had the break-down of the fees written down to be sure. Her Manager was not around. A Supervisor was there but he just said he needed the Manager.

They were of no help, and they could not explain why I was given an incorrect quote. I was told it was likely Tourist Tax and the prices that go up for American long weekends (even though we are in Ontario and we are Canadian). If the price goes up for summer and holidays that's fine, but make sure you quote that to me when I call to get all the details in the first place. It would have affected my decision-making and it definitely pisses me off after-the-fact.

We ended up getting a Suite which was not so sweet. It was just a regular looking motel room with more beds. Not worth the hassle and the extra costs that were conveniently left out of the quote.

At that point we couldn't go elsewhere because we would lose a cancellation fee/deposit and then have to pay a last minute/under 24 hour booking fee at the next place.

Make sure you book online in the future so you can bring your quote and argue with them over Tourist Tax. Maybe the longer you argue the more likely you are to have it removed if you're from the area?

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmeadow77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for providing your perspective on the hotel policies and procedures. The hotel did charge you accordingly for the number of vehicles that you mentioned as we do allow one spot per reservation and additional cars carry a premium as they may be taking a spot from another guest. Rates do fluctuate based upon occupancy and demand, the sooner the booking chances are you will have a better rate then waiting closer to the date to book as occupancy increases. Once a reservation has been placed the rate quoted that day would be locked in and we do honour the rates taken at the time of the actual booking. If you call one day and book on another then rates may increase depending on the demand and availability at the time you actually reserve. All rates are quoted in Canadian dollars prior to taxes and fees. Depending on what you booked originally the two room family suites are more convenient for larger groups and do have another room that does adjoin to them should a guest require additional space for friends but they do carry a higher price as a bigger room. The hotel does have a 48 hour 4 pm prior to arrival cancellation policy which is advised to all guests and posted on our affilliated sites as well. The fee that you spoke of is imposed by the hospitatlity industry as in many cities in promoting Niagara Falls as a must see venue being used to provide for things such as the fireworks, festival of lights, free concerts and things such as infrastructure like the ScotiaBank convention centre all enhance the experience when you visit Niagara Falls. We cannot speak for other properties but this hotel does actively particpate in this campaign and remits the fees in support of these venues. The fees are posted on all sites that we participate on as part of the cost to rent a room at this property. We thank you for your perspective and hope you understand ours. Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson while staying in Niagara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel is in a great location away from all the traffic and noise yet close enough to walk to everything. I really like that they are pet friendly and I was able to take my dog. They also have an indoor/outdoor pool which is great for the kids. The hotel itself is okay (nothing spectacular). It is an affordable option for the area. The beds were very comfortable. My husband said he hasn't gotten such a great night sleep in a very long time. The front desk staff did not seem very friendly. I said "good morning" and "hello" a couple of times and did not get a response. Be prepared to spend a lot of money on eating out. They do not offer breakfast and everything in Canada is more expensive. Otherwise, it was a great family weekend trip and I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inlovewithd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
It is always nice to hear the guest state that we have a great location as we are happy that you and your furry friend all had a good time together. We are also happy that your husband found the beds to be so comfortable. I am sorry to hear that there was an issue with the frontline staff as that is not what we expect of them as they are usually very friendly. In the attractions area prices do vary for the restaurants and as we do have a 24 hour breakfast restaurant on site we do not have breakfast included - we do have packages which do offer meal options. Thank you for your recommendation and for choosing Howard Johnson as we look forward to having you as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites - Niagara Falls Centre St. By the Falls
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Fallsview Cascade
Quality Hotel Fallsview Cascade
#14 of 129 in Niagara Falls
801 reviews
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Garden Niagara Falls Fallsview
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Niagara Falls
Courtyard Niagara Falls
#10 of 129 in Niagara Falls
1,860 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Cairn Croft Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls

Property: Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls
Address: 5905 Victoria Avenue, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3L8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Niagara Falls
#22 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls 2.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one short block to the Top 10 best Clifton Hill Attractions and the mighty water Falls itself and just steps away from the Great Canadian Midway. The Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls is superbly located in the center of the Niagara Falls/Clifton Hill tourist district offering you an incredible selection of restaurants and shopping adventures. The Niagara Falls Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls is a 3 Key-Green Certified family-oriented full-service hotel that offers you wonderful Niagara Falls Hotel Accommodations consisting of 198 newly renovated spacious guest rooms including Family Suites, Whirlpool Guest Rooms and Traditional 2-Queen Bedded Guest Rooms, as well as our Balcony Rooms overlooking all the action below along the Clifton Hill District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing