We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helped Make My Romantic Weekend Special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls
Ranked #20 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Helped Make My Romantic Weekend Special”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I recently planned a trip to Niagara Falls for my boyfriends birthday. This hotel was located right in the heart of all the action. I used a romance package and it was everything you need for a weekend away, including breakfast at the Dennys next door. Great short walk to everything in the area, and clean and quiet rooms.

The staff was super helpful with any of my questions and made us feel relaxed and welcome. The rooms are a bit dated, but include modern tv, ours had a fireplace, fridge, microwave and whirlpool tub with nice smelling bath soaps.

It was an enjoyable relaxing romantic weekend. Just what I was looking for.

Room Tip: Had a room on the 6th floor. Was quiet and heard nothing from any other room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheAmandaBlain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
We are happy to hear that your special weekend was such a success and wish your boyfriend many happy returns on his special day. Thank you for the kind compliments of our staff and facilities. It was our pleasure to provide you with a memorable experience and hope to have you as our guest again soon. Thank you for making Howard Johnson your choice while staying in Niagara Falls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    673
    896
    505
    135
    167
See reviews for
1,012
967
34
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

we got a family suite so our kids could have a separate room. Was on the second floor facing the street so was fairly noisy until things died down outside. Not a problem for me, because I fall asleep quite easily, but may be for others. The room was nothing special at all, pretty average which is fine for what we paid for. If you just need somewhere to stay and don't care about the room this is good enough. Although, I could have done without the floater in the toilet that was there when we first checked in.

pros
-excellent location
-lots of restaurants to choose from
-good pool
-friendly staff

cons
-uncomfortable beds, we both had sore backs
-room could have been cleaner
-very, very noisy but would probably be quieter higher up.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jani2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
I am sorry to hear that your recent stay with us was just ok. We try very hard to provide guests with a positive experience when visiting the Falls. We do appreciate the positive feedback of our staff and facilities and where we may improve. I am sorry to hear that there were some housekeeping issues. We hope that you might consider visiting again for a more positive experience. Thank you for making Howard Johnson your choice of accommodation in the Falls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longview, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I was a little apprehensive about staying there because of mixed reviews but awesome hotel. You can walk anywhere and it has lots of places to eat right there. Very clean hotel. The prices other hotels wanted were twice what i paid. It is not a luxury hotel but for a woman traveling with her children it was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank blan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for believing in us and thinking for yourself. We are very competitive in our market price wise and do try to provide a clean comfortable and pleasant stay for our guests. We hope that we may count on your return the next time you are visiting Niagara and thank you for your patronage of Howard Johnson. Please come visit with us again soon..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jolmstead
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed on July 4th on the 6th floor, our room was spacious and very clean. Large flat screen TV a nice comfortable bed and pull out couch. They upgraded our room with jacuzzi tub the kids loved it! The bed was very comfortable. They hotel staff were a bit edgy but I didn't have any issues. They left out that they charge a 200$ service fee upon booking the room. And a 10$ parking fee. But over all we had a excellent night and will be staying again! If you get a chance eat breakfast at almac's it's so good and cheap $6.99 for the breakfast buffet!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank jolmstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
We are pleased to hear you had a fabulous time while in the Falls. Thank you for the compliments. There are times when we may be able to improve a guest stay by providing an upgrade as you mentioned and we do continue to try and improve the product where possible i.e. the new flat screen TV's and the fridges in all rooms. We do have a $200.00 security deposit and parking is $9.00 per night. Both of these incidental fees are mentioned on all sites we participate on. Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Niagara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

PROS

- we checked in late without a hassle

- pet friendly for an additional $20/night per pet! This was our first time bringing our for legged friend to the falls with us so we did not know what to expect. She was welcomed with open arms. They provide food and water bowls of you did not happen to bring one. There's also green space behind the hotel.

- this was the first time I did not find a hair ANYWHERE in the room (I've found hairs here, sterling inn, fallsview hilton) so that was a nice surprise.

- the staff were very nice and understanding! I locked myself out of my room when I went to get some late night snacks from the vending machine and they provided me with a new key very quickly!

- rooms are very soundproof. We got put on the animal floor & though you can hear some barking in the hallway when you get into your room it is silenced.

- channels offered were a good variety - A&E, discovery, etc.

- still loving the Pizza Hut & KFC in the lobby, so so so convenient

- great location and great value


CONS

- parking is still $10/night.....compared to other places this isn't bad however compared to other places they don't seem to like to comp it off your bill, oh well.

- this is a first but I noticed in our bathroom we could hear the sounds from the indoor pool! lol. Not a biggie though considering the kids call it quits way before we go to sleep.

- our shower was slow to drain, no debris was in the tub however, might just be old pipes.

- The seals around the A/C units need to be redone. There was an inch gap that lead directly outside on one side of our unit. The filter might need to be replaced more often too,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JennRab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for the very detailed and informative review. We do appreciate the compliments and hearing where we may improve service. It is always a pleasure to hear from our returning guests who are looking to return. Thank you for your continued support of Howard Johnson and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summersville, West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This hotel will fail to tell you that you need to have a 200$ Deposit when you check in if that makes you mad enough not to want to check in then they will take a nights cost anyways so we decided to stay then when we turned down our bed at night there was no fitted sheets REALLY nasty so when I asked the desk clerk he was smart with me and told me no hotels had fitted sheets ! Um no hotel that I ever stayed at has had no fitted sheets, Then as we are going down to the falls the next day the elevator was almost full it stopped on the next floor there was 2 peoplel waiting one was a guy working there and one was a man getting ready to check out the guy working there took the elevator and suggested to the man checking out to take another one as he had 3 bags in his hand how RUDE! I WILL NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN! As for the re model thats a lie also the roof was leaking the paint was chipping off the walls there was cracks and hairs in the spa tub in our room the tv didnt work half the time! And it goes on!

Room Tip: Dont choose one here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Crystal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. The deposit is taken on all reservations and is listed on all websites including central reservations where you originally booked. If they did not advise you of the policy then I apologize as it is a standard on all reservations and we do inform the guest. Many hotels and motels in the industry do use flat sheets for ease of inventory and they do not get damaged as easily as fitted sheets do. They are still cleaned in the same manner and are still tucked into the bed in the same manner. We did have an issue with one of our elevators at the time and did call in the repair service. We apologize if the repair person did not act in a professional manner however if they were affecting repairs to the unit they may have been advising guests to use one of the other two elevators we do have on site. We are sorry that we could not provide you with a more positive experience. Should you choose not to stay here again we do wish you well in your future travels to the Falls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Given the price paid for the rooms, I thought this was a great value. The rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable, and the décor was fresh. There is a $10 parking fee.... odd. Location is great- we did not need to use the car for our stay there - we were able to walk to everything. Service was good. Not 5 star, but again, neither was the price.
The hot tub was hot, but the pool was FREEZING cold!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elvis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your perspective and compliments. We too think we are competitively priced for the market and do try to provide a clean, comfortable atmosphere for guests to relax in. The $9.00 parking fee is listed and charged due to the limited overnight parking in the area, you can park your car and walk to most attractions and restaurants. The pool is maintained usually between 81-84 degrees F which is comfortable for most people. Thank you for advising how you perceived your stay and thank you for choosing Howard Johnson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites - Niagara Falls Centre St. By the Falls
0.5 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Cairn Croft Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls

Property: Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls
Address: 5905 Victoria Avenue, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3L8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Niagara Falls
#22 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls 2.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one short block to the Top 10 best Clifton Hill Attractions and the mighty water Falls itself and just steps away from the Great Canadian Midway. The Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls is superbly located in the center of the Niagara Falls/Clifton Hill tourist district offering you an incredible selection of restaurants and shopping adventures. The Niagara Falls Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls is a 3 Key-Green Certified family-oriented full-service hotel that offers you wonderful Niagara Falls Hotel Accommodations consisting of 198 newly renovated spacious guest rooms including Family Suites, Whirlpool Guest Rooms and Traditional 2-Queen Bedded Guest Rooms, as well as our Balcony Rooms overlooking all the action below along the Clifton Hill District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing