We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be cleaner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls
Ranked #18 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 30 August 2014

The bathroom was not very clean, the baseboards had layers of grime on them, the bathtub had a ring around it and the floor was sticky, where it hadn't been washed properly.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

I am sorry to hear that there was an issue with the cleanliness of your bathroom. That is not the standard we expect from our team. I will be discussing your comments with our Housekeeping Manager and advising the staff of the guest perspective. Any time there is an issue please let us know at the time that we may rectify the issue in a timely manner. Thank you for bringing the matter to our attention. We hope to see you again that we may provide a more positive experience. Thank you for making Howard Johnson your choice while in Niagara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,613)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,404 - 1,410 of 2,615 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

Staff is friendly. We booked a family suite, which was reasonable in price and size. The hotel is a little old. Beds are comfortable but carpet seems quite old and not in a very good condition. However, the serious complaint we have is a strong odour, probably from pets, in the smaller room coming from the carpet. To be fair, we did not report this problem to the hotel management until we were leaving as we did not stay in the hotel for long and we were out most of the stay. The hotel manager assured us that they look into this problem. The hotel is in quiet area but only 10 mins walking distance from the falls, which saved us effort and time. The blacony has a view on the fire works so that was nice and kids enjoyed it.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Ehab T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Thank you for providing your perspective on the hotel. While the building itself is older the ownership continues to make efforts to improve the product where possible such as the addition of 37" flat screen TVs in all rooms last year and the addition of fridges in every room this year. Carpets were done throughout the hotel just a few years ago and we do our best to maintain them during the peak season with such high traffic. We do appreciate you bring the information to our attention and when notified do act upon it. Rooms are cleaned daily and vaccuumed as well. If we find an issue as you mentioned the room is treated. Thank you for your comments and for choosing Howard Johnson as we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We were kind of disappointed because we had to pay so much money for the bigger room and it is also stated on the web site the kids under 16 are free which we had 2 kids that were the age of 9, but I don't understand how are they free. So the price that we paid is for the bigger room and three adults so I can imagine if we had to pay for the kids as well, then what would it have cost us. Plus included in the price we only get two passes to the fallsview waterpark which does make sense when the accommodation to the room is for 6 people why would there be passes for the other 3 people. We didn't even end up using those two passes to the fallsview waterpark because we had to purchase 3 more tickets which would of cost us an extra $150. We were very disappointed about that. Going to the three other hotels connected to the fallsview is a much better deal because they would of given us 4 or 5 passes to the waterpark depending on the room chosen and there rate are much cheaper then the Howard Johnson.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Rosemary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

I am sorry to hear that your stay was not as positive as you would have liked. Our posted rates for all room types are based upon occupancy of two adults. Some room types can accommodate more people, if there are extra adults the fee is $20 per extra adult, if it is a child under 16 years of age there is no extra charges applied to the room rate. In some cases you may have six pepole in certain room types and it could be 2 adults and four children maintaining the same rate for that quoted room type. The two room family suite can accommodate more people than the standard room as it is a larger room with more beds. All of our packages are based upon two persons as we advertise on our website. For the tickets provided in all the packages there is a cost and if you require additional passes then they must be ordered at the cost advised, it is up tothe individual to determine how many passes they require. The hotels that are part of the waterpark group have the luxury of pricing their rates inclusive of the passes unfortunately we do not. Thank you for your perspective and for choosing Howard Johnson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank 121Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here because of its location. It is a short walk to Clifton Hill. It is about 10-15 min walk to the falls. The hotel overall was clean and the staff was very nice. The pool is heated and you can swim from inside to outside. The hot tub is nice too, however management needs to enforce the rules about keeping kids out of the hot tub. The only thing that was annoying about the hotel was that you can hear the rooms above you filling their heart shaped hot tub when you are trying to sleep. We would stay here again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kafrederick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall and would retrurn. The pool area is not supervised and is the responsibility of the parents to ensure their children pay attention to the rules. We do make periodic checks on the area and if children are not adhering to the rules we do let them know and ask them to respect our policies. We are sorry to hear that you had an issue with your neighbours above you. We hope to see you back again soon. Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
0.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites - Niagara Falls Centre St. By the Falls
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Niagara Falls - Fallsview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott on the Falls
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Niagara Falls, ON
0.7 mi away
Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls

Address: 5905 Victoria Avenue, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3L8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Niagara Falls
#22 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range: £34 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls 2.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one short block to the Top 10 best Clifton Hill Attractions and the mighty water Falls itself and just steps away from the Great Canadian Midway. The Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls is superbly located in the center of the Niagara Falls/Clifton Hill tourist district offering you an incredible selection of restaurants and shopping adventures. The Niagara Falls Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls is a 3 Key-Green Certified family-oriented full-service hotel that offers you wonderful Niagara Falls Hotel Accommodations consisting of 198 newly renovated spacious guest rooms including Family Suites, Whirlpool Guest Rooms and Traditional 2-Queen Bedded Guest Rooms, as well as our Balcony Rooms overlooking all the action below along the Clifton Hill District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing