We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best mini vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
Ranked #33 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best mini vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Purchased a Travelzoo package for $109 and upgraded to a king spa room on an upper Falls View floor for an extra $40. We were in a corner room on the 13th floor - the observation floor is on the 14th floor. The staff was very friendly, even allowed us late check for noon. We didn't have time to use the spa facilities since we had an oversize Jacuzzi in our room. Thoroughly enjoyed an afternoon of free wine tasting at 4 wineries and the chocolate factory tour. Complimentary dinner at Remington's was quite the treat, delicious roast beef served by singing waiters followed by a coffee and Amaretto night cap at Appleby's that was also included in the package. As we entered our room we were amazed to see and hear the fireworks display from our floor to ceiling windows overlooking the falls. The room was a bit dated with an old TV set but very clean and comfortable. Started the next day with a filling breakfast at Appleby's then off to the casino where we gambled with the free $25 casino cash and won $200. We parked at the casino for free since we are members of their rewards program and they are literally just next door. The other thing that made it perfect was the free reward tickets the casino sent us for Jersey Nights - the best mini vacation and certainly can't beat the price.

Room Tip: We paid $40 extra to upgrade to a king spa room on the 13th floor overlooking the falls which was si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank E8399KVlindah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,189
    1,340
    822
    496
    491
See reviews for
1,218
2,302
60
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (985)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Stayed at the Oakes using a Jaunt Voucher! The room was nice and comfortable with a wonderful view of the falls. The Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Loved the fact that with our Jaunt Voucher included 2 great meals, Breakfast at the Applebees on site and the best Prime Rib Dinner I have ever had at Remingtons.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

We intended to book the best possible room, King Suite with Spa Bath and Falls View. In our booking we've even requested for high floor room and noted that we are on our honeymoon. However, we got a view of the car park from the second floor (worst possible). People from the car park can look into our room, so we ended up closing the curtains most of the time. At check-in we ask for a different room, the option presented was to pay $20 per night extra for a much smaller and lower grade room on a higher floor. No complimentary water in our room! I've stayed at better serviced motels. If this was in Australia, I would report this as false advertising. House keeping also left the door to our room open for probably half a day. These rooms also don't contain a safe so all our valuables and travel documents were in our luggage, making it extremely easy for anyone to take the whole lot. I was given a 1 day parking pass then they charged me 2 days, just to keep me on my toes. Never again. Total disappointment.

Room Tip: Save your money and stay at a motel, then spend that money on a nice dinner at the Skylon Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wolverle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We wanted a nice view of the falls so we got a package deal with breakfast at Applebee's,dinner at Remington's . We upgraded our room to the 14 floor.What a great view . The front desk staff were very efficient and most accommodating . The rooms are dated but clean and comfortable. The weather was cold and blustery but the shuttle to Remington's ,the professional wait staff the singing waitress and great dinner made us forget the weather. Breakfast at Applebee's was also a great deal and the staff were fast the food good and the good natured banter made our day . We will certainly be looking for more deals like this and Oakes hotel will be seeing us again . Thanks for a great couple of days

Room Tip: The 14th floor was awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We really liked the room and the hotel besides the obvious flaws. We wanted to see the falls and avoid the freezing rain, snow, and bitter cold. We achieved it with the beautiful view in our King premier suite. We were assigned to the 8th floor, and were given room 817, and everyone in the family was impressed with the amount of space and the view when the curtains were pulled back.

Our room did not have flat screen televisions with a hundred channels, and it didn't have a pull out couch that seemed big enough for both of the kids, nor did it have perfect tile or a fan in the bathroom. The wifi wasn't free, and the pool wasn't as warm as a bathtub. However, we liked it all the same, had a great time, and would definitely stay there again.

I have no interest in paying upwards of $250 dollars for a "perfect" room but I am okay with paying the $107 that I did. I'm not into being gouged because companies are monopolizing on the beauty of a natural wonder that doesn't cost a thing to see if you're on the street. If your O.C.D is going to twitch because of a crack on the tile floor and you'll feel like suddenly all your money has been wasted, than you're better off booking one of those $250 rooms and not agonizing.

Bottom line, don't be picky. Live a little and breath. If you were spending a fortune on the room, than I would say demand the best, but the prices are completely reasonable in comparison to what other view hotels are charging. A rip on a chair isn't going to kill you, nor is being away from your flat screen. Just open the curtains and take in the fantastic view. Watch the fireworks, watch the mist change colour in the night, watch the water cascade over the edge, watch the tourists wander around and people sharing a moment over dinner in the hotel across the street. Listen to the steady drum of the falls in the distance, and just smile.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adayinourlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

The Oakes Overlooking the Falls was a great place to stay. Convenient to restaurants, attractions and of course the falls. When we arrived we were upgraded to a falls view room for free, which was unexpected and very kind. The room was clean, well presented and very good value. All of the staff we met were helpful and friendly. We would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Candice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penn Yan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

I purchased a package for taking my folks on a little vacation with my husband and myself. The price was very good and all the components of the package were easy to redeem and exactly what they were advertised to be. The hotel itself is a little dated, but our rooms were clean, adjoining (as we requested) and certainly comfortable. We were on the 8th floor and had stunning views of the Horseshoe Falls and the American Falls - the view more than made up for any deficiencies in the room! The staff was friendly and accommodating to our needs. We had no problems and will watch for future packages here as well as tell our friends about it.

Room Tip: Ask for a Fallsview room - it's worth paying a little extra for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
0.2 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott on the Falls
0.2 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Niagara Falls Fallsview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls

Property: Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
Address: 6546 Fallsview Blvd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3W2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The All New Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls in Niagara Falls Canada is the ONLY boutique style Fallsview hotel in Niagara Falls. The view from its Fallsview hotel rooms is second to none, as it towers over the mighty Niagara Falls. If you're looking for shopping, dining, nightlife or entertainment, the location of The Oakes Hotel is perfect for you. Located in the heart of the Fallsview tourist district, right next door to Canada's largest casino - the Fallsview Casino Resort, the hotel is within walking distance to almost anything! How close is The Oakes Hotel to the brink of Niagara Falls? Just a quick ride down the incline railway (located right in front of the hotel), and you're there in 5 minutes. The Oakes Hotel is always the best value, and the Gourmet Getaway couple's package is the perfect Niagara Falls hotel package deal for couple's looking for some time away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakes Hotel Overlooking Falls
Oakes Hotel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing