We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service and Presentation” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
Ranked #33 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Service and Presentation”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

The customer service representatives were not polite at all at the Oakes Hotel. One of the towels in our room had lip stick on it a black hair in the shower. Our cousin upgraded to the 21st floor from the 6th floor and it was not very well lit (quite dark actually). The air conditioners were very loud and very dusty. I wouldn't recommend someone with breathing problems stay at this hotel. They charged me an additional $20 for parking and wanted $10 extra for WiFi. We will definitely look for another hotel next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sonja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakesManagement, Front Office Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for your review, I will forward your comments on the the maintenance department so that they may take immediate action and get any and all a/c unit cleaned appropriately. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,190
    1,340
    822
    496
    491
See reviews for
1,218
2,303
60
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (985)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belleville
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We booked our honeymoon at the Oakes after a great stay several years ago. Unfortunately this trip did not live up to our expectations. While the view of the falls was wonderful from the 11th floor, we encountered quite a few negative aspects during our stay. The reason we will never return is the morning we were to check out I brushed a carpet beetle out of my hair. We found another dead one on a table by the couch in our room. We checked out immediately and notified the front desk who simply said they would send housekeeping to the room.
Smaller issues included a lack of available parking, having our a/c shut off automatically in the night, and no cable TV channels to watch while relaxing for the short time we spent in the room.

Room Tip: the higher the floor the better on the falls side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cupcakesncoupons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakesManagement, Front Office Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for your review, i have forwarded your comments to the housekeeping department to ensure to the best of our ability that this situation does not occur again. I am sorry that the Tv channel selection was not the greatest, we are waiting on our new provider to finalize the installation of the cable channels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Very disappointing. We were supposed to see the waterfall, thought we paid extra for the upgrade. Got a room on 2nd floor which is in a dirty and rundown old part of the hotel to one side. Staff friendly but would not move rooms. Old dirty and very worn. Had to walk down never-ending hallways to get to the rooms as they were way off to one side. Rooms clean but old and less than basic. Seems that if you book off different sites they give you the substandard rooms and save the better ones for their own paying guests. Stay if you want as the price seems reasonable but be very careful as they seem to be dishonest about what they promise and what you get. We asked them about the false claims and promises and they told us that they have ways to get around the fact they seem to promise one thing and seem to deliver another. Would not stay again unless I had some sort of iron clad guarantee as to what room I was given. Best way Do Not Pay Upfront and ask to see the room before you move in. (parking also 20.00 per night)

Room Tip: Do not pay or move in until you have seen your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakesManagement, Front Office Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for your recent review, we offer many different rooms types at various price points to cater to each individual guest and there needs. We have courtyard guest rooms which are city facing and on the 2nd floor only, fallside floors 2-8 and full fallsview from floors 9-21. We also have fabulous jacuzzi suites if your looking for a romantic getaway with a great package to add in. All of our rooms are available on all websites that we are affilated with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I stayed in a Premier Suite with my family, which was a comfortable room with great, uninterrupted views of Niagara Falls - could you ask for more? The location is on the Canada side (aka the best side to see the Falls) and close to the whole tourist trap set-up showcasing the falls. Its a 15-20 minute walk to the main street (which is where you find all the really OTT things like Frankenstein's House, Ripley's Believe It or Not, basically things I avoid like the plague but make the Niagara experience a little more interesting when you're walking around town. Starbucks is close to the Hotel if that's your thing (espresso is definitely an Australian thing) and Applebee's is on the doorstep. All in all a fairly basic hotel, not a bad room with enough space for a family of four and it gives you a great view of the main attraction. I have to say I never tired of looking at it day or night but hey, I was only there for one night's stay. It's not bad value and there's convenient on-site parking and your car will probably get a rinse off overnight - that's how close you are to it.

Room Tip: Don't be a cheap-skate. You're there to see the falls so get a room with a view and go as hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheTravelBlug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakesManagement, Front Office Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for choosing The Oakes Hotel for your recent getaway. We appreciaite you taking your time out to post a review. We are glad that your stay was enjoyable and that got what you wanted ....which was the BEST view to the falls by far.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadview Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We are a young couple looking to get away for the weekend. We picked the Oaks Hotel Overlooking the Falls based on a $105 friday night rate we got with Kayak.com. We werent originally planning on starting vacation on friday but we left a day earlier and needed a hotel for friday night.
The location of this hotel is GREAT! Our room was 2 queen beds (they didnt have any king) and we were on the 10th floor and had a FANTASTIC view of the horseshoe falls. It was breathtaking! The room was clean and up to date. Beds were comfy
The parking was convenient but they cost $16-when the casino parking was right next door and cost $5.... We ended up parking at the casino when we checked out and stayed at a different hotel.
There was construction going on in the lobby that was rather distracting, but they are updating their hotel--I cant really complain about construction when we weren't using the lobby for anything but a walk through.
The TV had barely any channels and they kept going in and out of fuss. But we weren't there to watch TV we were there on vacation.
The hotel gave us free breakfast. This was at the Applebee's right next door. We got there and were seated and asked if we wanted coffee (i just got water) and then had no idea what we were getting. We didnt see any buffet or she didnt ask us our order, Out came a plate with two pieces of white toast, about two scrambled eggs, two weird sausage, two bacon, some hashbrowns and a orange slice. Hey it wasnt gourmet food but it was free all we paid was tip. Can't complain about free filling breakfasts.
There are tons of stuff to do in Niagara Falls. We enjoyed everything. The casino is right near the hotel and there is a street right past the casino that leads directly to the falls. It takes about 10 minutes to get to the falls. Fireworks on Friday and Sundays at 10. great show and great location right at the bottom of Murray hill (huge hill-easy on the way down, hell getting back up)
Loved this trip and will stay at the hotel again if we find a decent price. I wouldnt pay more than $110 a night.

Room Tip: Get a fallsview room (the hotel does offer "motel" style rooms for cheaper-not a bad locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakesManagement, Front Office Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for a the review, we are pleased that your vacation was great and that you chose to spend it here with us. We hope to see you again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We booked this hotel after seeing many poor reviews about the service... and after we got there......we could not understand what prompted such low scores. The view was spectacular, the room was clean, service was pleasant and available as needed. The only complaint I have to say is that the pool area was kind of dirty. But they were also renovating the place while we were there, so I would plan to have a more spectacular hotel in the near future. If you book here, make sure you book a "falls view."

Room Tip: Make sure to book a "falls view" room. Because otherwise you wont be able to see the fall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chantal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakesManagement, Front Office Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay with us,.Are renovations and updates are almost completed, we are excited for the New Oakes hotel to make its appearance, we hope that you will return in the future to see the changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deerfield Beach, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Amazing view from the room! Staff was very accomodating. They are renovating the hotel, so there is some work to be done, but the price is a tremendous value for what you get, especially compared to the surrounding hotels. I chose to get the package with breakfast included, which was worth it.

Room Tip: Get a fallsview or fall side room...makes a big difference. And try to get a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakesManagement, Front Office Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for staying here at the Oakes Hotel with us. We are happy that your stay was a good one, and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
0.2 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott on the Falls
0.2 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Niagara Falls Fallsview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls

Property: Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
Address: 6546 Fallsview Blvd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3W2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The All New Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls in Niagara Falls Canada is the ONLY boutique style Fallsview hotel in Niagara Falls. The view from its Fallsview hotel rooms is second to none, as it towers over the mighty Niagara Falls. If you're looking for shopping, dining, nightlife or entertainment, the location of The Oakes Hotel is perfect for you. Located in the heart of the Fallsview tourist district, right next door to Canada's largest casino - the Fallsview Casino Resort, the hotel is within walking distance to almost anything! How close is The Oakes Hotel to the brink of Niagara Falls? Just a quick ride down the incline railway (located right in front of the hotel), and you're there in 5 minutes. The Oakes Hotel is always the best value, and the Gourmet Getaway couple's package is the perfect Niagara Falls hotel package deal for couple's looking for some time away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakes Hotel Overlooking Falls
Oakes Hotel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing