We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY NICE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
Ranked #36 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Had occasion to stay in NF recently and stayed at this property. VERY nice location overlooking the actual falls not the city like many places. Room was large and well appointed, clean with the usual amenities. Price was in line with what we rec'd, no argument there. Would certainly stay again next time down that way.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank retiredcarnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole g, Front Office Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stayed, we do hope that your next trip to Niagara Falls will be to The Oakes Hotel. We have some great offers coming in the early fall, so we hope to see you then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,066)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,070 - 3,076 of 5,066 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

Wonderful hotel.
Spent the weekend for my husband and I's 1 year anniversary.

The staff was amazing right from the time we entered the building. We stay in one of their "suites" as I call it. Bi-level room with an great view and the feel of home.
The first night, I needed extra pillows (I thought about building a fort on the GIANT bed), and within 3 minutes of calling down, they were at my door, no questions asked ( I had asked for 6 :) ).

When we returned from our day out at the falls, the housekeeping staff had cleaned our room to perfection and left beautiful swans for us in the bathroom :)

Our complementary breakfast vouchers just made the whole trip that much better.

A wonderful hotel for a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank DaisyMarie1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole g, Front Office Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

What a fantastic review, thank you so much for the wonderful comments. I am pleased that the staff here at the Oakes Hotel made your stay. We hope that you will make The Oakes Hotel apart of your yearly travels for the years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We were given a price and when we arrived the price was double. We also were supposed to get a fall view and we had a parking lot view. The TV and the phone did not work, was told they would send someone up to fix them, they never showed up. The room smelled and was dirty and the beds were hard. I believe sleeping on the floor would have been better, if they did not smell. The hotel is only close to the mouth of the falls and nothing else. The internet that I HAD TO PAY FOR DID NOT WORK. The staff was not helpful on answering any questions, they act like it was not their job to give direction they only checked you in a room. We usually stay the Sheraton or the AAShram hotel, but they were sold out on such a short notice. For the price stay somewhere else!

Room Tip: Have your pricing of the Hotel in writing and if booking from the web, also call hotel to get your q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 209penny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole g, Front Office Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your impression of our hotel thru trip advisors website. We thank you for your feedback, as you know we believe it is only through listening carefully to the crisicism and comments and suggestions of our customers we will be able to achieve the constant improvemnet ,guest satifaction and the quality of service that we want. All of your comments wiill be carefully analyzed so that we may take the appropriate corrective action. We hope to welcome you back to the Oakes hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Nice hotel. Friendly staff. Very close to Horseshoe Fall s. Right out back door was Niagara TramRail, Took you right down to Table Rock . Do yourself a favor and get the all day pass for Tramcar. think it was 6 Dollars .Where round trip was 5. spend the extra dollar.Wego Bus service was right there. All 4 bus routes. They were doing remodeling while we were there so 4/5 rating. Maybe do that during winter months when not as much tourist. Fireworks over fall could be seen right out the window (Wednesday Night)We stayed midweek because much cheaper rates.

Room Tip: We were on the 11th Floor and could hear the roar of the Falls. Windows don't open. And I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Tom0962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole g, Front Office Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Tom,

Thank you your review and great traveller tips for our future guests. It is great to see the postive feedback and to know that the front desk agents are friendly and polite when interacting with guests of our hotel. I hope this means that we will see you in the near future for another great stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We felt like royalty - we had a room with a falls view, we did the spa experience, pool, hot tubs - great staff - restaurant was very good- would love to do it again - actually the only downside - and not really a bad thing, it was valet parking & we were charged for it and there was no other parking facility with no charge.

Room Tip: can't answer - it was all teriffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 758Brenda_52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Great hotel for the price. I note that staff are generally rude but you cannot beat the view for the price. I think a lot of people go in thinking that this is a 5 star hotel when it isn't close to that. Rooms were clean (12th floor), we got breakfast vouchers, and two nights for the cost of one night at most other hotels in the area. We booked on a discount site and had no issues with our stay. Again, recognize that this isn't a 5-star hotel so the little things don't bother you (like rattling pipes in shower, broken ice machine on our floor, rooms aren't vacuumed thoroughly during a two-night stay - but they are clean, etc.). Yes people, parking is not included...it rarely is in Niagara Falls but for $15 a night, I can live with it since it is so close to the hotel (opposed to others where you need a shuttle) - beware that there aren't enough spots for every guest so try and get there early. I would not hesitate to stay here again provided I don't have to stay in the "motel-like" (courtyard) rooms...they look awful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole g, Front Office Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for writing your review. We appreciate the honesty and sincere comments that you have made. We do hope that you will continue to return to our hotel. We do try to always provide our guests with great customer service. I do apologize that you did not experience this, and hope that when you do return we will have changed your perception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Just went for a little romantic getaway and let me say I have never been to a hotel in canada and treated so nicely the service was amazing the customer service was above an beyond and the location was great the staff was helpful and friendly I will def be a returning customer

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole g, Front Office Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Steve,

I am very pleased that we exceeded your expectations ! We try our very best at all times to ensure each and every guest receives the very best of service. We hope that you will return to Canada in the future and make the Oakes Hotel apart of your yearly travel experience.

Until next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
0.2 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott on the Falls
0.2 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Niagara Falls Fallsview
0.1 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls

Address: 6546 Fallsview Blvd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3W2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range: £66 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The All New Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls in Niagara Falls Canada is the ONLY boutique style Fallsview hotel in Niagara Falls. The view from its Fallsview hotel rooms is second to none, as it towers over the mighty Niagara Falls. If you're looking for shopping, dining, nightlife or entertainment, the location of The Oakes Hotel is perfect for you. Located in the heart of the Fallsview tourist district, right next door to Canada's largest casino - the Fallsview Casino Resort, the hotel is within walking distance to almost anything! How close is The Oakes Hotel to the brink of Niagara Falls? Just a quick ride down the incline railway (located right in front of the hotel), and you're there in 5 minutes. The Oakes Hotel is always the best value, and the Gourmet Getaway couple's package is the perfect Niagara Falls hotel package deal for couple's looking for some time away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakes Hotel Overlooking Falls
Oakes Hotel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing