We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do NOT Stay Here”
Review of The Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Tower Hotel
Ranked #15 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Do NOT Stay Here”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Do not stay at The Tower in Niagara. The pictures on the website are not recent and the WiFi does not work. When you ask about the WiFi you are told, "well sometimes it doesn't work." Also, do NOT pay in American money. They give you a Canadian bill in Canadian currency but do NOT tell you whether it is in American or Canadian. When you pay in American they do NOT convert it for you causing you to pay more than you should have without ever telling you this! If you ask they do NOT give you the information that they take the money at par but when you complain they tell you you should have assumed it was at par. Almost every other establishment in Niagara will convert for you. They give you your bill after paying and the manager will insist that is not how the desk does it. The manager will tell you that you should have paid in Canadian money yet they will take your American money but never exchange it! Horrible people that play on the confusion of Americans!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Nikki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTowerHotel, General Manager at The Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
We respect, welcome and appreciate our American guests. We try very hard to make all of our guests comfortable and to have the most enjoyable time possible while in Niagara Falls. I apologise to this guest with regards to the confusion with respects to her American money. We did not try to deceive her. She asked if she could pay with American dollars and we replied yes. Since we accept American dollars at par and informed her of that policy at the time of the transaction, there would be no conversion applied. All transactions for any purchases while in Canada are in Canadian dollars as this is our legal tender. As a courtesy, we do accept American dollars and we give American dollars in return as change. Since there is a fee applied to handle American dollars in any foreign country and the exchange rate is very minimal, we at this time (and at the time of this transaction) accept them at par. If the difference in value of the two currencies increases, then we will apply an appropriate conversion. Again my apologies for the confusion.

Pictures:
I would suggest to all that browse the TripAdvisor site to look through the pictures posted by the reviewers. They would definitely contain many of the most recent photos.
The hotel has placed a number of pictures on the site. I believe there are none more than four years old.

Frank Taylor, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    310
    104
    45
    42
See reviews for
54
628
32
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I really liked this hotel and it was superb value for money. We had a top floor room with partial falls view but the view from my bed was amazing so no complaints. I thought it was very cheap for this too.
I thought on the first day we arrived the service was exceptional and was really impressed with the man who worked on front desk. It seemed others were also equally impressed with his service. I would say the other person who worked on the front when he had his day off was not that good but this was only for half a day of our trip and probably more noticeable because of how good the other man was.
I think location was excellent although the lack of free incline railway in the adventure pass now means you do have to walk a bit or pay to get down to the fall quickly but it is right next to a WeGo bus stop which came in very handy

Room Tip: anhy kind of falls view is certainly worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winterthur, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We booked a room with falls view and we were surprised how perfectly we could overlook the falls. We didn't only see the Horseshoe Falls but the American Falls as well! The room was fully equipped with a fridge and a microwave, therefore there was no need for us to go and spend lots of money for a diner in the skylon tower.
There is a valet car parking for 20$ a day and in and out as often as you wish.

Room Tip: You should definately go for a room with falls view! They are more expensive, but the view is really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank x_Celestina_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I wanted to treat my husband to a weekend away for his birthday and when I saw this hotel, I booked a trip specifically to stay here, rather than for the location--though when we arrived, we were impressed with both.

We got a fantastic room at the top of the Falls side, and we spent a great deal of time just sitting in our room enjoying the view and the sound of water falling. It was so amazing to be able to look out the window any time of day or night and see the Falls below us, the mist, the lights, or the sun shining across.

The staff were amazingly friendly and helpful, and we felt quite comfortable with them. There is valet parking, which is very convenient, and they're more than willing to take you to your car or to bring it up for you whenever you ask.

The room was clean, cozy, and nicely decorated, and the bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept on. The bathroom was clean with a large shower. The lobby is pretty neat, as well. The restaurant was decent, but we probably wouldn't go back because of the price.

The ONLY complaint (and it's a small one) we had about the hotel is the lack of water pressure in the shower. Because of the trickle of water, the shower took a little longer than normal, and it was October when we visited, so it was a little chilly.

The room we had definitely made this trip remarkable, and we'd definitely stay here again, given the chance.

Room Tip: Pick the Falls side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank theatrebrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We were Greeted by Bonnie, She was very friendly and helpful to all our needs. We went to the room and it was exactly what we expected. The view was amazing, we could see everywhere from the 29th floor. It was not the biggest room we had ever been in but it was just what we needed. A comfortable bed, TV, Refrigerator, Microwave oven, Closet, Table, Drawers and a bathroom. When we travel that is all we expect, The Wi Fi worked great. The Next day Dana was the receptionist and she was great also. The valets were very friendly also I just don't remember their names. Sorry. We asked Dana for a local bar to go to for some drinks she said that she and her friends go to Zappis Pizza and Yanks. Great inexpensive places to eat and drink.

Room Tip: 2909 or 2912 will probably give you full views of the falls
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank desiluv2bareit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed at the Tower Hotel last weekend. We had a fabulous time at the hotel and at the Falls. We chose the hotel because it was on the Canadian side of the Falls and was said to offer spectacular views. The hotel is well maintained, has a very helpful and considerate staff and if you ask for a fallsview room the view exceeds the hype. The room, while small, was very comfortable. The hotels amenities are not extensive - no in room coffee maker, no pool or health club, no bar. It does have a small breakfast room, and a wonderful restaurant, Marylins, for dinner. The lack of amenities was more than compensated by the hotel staff who were always pleasant, and accommodating. If we return to Niagara Falls we would definitely go back to the Tower.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms on the Fallsview side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mitch R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arab, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This was my first trip to Niagara Falls. I have to say I wasn't dissappointed with our stay at The Tower Hotel.

Pros:
A. Staff was friendly at check in.
B. The view from the room was magnificent.
C. The best part of the stay (right there. On the same level with the view) was the valet service. I believe the 2 that assisted us were named Shane and Malcolm (hope those are correct names...it was on June 1st and 2nd)......they were outstanding! Don't forget to tip them. And to the management maybe give these 2 guys a raise.
D. Rooms had a very modern look.

Cons:
A. Only gripe I could really have is that there needs to be some type of apparatus in each shower to place shampoo, soap, etc.


Overall I give my stay a 5 star rating.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derreck L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.0 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
0.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
0.1 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott on the Falls
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Niagara Falls Fallsview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tower Hotel

Property: The Tower Hotel
Address: 6732 Fallsview Boulevard, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3W6, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
#20 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Tower Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Fallsview, our "boutique" hotel is 500 yards to the Falls and two blocks to Fallsview Casino and Scotiabank Convention Centre. Our guestrooms occupy the topmost floors of the tower with floor-to-ceiling windows providing unobstructed breath-taking views of the magnificent Falls or city. Overlooking the falls, our 26th floor Marilyn's Bistro & Lounge serves casual Mediterranean cuisine and our 25th floor Wedding Chapel awaits your special day. Perfect location, comfortable accommodations, great dining, professional staff - The Tower Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Ramada
Ramada Plaza Hotel Fallsview
Fallsview Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing