We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, clean rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villager Lodge Niagara Falls
Ranked #48 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We only stayed one night but the rooms were clean and the staff was friendly. They had alot of brochures in the lobby if you were looking for things to do. Not within walking distance but the drive to the falls was very nice and it was easy to get there from the motel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beannie333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nick_bhella, Manager at Villager Lodge Niagara Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

We are really appreciated for your honest review. Thanks for coming at the Villager Lodge. Hopefully we will see you guys next time soon.
Best Regards,
Villager Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in July. We had a room with the heart shaped jacuzzi tub. The location is great for visiting Niagara Falls. Not quite close enough to walk but only a short drive. The room was very clean, the jacuzzi was great, and the bed was comfortable. This hotel is great for the money paid. The furniture is dated and worn but very clean. There's a pool which we didn't use but looked very inviting. The rooms are cleaned daily and the staff is friendly and helpful. The Wifi didn't work one of the days we were there and then the password was changed without notice. Not a huge deal unless you're counting on the wifi. The continental breakfast is sparse. Overall though I would stay here again. It was a clean, comfortable, and very afforadable hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nick_bhella, Manager at Villager Lodge Niagara Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Villager Lodge is greatly appreciated for your honest review. Most important thing for us that our guest enjoyed their vacation while they were away from their home. thank you.
Best Regards,
Villager Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We took the weekly rate due to being in Niagara for work and living a fair distance outside the city. Woke up on night #4 to the bathroom screen having been cut the entire way through with a knife, and a "climbing block" outside the bathroom window. We immediately called the front desk, at which point we were told "it had to be someone we know". We know NOBODY here, and are otherwise professional people. We were also told that there are video cameras, but they are too $$$$ to run, so there was no video obtained! We demanded to switch rooms. Were moved to a more "central" location, but, as our punishment, regardless of asking daily, we got NO maid service AT ALL for 2 weeks. I finally called after 12 days, after buying more Walmart towels than I ever will need at home, and requested maid service. Denied, then the front desk called US 15 min later, telling us we have to leave! I have since hired a lawyer against this poorly managed flea infested disaster. If this is the only place left in NF during your visit, I suggest bringing a large refridgerator box and assembling it on a vacant lot. You will be treated better, far more comfortable, and safer.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ashlynn32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

We don't know what kind of business she does because she had always visitors day and night and always different peoples which start creating a problems to the other guests. So, we decided not to extend her stay and asked her to leave at her check out date which is 2 days after. She messed up the room completely in those 2 days and we still are working on it to fix it. We are here to rent our rooms because that's what we are here for but absolutely not for this kind of business people. We need family type guests. She can find a place somewhere else for sure. There are so many places in Niagara Falls for you but definitely not this one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We book through Expedia Jaccuzzi suite after reading previous review but it was just amazing, clean, odorless and bonus with 32 inch Lcd tv, microwave, refrigerator that all worked fine. clean pool and good breakfast. Just like the pictures. Go for it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dlare G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We stayed there two nights everything was great.pool was nice and clean.Will go again.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gooom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed at this motel during the Memorial Day weekend. We booked thru Orbitz. It has a refrigerator, microwave, flat screen tv, great shower and bathroom. They served hot boiled eggs, dry cereal, juices, coffee and toast. I really liked the location on Lundy's Lane, which was only 2 miles from the Niagara Falls and other attractions in the areas. They did have a playground for kids and a pool. For the price, it was just right for us.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunshine57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Absolutely terrible.Lady at the front desk was very rude and unpleasant; she was the owner of the motel alone with her husband. When we asked them that we wanted to cancel our booking because we booked this hotel because of a pool and my kids wanted to use the pool. Pool had no water in it. She clearly denied giving us cancellation; she offered us to use a pool at another hotel which was down the street. The motel look dirty and run down, it looked nothing like the pictures. Just being in the place made my skin crawl. Never again and I do not recommend this motel to my worst Enemy.
it looked like they didn't care about customer service, all they were after was money.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nnn700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nick_bhella, Manager at Villager Lodge Niagara Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2012

Villager Lodge never denied any request made from our guest(s) unless its not within our
policies are posted and will never provide wrong information to get the reservation. This guest
book through some third party site and never called the hotel to confirm if the pool is ready or not. Its out door pool not an indoor that will open all year. Its a common sense to understand.This guest did not wanted to check in at all and was making an excuses. Still we offer them to use an indoor pool at our other location which is just across the street but the room is not available their because it was a very busy weekend and most of the hotels were sold out or they should call the third party site where the made this reservation. If they provided you the wrong information then they should cancel the reservation and you should not be charged but Villager Lodge have no authorization and not even the access to cancel their reservation . (Just like buying from dollar store and then return it to the future shop.)

Villager Lodge hold our guest(s) room on their arrival date ,all day, night and even till next day at their check out time so our guest can arrive worry free after a long day traveling. In order to provide you the best service you deserve call us in ahead if you have any special request and we will guaranteed to full fill all your needs.
Best regards,
Villager Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
3.9 mi away
River Rapids Inn
River Rapids Inn
#35 of 128 in Niagara Falls
67 reviews
2.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Fallsview Cascade
Quality Hotel Fallsview Cascade
#14 of 128 in Niagara Falls
888 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Lundy's Lane
Comfort Inn Lundy's Lane
#41 of 128 in Niagara Falls
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Peninsula Inn
The Peninsula Inn
#12 of 128 in Niagara Falls
498 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Cairn Croft Hotel
0.4 mi away
Blue Moon Motel
Blue Moon Motel
#23 of 128 in Niagara Falls
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villager Lodge Niagara Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villager Lodge Niagara Falls

Address: 8054 Lundy's Lane, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2H 1H1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range: £31 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Villager Lodge Niagara Falls 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CAA/AAA members,seniors and General Manager discounts available. Under New Management and totally renovated property. Will make your stay very relaxing and comfortable. Guaranteed! Villager Lodge now has the new Electronic door locks and 32 Inch LCD TVs, Hair Dryers, Ironing & Boards, Refrigerator, Microwave, High Wi-Fi and continental breakfast buffet in every room. Plus: 2, 3, 4 or more nights discounts. Please Visit us and you will not be disappointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Villager Lodge Niagara Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villager Lodge Niagara Falls Hotel Niagara Falls
Villager Hotel Niagara Falls
Villager Motel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing